A new level…

My girl came home as usual last weekend, the first after school reopened for the new academic year.

We were out that Saturday in question and for lunch, she wanted the nasi kerabu

Sri Tanjung nasi kerabu, chicken

here, RM5.50 for chicken and RM5.00 for fish.

It sure seemed to be getting very popular as it was very crowded with customers coming and going the whole time we were there. It did not help one bit that there were only two girls working at a snail’s pace…and I was really put off by the sight of the face of one of them. She looked so so so unhappy and was cold and unfriendly. It sure took a lot of effort on my part not to give her a piece of my mind…and she was lucky that my girl was around – I knew she, being so good-natured (unlike the father) would not like me making a scene so I had no choice but to refrain from doing that.

It probably would help a bit if they had a better system – for instance, I saw her going to the kitchen at the back to get the rice plate by plate…and bringing them to the stall in front…plate by plate…where she would arrange all the condiments and sauces…one…by…one…plate by plate…and at the pace she was going, it certainly came as no surprise at all that when it was FINALLY served, the keropok (prawn cracker) had gone a little bit limp.

This is the only place in town serving this for lunch and that too, it would only be on Saturdays…and if not for the fact that it is very nice and we do enjoy eating it very much, we certainly would not bother going back at all.Β While waiting, I went next door to this place to buy their prawn fritters…

Sunny Cafe prawn fritters

They have been selling them at 4 for RM1.00 for a while now ( used to be 5 for RM1.00) and this time around, we did not think they were as good as before. Maybe they had new workers on the job but the batter was a bit different and the prawn in each of them was very small and quite bland/tasteless…but at least, those kept us occupied – munching on a few of them while waiting for the nasi kerabu that took a long time coming.

After having had our lunch, we went to a bookstore in town as my girl had to buy some visual aids for use in class. I did not want to go in so I just waited for her on the pavement outside the shop. In the meantime, a young boy came along pulling a trolley full of these pulut panggang

Pulut panggang

…that he was selling at RM1.00 each and RM1.50 for the ones with sambal inside.

It had been raining on and off all morning and it was already way past noon, almost 1.00 p.m. and the poor thing still had so much left so I bought some from him even though I knew it would not be good – there’s only one that is really very good and that’s Kate’s but no, they do not make theirs regularly (not even on special order) so those would be really hard to come by.Β I tried them when I got home and to my delight, they were not too bad. They were not overcooked, like some that I had had before, till the rice became hard and not palatable but yes, it was not lemak enough as that would have brought it to a whole new level – one that would surely get me looking for the boy and grabbing more from him.

The next day, Sunday, we sent my girl back to her school. She did not want to bring the prawn fritters along with her since they were not all that nice or she had other plans of her own for her meals during the week so we had them ourselves at home and for our vegetable dish, I cooked my version of the long bean omelette.Β I had blogged about the simple original (Foochow) version sometime last year where minimal ingredients were used. This time around, I had these…

Ingredients

Clockwise, from left to right, I used 3 eggs, finely-chopped garlic (3 cloves), a handful of ikan bilis (dried anchovies), chilies and long beans, finely sliced, a spoonful of cincaluk (fermented shrimps) and spring onions, finely chopped.

I beat the three eggs well, adding the cincaluk and the spring onions to it…and put it aside. You may want to add a pinch of msg to it if you wish but do not add any more salt as the cincaluk is salty enough. I heated up some oil in a wok and fried the ikan bilis and the garlic till golden brown before adding the long beans and the chilies…

Step 1

I fried them till the long beans were cooked and whatever moisture there was in the wok had dried up before spreading it all out and adding the eggs…

Step 2

Make sure that you beat the eggs well before pouring as some of the cincaluk might have settled at the bottom. Once it had been fried enough on one side and had turned into a nice golden brown, I loosened it from the wok using the ladle…

Step 3

…and turned it over to cook and brown the other side as well.

Unfortunately, I’m not good at flipping such things over so it fell apart and did not stay in one piece…

Step 4

Never mind, I just went on cooking it and once, it was all nicely cooked on all sides, I dished it out onto a plate and served…

Long bean omelette with cincaluk and ikan bilis

Needless to say, this would be a head above the original recipe as the cincaluk and the ikan biliis added would bring the taste to a new level and I, for one, certainly enjoyed it a lot more, cooked this way.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

20 thoughts on “A new level…”

  1. You are so kind to buy the pulut from the boy. Many would not do so.

    What goes around comes around. We sure need a lot more kindness among us…and love.

  2. i want nasi kerabu too! Hehe… last i had was at kelantan, super authentic! hehe… by the way, pulut panggang was also called as gogos, indonesian in malaysia called it that way πŸ™‚

    In my younger days, a go-go was a dance. πŸ˜€

    Never tried the ones in Kelantan so not too sure how authentic this is….but I had one from the wife of somebody in the army here – from Kelantan and hers was good too and quite the same as this one as well…so based on that, I guess this is authentic enough.

  3. the nasi kerabu looks good and worth it for that price … and so does your long bean omelette! how much would you charge for your omelette? heheh πŸ™‚

    For you, absolutely free. I can dish this out anytime…and more. πŸ˜‰

  4. I have tried this recipe(long beans omelette) of yours and I like it but nowadays it is hard to get Bintulu cincaluk. Sometimes I used French beans instead of long beans. Simple, easy & taste great.

    Yes, French beans would be good too but I would insist on each one being sliced very very thinly. It has a kind of smell I am not particularly fond of but sliced thinly, I do not seem to sense it so much…as compared to eating them in chunks. We have our regular supply of Bintulu cincaluk – always ready in the fridge.

