Time passes by…

…real quickly when you’re having fun and that certainly was true as far as my girl’s end-of-year holiday was concerned. All too soon, it was time for her to pack up and go back to her school to start the new academic year but the Saturday before that Sunday, we did get to drop by this restaurant for lunch.

Of course, we had her favourite sweet and sour fish fillet…

Y2K sweet & sour fish

– she likes the one here the most.

We also had the sweet potato leaves…

Y2K sweet potato leaves

…that we also had the last time we were here. It seemed that she actually liked them a lot and asked why we never cooked those leaves at home. Well, actually we did and I had blogged about (cooking and) eating them many times before at home…or in some other restaurants like this one, for instance. At one time, my friend’s wife grew them and had a lot and she would always give us some time and time again but after she moved house, we had not been getting any from her anymore and we just stopped cooking our own. Somehow or other, for no obvious reason, we never got round to buying them whenever we went marketing.

For a change, we had their tofu

Y2K tofu

…which was very nice and for the soup, we decided to try their chao chai (preserved vegetables) with egg…

Y2K chao chai egg soup

Usually, we would have this with chicken or fish…or seafood but this was the first time we were having it with egg and I must say they did it really well. We certainly enjoyed it.

Many seem to have the idea that this place is a bit more expensive than elsewhere and that explains why the one next door is always full while this one isn’t all that popular even though the food is pretty good. Well, I forked out around RM45.00 that day for the four dishes for three persons and the soup came in such a huge bowl that we could not finish it despite having at least two servings each and had to tapao more than half of it home. Expensive or not, as long as what they dish out is consistently great, we certainly would not mind coming back here again…and again…and again, that’s for sure.

Flashback to the morning of the day in question, I went out early to my regular Malay kueh stall at Bandong to get this steamed delight wrapped in banana leaf (3 for RM1.00)…

Bandong kueh

…for my girl for breakfast as she tried it the previous time and loved it a lot. Personally, I thought they were a little bit nicer the first time around but they were still nice.

They informed me that they had this nasi lemak (RM1.00 a packet)…

Bandong nasi lemak

…from some newbie so I bought a packet to try but I would not say that I liked it. The sambal was very spicy but it was salty – I prefer the slightly sweet version of the sambal with my nasi lemak, plus there wasn’t any hard-boiled egg which I would consider to be the standard condiment as far as nasi lemak is concerned. The bottom line is I would still choose to stick to the ones with the nice sotong sambal (RM1.50 a packet) that I would usually buy from here.

While I was there, I also spotted these red velvet cupcakes (RM2.50)…

Bandong red velvet cupcakes

They were all right, that much I would say, and at that price, I think I would stick to our much cheaper and nicer local kuehs.

The following day, Sunday, we left the house very early at around 6.45 a.m. to drive my girl back to her school as she had work to do at 9.00 a.m. – the pupils were reporting that morning…and while she was at it, the mum and I spent the time cleaning her quarters from top to bottom so she could settle in comfortably and get ready to start the new academic year the very next day.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

21 thoughts on “Time passes by…”

  1. It’s been a really long time since I had sweet potato leaves. One of my favorite vege! That chao chai looks kinda unique, like dessert! hahaha

    Dessert? Like green bean soup? Sweet potato leaves, very cheap here. RM1.00 a bundle.

  2. awesome food. i thought the sweet and sour fish was Ku Lou Yok. lol.

    One and the same thing – just substitute the fish with pork (spare ribs). Somehow, my girl prefers fish.

  3. I like the look and price of the steamed local delight. What is the white part? Sweet coconut santan taste or savoury plain glutinous rice flour taste?

    All the best to Melissa for a new school year, new students and new classes to teach. Teachers in rural areas are so noble, helping rural students to have a better life.

    That’s plain glutinous rice flour – something like chee cheong fan – no taste. The taste comes from the coconut/gula Melaka filling plus the fragrance from the banana leaf used in the wrapping.

    Yes, not easy in the rural schools – no interest, no exposure, lazy – so used to the laid-back conditions in their homes etc…etc…etc…and have to put up with the living conditions plus the isolation.

  4. It’s nice of you to help clean out her place for her, but if my mom does that to me, I will probably feel embarrassed, grown up man still need parents to clean my house and stuff like that 😀

    Ya…and I am sure you would just let it be – young people these days, quite comfortable in a place looking no better than a pig sty.

    We left home at 6.45-7.00, got there just before 9 and the pupils would be reporting at 9.30 so she was tied up with them…till `1.00 p.m. Instead of sitting around idling and waiting for her to come back for lunch (we tapaoed from home), we might as well make ourselves useful. So dirty after the one and half months holiday…and she would be too tired coming back…to face the mammoth task.

    Normal weekends, we help – she would sweep and mop, I would do the balcony…and the mum would fill the containers with water – no piped water there, we bring from home! Rain water, not fit for consumption (other teachers buy bottled water). Count your blessings!

    1. Ya STP, really counting our blessings here to have piped water. No joke, no drinkable water there, have to buy bottled water. I would have thought the government would at least have a local filtering system installed for the rain water collected or well water for the consumption of the teachers and students.

