A friend of yours…

…is a friend of mine and it so happened that my friend texted me one day to tell me that her Australian friend would be coming to town and asked if I could take him around to enjoy some of the Foochow delights here in Sibu. Of course, I said I could and there I was at the Sibu Boat Terminal that afternoon in question last week, waiting for the express boat from Kuching which arrived on the dot as scheduled at 1.30 p.m.

Daniel, from Queensland, was in Kuching with his friend, Lina, from Kampuchea to attend a friend’s wedding and he decided to hop over to see what the fuss was about – he had heard his (Sibu) friends Down Under praising the food here to the skies incessantly and how badly they were craving for all that this little town has to offer. As soon as they had disembarked, I took them here but it was not open – normally, after 1.00 p.m., many stalls here would have closed for the day though some would open again at 6.00 p.m. and continue their business till 10 or 11.00 p.m. Oh dear!!!

In the end, I decided to try this place that I went once with my blogger-friend, Rose,Β and the kolo mee was pretty good…and luck was on our side. In fact, I did try it myself and I too thought it was indeed very nice. So, there we were at this coffee shop…and I ordered two bowls of their kampua noodles (RM2.80 each/around AUD1.00)…

Full Fortune Cafe Kampua noodles

…one for Daniel and the other for Lina and yes, they liked it a lot. Daniel even said that it was nicer than the kolo mee he had in Kuching but then again, I do not know which place he went to for that and like what I always say, when you go some place, it would be best to have friends to take you for the best in town as more often than not, you may end up somewhere eating something that isn’t all that great.

I also asked for a bowl of pian sip soup for the two to share (RM2.80/around AUD1.00)…

Full Fortune Cafe pian sip, soup

…and yes, they enjoyed that too.

The nice guy running the kampua stall saw that I had two foreigners in tow and he probably could guess that I was bringing them around to sample our Sibu food so he dished out this bowl of pian sip, dry…

Full Fortune Cafe pian sip. dry

…on the house specially for them to try! Isn’t that so very sweet of him? I did try this too and yes, it was good! The skin was very thin and there was quite a bit of meat inside, unlike at many places in town.

This plate of Foochow fried noodles (with sauce) came from the chu-char (stir fry) place at the back of the shop (RM3.80/around AUD1.40)…

Full Fortune Cafe Foochow fried noodles

…and as you can see, there is a lot more meat in the one here compared to elsewhere where the minute bits in the noodles are hardly visible. Of course, they thought this was good too…but Daniel found the teh-c special…

Full Fortune Cafe teh-c special

…that I urged him to order a tad too sweet for him because of the gula MelakaΒ (palm sugar) content. At some other places, there would be a layer of green – wheatgrass, if I am not mistaken, and those would not be as sweet.

After they had had their fill, I drove them to the Sibu Resident’s Office to ask for a copy of THE book…and look at what Daniel gave me – a souvenir book of the Great Barrier Reef…

From Daniel

…with such stunningly amazing photographs inside, all of a similar standard as those one would see in the National Geographic magazines. Thank you so much, Daniel, for that lovely gift – it certainly is very much appreciated.

Unfortunately, it was raining heavily by then so I just drove them to check in at a hotel in town and gave them directions as to how to get to the pasar malam (night market) that night and left them to their own devices till I went to see them again the following day.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “A friend of yours…”

  1. that souvenir book looks nice! i guess it’ll find a good place in your book cabinet or shelves, and you can flip through it whenever you feel like peering safely into the sea πŸ™‚

    Yes, hard cover some more. Among my treasured souvenirs.

  2. So nice of the owner to serve your friend’s friends a bowl of dry pian sip free of charge and you are so nice to bring them around to eat the good food. True warm hospitality nature of Sibu folks.

    That’s how to do business. Little gestures like that sure will bring people back for more.

  3. Very nice of you to bring them around. I am sure they know how is Sibu look like and have the book to show to when back in Australia.

    At least something to remember Sibu by. They enjoyed the pasar malam too, ate a lot there…and bought durians!

  4. I bet Daniel was amazed with the prices after living in Australia where everything is so expensive.

    He didn’t say anything about it but he sure enjoyed a lot of things around here. His friends say he’s been Asian-ised.

    1. Sometimes I do need to pinch myself and realise just how cheap most everything is in comparison – truly it is amazing. But having been to Malaysia on 5 separate occasions now (though this was my first time to go to Sarawak) I guess I’m used to the low prices. Actually on this particular trip I felt so at home and really didn’t want to leave.

      Now, that’s a compliment! Most people can’t wait to get out of here. The other man’s grass is always greener, so they say – it may be so or it may not be so. I do believe that life is what we make it…wherever we may be.

