Daughter…

Nope, this post is not going to be about my daughter but the daughter of a friend of mine, Nancy. Her daughter, Cindy, was my student once in my English tuition class and she is in New Zealand right now. Well, if you remember, the mum gave me her own ngor hiang/lor bak (meat rolls) that she made herself at home and actually, she did that so she could take photographs of each and every step for Cindy to follow so she could make her own over where she is in New Zealand.

My missus makes very nice ones too but I never bothered to watch her doing it – I just ate. Hehehehehe!!!! Anyway, Nancy shared the photographs that she took with me so if anybody would like to make his or her own, you can give it a try. These were the ingredients she used…

Step 1

– minced meat, Bombay onions, garlic, carrot, Shitake mushrooms, five spice powder, pepper and that looks like cornflour in the spoon plus salt and msg according to taste…and you would need the bean curd skin as well. Of course, if you can add a bit of bay ka/ikan tenggiri (mackerel) or prawns, minced, it would bring the taste to a whole new level. My missus would usually add the latter when she makes hers.

Chop or cut everything very thinly like this…

Step 2

…and mix it all together…

Step 3

Oh? It appears that you need to add an egg as well – I guess that is for binding everything together in the roll.

Now, you are ready to roll…

Step 4

Place some of the filling on a piece of bean curd skin like this…

Step 5

…and roll it up…

Step 6

When you’ve finished rolling up the rolls, steam them…

Step 7

…to cook…

Step 8

…and once cooled, you can keep them in the freezer for whenever you feel like having any.

To serve, deep fry them in oil…

Step 9

…till golden brown and cut into slices…

Step 10
*Archive photo*

…ready to be eaten with chili or tomato sauce whichever you may fancy.

I guess it should not be too difficult as Cindy managed to make her own in New Zealand and according to her mum, she gave herself 90/100 for hers. Hmmmm….like mother, like daughter, I guess.

Thanks again, Nancy, for giving me some of yours to try and for sharing your photos…and incidentally, I have already cooked the ikan pari (stingray) using the asam fish paste (MasFood brand) that you gave me…

Asam ikan pari

…adding only one chopped Bombay onion and a couple of stalks of serai plus a few Thai basil leaves and it was so so so good! Thank you again for those too…and also the tilapias.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

18 thoughts on “Daughter…”

  1. A big thanks to you and your friend for sharing this recipe. Do we need to use chicken or pork meat for this?

    We usually use pork but my missus has made these using chicken before. Best to add a bit of mashed/minced fish and/or prawn to the minced meat used for the filling.

  2. I don’t remember where, but I’ve tried these before! Might have been a restaurant in San Francisco my mom had taken me to when I was younger. Mmmm… Deep fried oil 😛

    By the way, happy new year, Suituapui! Glad we’ve met via blogging in 2014. Looking forward to your posts in 2015! x

    Tee @ Rotten One

    Thanks, and the feeling’s mutual Cheers!

    You’re like my girl – everything that’s deep fried, she likes! 😀 We stopped having steamed fish for a long long time till quite recently, she would prefer it deep fried.

    This is a popular Chinese dish – you probably would have had it before at Chinese restaurants. Everyone seems to make it for Chinese New Year – dunno the significance, maybe it’s because it is full of wholesome goodness plus deep fried, it is gold in colour, very auspicious.

  3. It looks very good, but I cannot eat beef and I am not overly fond of deep fried foods…although I do have them occasionally. I hope that your year is off to a great start, my good friend. Hugs. 🙂

    That’s pork, and you can use chicken too. Never heard of anybody using beef here but there are people using fish – it’s all fish paste inside. My girl would love anything that’s deep-fried. Yes, it was wonderful, thanks!!! I had visitors here from Singapore and we had a jolly good time. Watch out for my posts on all that we did, starting Tuesday…or Monday at your end.

  4. Thanks to your friend for sharing her recipe on ngor hiang, one of my favourite. Your asam ikan pari looks absolutely good.

    Yes, you can try using the paste to cook fish. Very nice…but sour and a bit too spicy. Maybe you will not like it.

  5. Oooo thanks for sharing the recipe.. Mum makes good lorbak too, but she puts too much spice powder, hehe.. Yep she steam them first before frying, and I usually eat it with mayo+cili sauce..

    Wahhhhh!!! You very the ang moh (mat salleh) one, eat with mayo! Muahahahaha!!!!!

    The five spice powder is where the name is derived from – we call it ngor hiang hoon (five fragrance powder) and that is why these are called ngor hiang here. Our lor bak here is phak lor bak or braised meat, using the five spice powder and soy sauce.

  6. Seeing the photos now I want to make some. Been a while since I made them. I usually bought the mince meat with a bit of fat. Not all lean meat…^^

    I guess that would be nicer but most people are very health-conscious these days. 😦

  7. ooo, i’ve never quite thought about the process of making lor bak before, so it’s really enlightening, how you’ve shown the step-by-step photos … especially in seeing how the raw materials are transformed into a tasty treat! 😀 i haven’t had lunch today yet, and haven’t decide what to have … now i’m feeling like lor bak! 😀

    Yes, it was the mum’s step-by-step photo guide for her daughter in New Zealand. Looks very easy. 😉 Dunno of any good lor bak place in KL, Penang, I know, old coffee shop at Penang Road near Cititel…but lunch time, it’s like a mad scramble. So popular.

  8. Basically just mix everything up and roll. Seems easy enough to do 😉

    Yes, it does look really simple, eh? Chinese cooking is simple – not like nyonya or Malay and some of the rest. See the list of ingredients already want to faint!

  9. Oh goodie!! I must thank you and your friend Nancy for sharing this photo tutorial. I love ngor hiang and have been wanting to make my own. But one question, the beancurd skin – just use it dry as it is? I thought that since it is dry it might crack when rolled.

    I think so. Will get wet once in contact with the filling and steamed. I think it’s roll-able, handle with care.

  10. Great recipe…thanks for sharing. The taste lies in how we season the fillings though…may not turn out as good as hers.

    Practice makes perfect. Old folks like us can feel or sense it. We do not use specific measurements, all agak-agak (estimate), follow our instincts.

  11. ngor hiang requires quite alot of ingredients oso hoh. But homemade is always the best. Because you can wrap a plump and fat roll of each piece! 🙂

    Yes, and they scrimp on the ingredients and use sub-standard ones, plus extra-artificial flavourings and seasonings, not nice at all.

  12. love lor bak, but too many work to prepare lor bak, I will just eat out or wait for someone to give me.

    The ones we buy from outside, not nice. My missus makes very good ones, as good as her mum’s last time.

  13. OOhh…nice lor bak to go with a delicious and thick dipping sauce. You make so many….can sell away some.hehe

    Not me, my friend…and she gave me two. My missus will make a lot too, come Chinese New Year, keep in freezer. Take out and fry when needed, very convenient.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