      RG is not like that. He is very diligent in cleaning his own place. See his photos of his rented apartment, so clean!

      Yes, the likes of him are few and far between these days. His mum sure did a great job bringing him up, very house trained…and can cook too!

      There is pipe water in the area but maybe the vicinity is on higher ground, the pressure is not enough. I heard from the lady at the canteen outside the school by the roadside, she would go to the bazaar and ask…and the people at the shops would give. So nice, these people at small places! Actually, we can fix our own filter on the tap…but I do not think it is enough to clean it and yes, it is rather yellowish/brownish in colour. Best to bring our own from home – not so difficult…and one person does not need that much each week.

      We’ll get used to these things eventually and learn to live with it, be thankful that everything else is free…accommodation, electricity – can’t expect everything on a silver platter and there IS water, just not clean enough for cooking and drinking, good enough for cleaning, flushing and everything else.

  5. I see most of my favorite food here.. Sweet sour fish, eggy starchy tofu and nasi lemak bungkus..So so nice of you and wifey to help to clean up Mel’s quarters..

    See reply to Real Gunners.

  6. Indeed a nice lunch. Food looks nice and price is reasonable. Glutionous kuih with gula apong fillings, one of my favourites too.

    Yes, I do love some of those Malay kuihs.

  7. 3 kuih for RM1? RM1 for a packet of nasi lemak? I didn’t think there’d still be any at these prices. No piped water? How about bathing and all that….or cooking…where does she eat? Where is she teaching?

    In one of the rural schools…half an hour or more by road/car to the nearest bazaar.

    There is piped water…from the giant plastic tanks (dunno what’s inside), use for washing, mopping, flushing the toilet and everything but for drinking, cooking and even bathing – we choose to use the water we bring from home. The kids in the hostel use the rain water for everything – they’re used to that in their longhouses, no problem at all.

    It’s really not as bad as it sounds. We learn to live with or without many things, no need to be too pampered – this will help make a man/woman out of the individual. I had to go through a lot worse in my time, mind you…in the 70’s.

  8. soup … the thing i dread most to tapao, heheh. am always worried the packet will burst and the soup will spill all over inside the car while being transported home … or maybe i’m just paranoid, heh 😀

    By the time we finished eating, it would have cooled down, not so bad. I do feel that same way too when it’s piping hot…and heat on plastic ain’t so good. Best to bring one’s own container.

  9. I have never tried sweet potato leaves…at first I thought it was spinach and then I saw your text with the photo. I love spinach, and if the sweet potato leaves are similar then I would love them as well. 🙂

    My daughter loves spinach too…and she likes these leaves as well.

  10. Hi suituapui, I’m curious what town or village this is, with the limited water supplies. What is the population? And how many gallons/litres did you have to transport?

    Let’s just say it’s in the middle of nowhere in the jungle – the nearest bazaar is Selangau, around half an hour away by car – there is piped water there.

    I hear the problem is localised, confined to this area only – hilly, I guess, so the pressure is not strong enough. We have two big tubs, dunno how many litres each – maybe 5, so we bring them along every week. Not a problem really…but of course, nothing beats the convenience of clear running water straight from the tap. Luckily it is accessible by road, can drive right to one’s doorstep – some schools – you’ll need to take a sampan (boat) and walk some distance to reach. Count our blessings!

  11. At first I thought the first dish was sweet and sour pork. I love the fish version too. Melissa going back to the rural school reminds me of those days when I was studying at residential school. It was very depressing having to go back to the hostel after the school holidays 😦

    Been almost two years now, she still gets depressed going back there after the brief weekends home…what more to say after a long stretch of holidays. Ah well…I guess she’ll have to learn. Life is no bed of roses. Only the strong will survive.

  12. Chao chai sounds like sayur busuk in hokkien LOL

    For your information, that’s in Hokkien and the first word is different in pronunciation, tone and diction. The Chinese language is like that – I can think of at least two different meanings when it comes to your surname, for instance…if one varies the tone a little.

  13. Not a fan of sweet potato leaves 😦
    Yeah, good to help Melissa clean up the place, since you’re both waiting for her anyway..but no piped water there? Oh, dear, that’s tough. 😦

    There IS piped water – rain water collected in HUGE tanks as big as a house, you fall in sure will drown one! But we are not too comfortable with that – better bring our own for drinking, and cooking.

    I was in a rural school for a month, 1976…and before we left, we were so kind as to help clean the tank (theirs not so big)…and we were shocked at the sight of what we saw inside – dead rats, lizards etc…etc…etc… Too late, we had been using the water that whole month. Never mind, we didn’t die!

    1. Yikes! 😬 disgusting! Luckily no one got seriously ill or died!

      I guess when one gets used to it, one builds up a certain immunity. Sometimes, being overly clean may render one weak, not much resistance.

  14. You and your wife are very touching parents!! Recall back my time, my parents don’t care anything one!! Really full of happiness of this, get to see the brightness side of the world!! =]

    Poor thing. In a way, it is good too. You get to learn to be independent. My girl doesn’t like it much, she wants to be independent too…but we enjoy doing things for her. 😉

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

