See you sometime…

In an earlier post, I mentioned that my friend, Philip, was home from the US but these end-of-year trips were usually very short and he would like to spend most of the time at home with the mum plus I was busy with my Singapore friend and his friends who were here on a visit. Nonetheless, we did manage to go out sometime for breakfast and during one of those times, we dropped by here for the kaya (coconut jam) toast…

Thick kaya toast

I had seen people sharing photographs of the thick toast on Facebook and it certainly seemed very popular – a lot of people were having that but they were having the stuff from the other stalls in the shop as well. I did hear my friend, Annie-Q, saying that the kampua noodles here were very nice…and it turned out to be the lady at the coffee shop behind the Sibu Medical Centre where I used to drop by to enjoy her gu tor (beef tripe) soup with kampua noodles.

I decided to try her lor mee

Lor mee 1

It was not too strong on the ngor hiang (five spice) smell/fragrance and thick enough, not too watery nor too gooey…

Lor mee 2

…so I would say it was all right, not bad.

Philip had the kampung chicken eggs, half-boiled/cooked…

Half-boiled kampung chicken eggs

…and they were perfectly done. He loved the colour of the yolk too.

Back to the toast, now, that was a disappointment. It was not charcoal-toasted, they did that in an electric oven…and they used canned kaya and margarine, not homemade coconut jam and (real) butter. Other than that, there wasn’t much of it, not enough for a slice of toast that thick.

After that, we went to this coffee shop in Sungai Merah that was noted for its wonderful coffee. It had not been as nice though after the owner decided to take over the char kway teow stall and leave the brewing to his son or one of their Indonesian helpers. However, that morning, it was very good! Curious, Philip went and asked and found out that the guy took a little time off from his frying and went over to make the drinks. No wonder!!!

But actually (since the coffee has not been all that great these days), Philip wanted to drop by here for the roti telur

Roti telur 1

…from this stall…

Muslim food stall

…sandwiched in between the kampua, porridge and whatever stall in front and the char kway teow stall behind it.

They do it very well here – very thin, slightly crispy and very fragrant and they serve it with curry gravy…

Roti telur 2

…and not the usual dhal dip that one would get elsewhere. As a matter of fact, I also used to come for the fried noodles and the nasi lemak here for breakfast and I had had their nasi campur (mixed rice) too and it was definitely one of the better places in town for that.

As always, I certainly enjoyed that outing with Philip, chatting away about this and that, catching up with stuff since the last time he was home in Sibu.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “See you sometime…”

  1. yum yum. a typical breakfast i would have. lor mee looks good!

    You can get lor mee where you are? And roti telur and kaya too? Coming home for Chinese New Year? It’s next month.

  2. Charcoal toasted toast? Oh, that’s interesting. Do they do that in some type of oven or out in he open over coals? Regardless, the food looks good and it’s nice you were able to catch up with Philip.

    I’m really fascinated with the last dish. I’ll try to replicate it at home.

    In the old days, they used a charcoal fire in the shops to boil water and to keep the tea and coffee warm/brewing (they’re in the socks in those tall canisters)…
    Charcoal fire
    …and to toast the bread, they would put the slices on a wire mesh placed by the side of the charcoal fire. Once done, they would use a knife to scrape off the burnt/black surface and apply a thick slab of butter and a generous spread of kaya (coconut jam), extra fragrant if compared to the toaster or oven-toasted ones.

    The last dish is roti canai with egg (telur) added. As far as I know, they make the dough and keep overnight, soaked in oil. To make, they have to stretch and pull (and some may toss and throw…like pizza dough)…to make it paper thin…and then they fry it on a hot metal plate.
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/thats-the-way-to-do-it/

  3. wah, this really reminds me of my favourite childhood brekkies … when my grandfather would take us to the kopitiam or mamak in the morning, and we’d have thick toast with kaya and coffee or roti canai with plenty of dhal … even now, i’m a dhal lover, especially the thick chunky ones with lots of potatoes 😀

    Yes, those were the days…and they used real butter then – hard to find these days, most will use margarine and anyway, the butter we have these days isn’t really butter…and neither is our condensed milk – mostly palm oil substitutes. 😦

  4. I will go for the roti telur. Here we can choose to have it with dhall or any type of curry that is available at that place.

