Good thing going…

Everybody is moaning and groaning about the rising prices of everything…but despite all that, it sure looks like these people have a good thing going. If I’m not mistaken, they’re the same people running this relatively new coffee place…and I heard they had connections here too but they insisted they were only helping around, giving them advice on things there. Well, they’ve opened a sparkling new Italian place in town

La Vino

…back to back with this one that I’ve blogged about twice…here and here.

Well, when my girl was home for the weekend, I drove there in the hope that we could check this new place out and try what would be good on their menu. Unfortunately, when we got there, they told us that they were not open for lunch (temporarily) and asked us to come back that evening – they would only open for business at 6. Sighhhhhh!!!!

Anyway, since we had our minds set on pizza, we went back to the old place where they had put up a new sign…

Bistecca & Bistro new sign

Hmmmm….don’t the bright colours look kind of familiar? Like the ones used by one brand of pasta or pizza place or something?

We took our seats at the table…

Bistecca & Bistro table setting

…by the glass panel/window for better lighting despite the fact that they had let the blinds down…and promptly placed our orders.

To start off, we had their Ceasar salad (RM15.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro Ceasar's salad

…which was nice but this time around, they had mashed the egg. I remember on our previous visits, they served the egg on top, whole and we had to do it ourselves. I think I would prefer that.

I also asked for this aglio olio bacon mushroom pasta (RM16.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro aglio olio bacon mushroom pasta

…so that we would have something more filling along with the pizza…

Bistecca & Bistro pizza braccio di ferro 1

…that we had. The pasta was great and sure was a welcome change from the usual tomato-based bolognese or the overly rich and creamy sauces. We agreed that it tasted better with a generous sprinkling of the parmesan cheese provided and there was a hint of spiciness from the bits of chili in the dish. All in all, we quite liked it and sure would not mind having it again next time.

My girl wanted their pizza braccio di ferro (RM29.00)…

Bistecca & Bistro pizza braccio di ferro 2

…with the egg on top though it was a little overdone this time around. It did not really matter though as it sure tasted great too this way.

The total came up to RM61.00, iced water is FOC here, and while I was settling the bill, I asked the staff about that new place of theirs. They said that they would open at 10.00 a.m. and they did not know why we were told otherwise. Another thing that they told me that would be of general interest would be the fact that there would be new chefs at the new place and the original chefs here would be staying put at this outlet “to maintain the standard of their quality“, in their own words. Hmmm….if that is the case, I think I’d just stick to this one then. We’ll see.

A parting shot, I liked the very pleasant and friendly staff that day – one girl and a boy with a rather trendy haircut, and I was glad the two that I spoke to were conversant in English unlike a couple that I had encountered here before…but I do wish they would turn the music down. I loved it when they were playing some very nice Italian songs once and I did not mind their selection of oldies including Whitney’s “I will always love you”…and on other occasions, they played Westlife or Taylor Swift but this time around, they played Maroon 5 and…Uptown Funk, full blast and it sure felt like I was in da’club, not at some (classy fine) dining joint. Make no mistake, I do love that funky Matt Ronson (ft. Bruno Mars) song but surely there is a time and place for such upbeat numbers.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “Good thing going…”

  1. The pizza looks good – lots of cheese just the way I like it but what is the green item all around the edge? At first I thought it was broccoli but then I don’t think anyone puts broccoli so it must be some kind of green sauce?

    It’s spinach…and this may be of interest to you – the description by a Toronto pizza delivery company given for this pizza, they call it “Popeye”:
    Popeye
    This pizza is also known as “Braccio di ferro”, the Italian name for the popular cartoon character “Popeye the sailor man”. The main ingredient is of course spinach, the source of Popeye’s super-human powers. The egg is not cracked in the middle of pizza, as in the Bismark, but it’s mixed together with spinach and ricotta cheese. This pizza is particularly appreciated by vegetarians.

    Ingredients: tomato sauce, mozzarella, spinach, ricotta cheese, eggs

  2. ooo, that’s a very quirky-looking pizza … but it might make for a rather balanced meal on its own … it’s got carbs from the dough, it’s got protein from the meat and egg, it’s got vitamins and maybe fibre from the green stuff, heh 😀

    See my reply to zmun2…and I would say the one here sure looks very neat and very much nicer compared to what they may have elsewhere – try googling for the images of this particular type of pizza and see. Some are really quite messy, not very attractive but I spotted one with FIVE eggs though – ooooo…I’d love that! Eggs are my weakness. Maybe I can put a special request for more next time, two at least. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  3. I remember this place.. I particularly remember the spinach pizza with the egg in the middle.. Very unique and I’ve never seen it here..

