Special request…

My missus went and plucked some more tapioca leaves (daun bandong/daun ubi kayu) from the belukarย on some empty land around where my mother-in-law’s house is so I took a bit and fried them with some pumpkin, enough for the two of us for lunch and dinner that day…and no, I did not forget the serai (lemon grass) unlike the last time I fried this ethnic dish.

What happened was I went and shared this photograph on Facebook…

Daun ubi goreng dengan labu

…and somebody commented saying, “Pass me de recipe PLEASE….for pumpkin I only see Pumpkin pie Pumpkin Bingka n steam pumpkin for those on diet.” [SIC]

Well, I did get to cook this same dish again last Friday because my missus cooked this prawn curry…

Prawn curry

…for lunch and I just pounded some sambal belacan (dried prawn paste dip) and blanched some long beans for our ulam

Ulam, long beans & sambal belacan

…and both were extremely spicy and I was thinking that perhaps, my girl who was coming home that evening would not be able to handle those so well. That was why I decided to cook the tapioca leaves with pumpkin again that day for dinner. This time around, I photographed everything step by step in the hope that my friend would be able to dish out something similar since she had asked for the recipe.

Firstly, after having prepared all the ingredients including all the pounding, I fried a handful of ikan bilis (dried anchovies) in oil till slightly brown and then I pushed them aside and put in the pounded ginger and serai (lemon grass), bruised at the ends…

Steps 1 & 2

After frying those till nice and fragrant, I added a spoonful of the sambal belacan from the above ulam – this may be replaced by half a cube of ikan bilis stock or salt and msg but these should be added much later, not at this point in time. After frying for a while, I added the tapioca leaves, pounded, of course…

Step 3/4

…and not blended and if you are adding thinly-sliced chili, you may throw that in here.

I mixed everything together thoroughly and added a bit of water…

Step 5

…just a bit at a time whenever it got rather dry. Do not add too much at one go…

Step 6

…even though the water would soon seep into the pounded leaves and there will not be any left. But you would need a bit of it to try and see if what you’re cooking is salty and tasty enough or not. If you are using ikan bilis stock cube or salt and msg, you can add them here according to taste.

Finally, I added the pumpkin…

Step 7

…which I had cut into bite-sized chunks and boiled lightly to make sure they were cooked and soft enough. I had removed the skin as I was pretty sure my girl would not fancy the hassle of having to remove that while eating.

Just mix everything together thoroughly and continue frying for a bit and then, dish out and serve…

Step 8

This time around, I found that I had done a better job than the previous time as it was not so wet and was, therefore, nicer or that is how I personally like it. Some people may want a bit more gravy to go with their rice – that’s up to them. Like I always say, to each his own!

So there you have it, my friend – my resipi daun ubi dan labu goreng (fried tapioca leaves and pumpkin recipe). Good luck!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

27 thoughts on “Special request…”

  1. Thank you for sharing, Arthur. I might dish this out one of these days but I dont have daun ubi here. Lots of them at my mom’s in Malacca. Maybe when I balik kampung I’ll get my mom to try dishing this out for me. I’ll let her know that this Arthur so nice one always cook for his son. Surely my mom will try to outdo you and dish this for me too ๐Ÿ˜›

    Clever you. Ooi…daughter lah. Hehehehehe!!!!

  2. Lovely presentations! I can’t handle hot and spicy foods at all. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Takes getting used to. My girl is all right with spicy…but not up to our standard of spiciness yet. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. i know i would love this dish … the greens look great and the pumpkin seems nice and chunky ๐Ÿ˜€

    Pssstttt!!!! Tell you something…great bowel movement the next morning too. Hehehehehehe!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Thank you for sharing the recipe.. I’ve never eaten pounded tapioca leaves.. Here, we always order the ‘ching chao’ (plain with garlic).. Your dish looks so good, lots of ‘wok hei’ too..

    Ethnic delight. I like!!! I’m a “kampung boy”! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Very clear step by step photos on how to cook this dish. I am sure your friend can cook it now following your steps. I like to eat pumpkin so I should like this dish.

    I certainly hope so. Yes, my daughter loves pumpkin too and I don’t mind it and sweet potatoes as well. One thing is it is easy to buy and keep, will not wither and rot like some leafy vegetables even when kept in the fridge. Even potatoes will sprout roots. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Very unique dish but i don’t know why, i don’t appreciate pumpkin :p

    You don’t? My girl’s favourite. But must be the sweet ones. Some are rather bland, not so nice.

  7. I always cook cangkuk manis with pumpkin but never try with tapioca leaves. Pumpkin cooking on its own with ikan bilis is just as nice, can feel the sweetness of it. You can pound the tapioca leaves so fine. Indeed a nice dish.