    I know you only drink black coffee. Is that with sugar or no sugar a all? Sorry I am not familiar with coffee terms so I don’t know black coffee means with or without sugar.

    I drink Nescafe black without sugar at home. Outside, I go for the local brew, black with sugar. The terms (basically Hokkien, I guess) are:
    kopi-o mien tai (black coffee without sugar)
    kopi-o (black coffee with sugar)
    kopi (coffee with milk)
    kopi-see/chee (coffee with evaporated milk)
    Add peng and you’ll get it iced, say kao (or kao-kao or kao-kao-kao) and you’ll get a stronger brew.

  5. When I saw that picture of the toast I was already thinking: “That amount of kaya looks pathetic!” Good that we agree on that one!
    I think in another 5 or 10 years time, there won’t be any coffee shops left that will use charcoal. Maybe there will be one or two who will capitalize on old sentiments and open “premium” coffee shops where you pay a premium to get a taste of the old..

    Yup! It will be such a novelty and people will queue for it. I know there’s one such place in Sarikei, very famous – yet to go and try.

  6. I like the canai from this coffee shop. Good place for breakfast.

    I like the meat porridge from the stall in front too. Used to have a nice kueh chap stall, the guy left…and then an Ah Tor char kway teow stall (sister of Ah Tor – the son at Aloha), she also left… 😦

  7. Kaya toast, I like.. Can always have two sets (4 slices if bread) anytime, yumzzz.. Oooo lor mee, I like, especially with some garlic..Roti telur, typical everyday breakfast, sometimes I have roti double telur, very satisfied !

    Not really crazy about roti telur – like omelette but they do theirs very well at this stall. Haven’t had the kaya toast & egg breakfast for quite a while now but there are usually 2 slices and 2 eggs only in a set. You’ll have to ask for a double, and pay double too, of course.

  8. That roti telur does look thin…almost translucent. Love roti telur for breakfast but must refrain from eating too frequent 😦

    Yup! They soak the dough in oil…and in cooking, they use a lot of oil on the hot plate too. Once in a long while ain’t so bad.

  9. Loves the half-boiled/cooked egg…

    I prefer the regular eggs though – these kampung ones do not have the eggy smell, very bland.

  10. I had lor mee for breakfast too, with my parents. Added condiments like vinegared Garlic and generous amount of chili paste 😀

    Sounds like what my missus would do all the time. I would not add any sauce or dip, want to taste the original flavours. Will only resort to those when something is not all that great…and needs the “support”.

  11. I wonder how many coffee shops will really make their own kaya. it’s such a time consuming process but kudos to those who make it.

    They are some very nice homemade ones available here and there, classic (orange/brown colour) or pandan (green) – can always use those, but I guess, those would be more expensive. Definitely nicer.

  12. I like the color of the egg yolk – very golden yellow. Only kampung chicken eggs have that sort of color. Some of the commercial ones are so pale 😦

    They told me they’re fed on corn, that is why they have that colour.

  13. Roti kawen and half boiled eggs to go with kopi oo… what better way is there to start the morning?

    The typical Malaysian breakfast. You’re out of confinement yet? Can eat these? I guess they’re ok.

  14. Have you been to Noraini’s Cafe. Located at somewhere around / in front King Wood. If I’m not mistaken. I never been there, but it’s belongs to my uncle. Haha. Why don’t you ‘food spying’ there and make a review about the cafe. 😉

    Don’t remember seeing a Malay cafe around Kingwood…but the name seems familiar – I must have seen it somewhere. Will look around and drop by when I find it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