    Maybe if you try the full-fledged Italian restaurants, they would have it. My girl loves it – she was the one who asked for it.

  4. I never had spinach on a pizza before. Like Mun, I would think it is broccoli as well. Haha.

    The food looks good. Never had a chance to visit this place.

    Too bad – it had always been here all the time you were in Sibu. My friend, Annie-Q, tried it when she came back from KL and yes, she liked it a lot and went back for a second round.

  5. That bacon and mushroom pasta looks yummy.

    Everything’s pretty good here – they are able to maintain the standard but of course, people may like something/some places more than others. It all boils down to personal preferences.

    1. All looks so good. Looks like the pizza has thick crust or due to the angle you take the photo. Love thin crust pizza.

      It’s thin enough…and the best thing is, it’s nice and crusty – just perfect…not like that Bosnian Italian place in Kuching – so hard that I could hardly bite, harder than roti Cabin/Osborne! And as long as it is not bread crust, we’re ok with it – not like eating bread.

  6. Maroon 5 ~ Sugar!! The newest and best song!! =]

    Ya…the one they sang when they crashed into people’s weddings but the lyrics are far from appropriate!!! And it’s such an unromantic song – spoiled the weddings. I would prefer Uptown Funk anytime – without fail, the beat gets to me…and makes me wanna get up and dance.

    1. Hahaha, but I guess the guests newbies doesn’t care what song they sing, the thing is celebrities were perform on their wedding and there’s the fun part, right??

      I guess so, as long as it is a whole lot of fun! And Adam Levine!!!

  7. Interesting..spinach pizza. I like spinach, so I think I would like this too. Good for those who wants to get their children to eat some greens, huh 😉.
    Uptown Funk..real upbeat song. Gets you on your feet 🙂

    Yes, it has that effect on you too? Gets me everytime…oooo…the beat!!! Love it!…but not at a fine dining place.

  8. Yes, Pizza sounds like a good choice, i don’t seem to understand the art of putting an egg on top of pizza, had that once and didn’t like it.

    Why? You don’t like eggs, do you? I love eggs in any form, anytime any place. It sure contributes to the overall taste – so the slices without any egg would not be as nice as those with the egg – or to me at least. Just like an egg and cheese sandwich. Without the egg, it would just be a miserable plain cheese sandwich, right or not?

    Of course every individual has his or her own quirks – I know some people who would not add egg in their steamboat as that would make the clear soup cloudy/murky. So, they don’t. You can always order the other options on their menu or if you insist on this one, you can always ask them not to add the egg. I am sure they would be more than happy not to do that.

  9. That caesar salad doesn’t look like it’s made with romaine lettuce. That is iceberg lettuce, right? Which I find not as nice.

    Not as nutritional too, it seems but it was ok. We were fine with it, not particular about our lettuce though for Ceasar, it is usually romaine. Personally, I do prefer coral but the rest are ok too.

  10. I think I will enjoy what they have to offer there judging by what you ordered. The pizza is very eye-catching with the green ring around it.

    Selections may not be that wide – just a few choices of salads, pastas, pizzas, burgers and some other things but generally, what they serve here has been pretty good, wouldn’t mind coming back for more.

  11. My kids will love this… as for me.. any desserts? 🙂

    I love their panna cotta and their creme brulee is nice too. My missus and my girl love the tiramisu…but I’m not into that cheesecake-like stuff.

  12. That pizza.. is there brocolli on the edge of it?

    No, see earlier comments – it’s spinach. I think everyone was asking this also the previous times I blogged about the pizza. It certainly looks like broccoli.

  13. I love Cesar salad more than any other salad, hehe!

    I would agree with you on this. I’ve tried the other salads on their menu but I think I like Ceasar’s best.

  14. looks like the food quality over there is so much better than Kuching. We have many newly open cafes around with good environment but the food is totally a turn off. Been to a few new places and concluded that these youngsters have some extra money to open cafe but did not actually focus on the food. 😦

    anyways, I would love to try the aglio olio bacon mushroom pasta. The ones here is always with prawns which i’m allergy to. 😦

    We do have quite a few of those too – really dunno what their credentials are – not nice or not really nice…and definitely not cheap. The most surprising thing is they seem to do very well – dunno why people keep going. To each his own, I guess – maybe they think it is nice.

    Oh? You’re allergic to prawns? Poor thing!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