  5. You are definitely qualified to be the ambassador of Sibu! everyone finds you there LOL

    I do enjoy it and when they’re such nice and wonderful people, I sure don’t mind one bit. My pleasure.

  6. When I see Foochow delights, I straightaway think of the Foochow fried noodles.. Very nice of you to bring them around, jalan-jalan, makan-makan.. The teh-c special looks very kaw, creamy and milky.. Slurrrpppp…

    He did not like the gula Melaka in it, made it a bit too sweet…but I told him to wait till the ice melts – that would tone down the sweetness in a bit.

    1. Hehe I apologise if I didn’t seem completely satisfied – I did still enjoy it and finished every last drop.

      Actually I do really like the flavour of gula melaka / palm sugar. On occasion I’ll prepare sago gula melaka for dessert at home.

      It’s ok. I love gula Melaka too…but with all the different local kuehs (cakes…and oooo…I love sago pearls with gula Melaka!!!), not so much with tea – that would drown out its lovely taste, I think. Strong tea with evaporated milk and sweetened creamer (our condensed milk, palm oil based…we do not have condensed milk here) is good enough for me. Wheatgrass would give it a special unique taste (and an additional green layer) but all in all, I think the gimmick is in serving the tea in three layers of different colours and the key attraction would be the skill to do that perfectly. Personally, I’m a coffee person…not quite into tea. πŸ˜‰

  7. That souvenir book looks fantastic, I love books like this. πŸ™‚

    Precious. Can’t buy it here, that’s for sure…and it’s hard cover some more.

  8. aiyak….first place…not open…paiseh paiseh…..but second time lucky. Aiye…bring to payung la

    They specifically stated Sibu Foochow food – nothing’s Foochow in Payung…or maybe just the keli in soy sauce with lots of ginger. I think that’s Foochow – my mum often cooked that at home.

  9. That looks like kolo mee. I always thought that kampua mee has thin sliced of meat and not minced meat. Like the pian sip & Foochow fried noodles. Looks nice.

    It’s kampua with minced meat added. They can’t replicate the taste of kolo mee exactly here – most of what they call kolo mee would be kampua made to look like Kuching kolo mee – the taste is not quite there…like kampua mee in Kuching, they say.

  10. Australian man and Cambodian lady. I don’t suppose they’re travel bloggers, are they? I’ve read a blog by one such couple some time ago, but couldn’t remember the blog’s name…

    Not that I know of.

  11. so good! u can be a local tour guide there yo! hahaha btw do give me your house address at henrytcx@gmail.com ok! =D

    Come on over, would love to be your guide as well – take you for the very best in town!

    Ummmm….no, thank you so much! Just pulling your leg – nothing’s worth sending over – the postal charges are absolutely killing. We have our own in town, not so famous…but also very nice…and fresh…and cheaper too. As they say, it’s that thought that counts, thanks again. πŸ˜‰

  12. You’re the ‘unofficial’ food ambassador of Sibu…so much so that even the hawkers recognize you and give you free samples! πŸ˜€

    I’ve been there three times, at least…and this would be the fourth. Hard not to remember anyone so big, so fat and so ugly. Not many of us around. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  13. It was nice of you to bring them around eventhough the weather is so cold nowadays. 😊

    It was not so bad then, the wet days were just starting – these few days, raining non-stop…very cold.

  14. You should be appointed as the official Sibu food guide hee..hee…

    Actually they asked me whether I do this food tour thing for a living. Of course, I told them no – just for the fun of it to pass the time.

  15. You are so nice for bringing friends of your friend around. Such a sweetheart this Arthur ❀

    That’s what friends are for! Any friends of yours coming, just let me know. Sure I will take good care of them – they’ll be in very good hands. πŸ˜‰

  16. I always find Kampua noodles in Sibu smoother in texture, and devoid of the strong alkaline flavour as found in Kuching’s Kolo Mee.

    I would find the alkaline smell in the yellow noodles too…especially those in the peninsula – the Sibu ones are not so yellow as they do not use it in the making and I guess it’s the same with kampua noodles. That is why they get soft and soggy from overcooking…or when served in soup or sauce/gravy – best eaten hot and as soon as served but in the case of the Foochow fried that you see in this post, some love it when the noodles have soaked up all the gravy. I quite like it that way too.

  17. The book is really attractive, like national geographic magazine, it was my favorite magazine during my secondary school!! But now I just read from online!! Hehe!!

    They’ve their shows on our Malaysian satelite tv too.

  18. That’s really sweet of you, Arthur. And I won’t be surprised if one day, you’ll be officially crowned the food ambassador of Sibu! πŸ˜‰. Or a local tour guide maybe. Anyway, so lucky of them to have you bring them around town.

    No lah, I’m too old to go into it full swing but I love doing it for friends…and friends of friends who care enough to drop by our little town, just for the fun of it…to pass the time.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