  5. i wanted to say, home cooked meals are the best. but then your meals don’t look home cooked at all! have you considered opening an eatery? πŸ˜€ Suituapui Restaurant Private Limited πŸ˜€

    Flatterer! So this was how you got Janice to marry you, sweet talked her into it. Hehehehehehe!!!! πŸ˜‰

  6. Now i miss nasi kerabu. Nice omelette.

    Have you tried this one? I think you had the one at Sumber Rejeki. Opens so late, went once, never bothered to go again.

  7. I like your long bean omellete..Reminds me of your fried rice, long time no fry rice liao? My husband loves long beans omelette too, but mine very simple.. Just eggs, salt and long beans.

    I fry rice all the time, whenever there is any leftover…but I do not blog about it – same recipe, nothing new…but one coming up in a few days. Do stick around.

    No garlic? I like garlic in mine but my missus will always use Bombay onions…and she does not slice very thinly – not so nice, I feel. 😦

  8. Ooo….I love nasi kerabu with fried fish and salted egg. Never thought of slicing the long beans so thinly…will definitely try your version of omelette but not sure if I would like the taste of cincaluk in it though.

    You can leave it out – I like it with garlic and I like it sliced very thinly. Nasi kerabu with fish would be 50 sen cheaper – we do have that sometimes, very nice also.

  9. Was this the place you took me too many years ago?
    It’s where there are plenty of stalls for seafood at Bandung.

    Yup, the one and only – at Sg Antu, opposite RTM Sibu. No, it’s not Bandong – Bandong would be where my regular kuih stall in the morning is, the roadside Malay food stall around noon…and the ayam penyat & pecel lele & satay & ikan bakar at night.

  10. love both the nasi and the omelette πŸ™‚ there is this thing about stall operators. i noticed that there is a handful of stall operators in sibu that are quite grumpy and foul-mood whenever they are not in control because of the overwhelming crowd. i have always been the good-natured sort and flash my crazy big smile. i always have to tell myself, bless them busy people who prepare my food; good things come to those who wait.

    Yes, heard of the likes of those but usually at the Malay places, they are all very pleasant and friendly, slow yes…but very nice and chatty but those would be the mak cik – this one’s a very young girl.

  11. Your omelette sure looks good! I can never flip an omelette either and I just flip them in pieces hee..hee..

    Neither can I. They say don’t be afraid, be daring…just flip and it will be fine. Trouble is I’m rather slow, over careful. 😦

  12. I noticed every time you blog about going out, your interest seems to be only on food. “Wife and daughter go shopping, I’ll just go home, or wait outside and buy some snacks!” πŸ˜€

    I have been flipping omelettes for the past 4 or 5 years, and my success rate is still 0.. 😦

    Oh dear! No worries. As they say, there’s safety in numbers. Hehehehehe!!!!

    Hey! Don’t put words in my mouth. I did not want to go into the air-conditioned shop, nothing of interest to me…and it was nice and cool outside, rained all morning. I had no intention of buying anything to eat – just that the poor boy happened to come along. Or maybe it was fated, something pre-destined by a higher authority. Old folks say that people with a protruding lower jaw like mine will always have things to eat. Looks like there is some truth in it after all, eh? Hehehehehe!!!!

  13. I super like nasi kerabu. Much prefer it to nasi dagang. The ones I have normally comes with keropok ikan. Not many stalls selling at my neighbourhood but come Ramadhan fasting month, there will be more.

    Your omelette look very appetising, with cincaluk added in.

    Me too! Had nasi dagang once…did not really enjoy it but it was at a hotel, Pearl International. Maybe they did not do it as well, I wouldn’t know. Yes, the long bean omelette with cincaluk was very nice – sure would want to cook it this way again.

  14. aiyo…the nasi so blue color :(. Guess now nobody bother to use the blue color flower to color anymore.

    It’s not supposed to be this blue? Lots here, growing wild…in the belukar behind my MIL’s house also got! Just pour water on a petal – will turn so very blue instantly! Maybe they use too many petals. We only go there to get the tapioca leaves…free.

  15. Pulut panggang, missed the one when I am young. Stayed with my grandma at Brooke Drive, some night, there is an uncle will ride his bicycle or motorbike? rounding around and calling pulut panggang. Once he open the box at his bike the smell just “flew out” and it is always still hot or warm.

    Love ur long bean omelette . Yum!

    Yes, the old school panggang were the best! I think when the old ones have retired or died, the young ones have no interest to take over so it dies out eventually…or even if they do, they do not learn to do it perfectly or are not bothered to do so and in the end, the panggang they make is not very nice. Plus the old folks – no standard measurements, all agak agak one…not easy to follow exactly. 😦

    Ummmm…you would love it if you love cincaluk. πŸ˜‰

  16. that incident reminds me of Atok Kopitiam in Kuching where the staffs kinda racist when chinese visit their shop . they show unhappy and unfriendly faces. Not all the time but sometimes.. we still visit them last time because normally after 1pm it is kinda hard to find places to dine. They open till 6pm.. so we could grab our late lunches there.

    they are no longer behind hsbc now.. i heard they have moved to satok area. 😦

    anyways… i used to love cincaluk until i have allergies towards shrimps. I don’t know when it started but i know i have been missing good food after having the allergies.. huhuhu..

    Oh? Normally those people are very very friendly, slow…but nice and friendly. I only know Tok Janggut in Kuching, went once…can’t really remember much of it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