    The sweetness of the cangkuk manis will certainly enhance the taste of the dish – very nice too. Yes, normally we fry pumpkin on its own with sambal hay bee, very nice.

  8. Usually in the mixed rice stall i see here, they only have pumpkin, but not with tapioca leaves…

    Ethnic cuisine, you will not find this at the chap fan stalls…not even here. Have to cook your own.

  9. Presentation wise, looks like how my friend cooks kacang ma.. My Kuching friend loves to pound his greens before cooking too. Is that a Sarawakian thing? I prefer my vegetables with the stalks and leaves still intact

    Actually, if you cook with chicken, it will taste just like kacang ma…but minus the wine. Yes, the dried kacang ma leaves are dry-fried and pounded – very messy, the dust may fly all over the kitchen. Fresh veg, I think this is the only one I fry, cangkuk manis – I tear into bits and pieces.

  10. I like pumpkin with anything… Sweet or savoury also can be accepted… ๐Ÿ™‚

    I cooked that for the dinner you all had at my house – but that was so long ago, I think you would have forgotten.

  11. I wonder how many people know how to “forage” for food. I used to go mushroom picking when I was young, but doubt I’d feel confident now to find something not poisonous.

    Used to do that when I was small, ferns too…and other jungle produce but not anymore. With all the development, I don’t have access to the jungles anymore, maybe at my girl’s school but now that I am old, somehow I don’t think I am that brave anymore to venture into the “unknown”. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. I like pumpkin dish but not with tapioca leaves. Never like the taste of the leaves.

    Yes, they have their own taste, like herbal a bit. You can use cangkuk manis instead.

  13. I’ve never had this dish before. You gave a very thorough step-by-step guide ๐Ÿ™‚ but I don’t think I’d be able to pick out tapioca leaves from the market. I eat greens but I’m quite pathetic at recognising which is which ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (I can only spot the really common ones)…hehe!

    You can use sayur manis (what you get in pan mee) – easier, no need to pound, just tear into bits…and may even be nicer as the veg is sweet.

  14. what a fine looking dish, I always love pumpkin prepared with dried shrimp, but i think ikan bilis work just as well.

    Yes, that’s how we often cook pumpkin – with sambal udang kering…just that udang kering is now RM80 (or more) a kg, our big and straight local ones, none of that not-very-nice smell. Ikan bilis isn’t cheap either…but at least, it’s more affordable…and it is nice to cook this way too, for a change…and save a bit of money.

  15. I was going to comment on the first picture where the pumpkin still had the skin! Then I saw your subsequent dish for Melissa without the skin and I was like, thank goodness poor Melissa didn’t have to eat the pumpkin with skin. LOL!

    LOL!!! The skin helps keep the pumpkin intact especially when we cook for two meals. Without the skin, when we heat it up for dinner, the pumpkin would end up like mashed potatoes already, not so nice anymore. Ok, if cooking for just one meal.

  16. That must be quite a lot of work pounding the tapioca leaves. I love pumpkin cooked whichever way and lazy me usually leaves the skin on wherever possible.

    I’ve got all the time in the world…and I am in no hurry to go anywhere just yet. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I do not have a problem with the skin – with or without, it is fine by me.

  17. Ahh, you’ve really inspired me to learn how to cook! I’m visiting my mom in California in a few weeks and will ask her to teach me some traditional Vietnamese dishes x

    I love Vietnamese…the rolls, the beef noodles… Very nice!

  18. This dish is my favourite. My tongue has never become jaded from eating it.
    Do you still remember me? I am Lo Sin Yee. I attended a course on Literature in English with you in Kuching.

    Hi Charles. I know you, have dropped by your blog several times…but a Literature course in Kuching? I can’t remember. Was that the seminar organised by UNIMAS where the present CM gave a very impressive speech at the opening? Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

    Ya, this ethnic dish is very nice just that we did not use to cook it often as we would need to buy a whole big bundle for RM1 at the market and use half only, throw away the rest. Now that we can pluck the leaves free…it has become quite a regular in our daily meals, despite the pounding needed.

  19. Wow! I didn’t know it was so much work, having to pound the tapioca leaves until it’s so fine.

    I love this dish but a lot of places don’t bother with the leaves and it’s just thrown in wholesale. Yours looks a lot better (and more delicious too).

    If they do not pound, the leaves would be hard to bite and chew, not nice…and the taste does not really come out. Same as mani chai/cangkuk manis cooked whole without tearing the leaves into bits and pieces. They often do that at the Malay stalls, not nice.

    1. Yeah that’s the thing, it’s always hard to chew in the mobile nasi campur places!

      Some of the pan mee places put cangkuk manis whole into their soup too, but that’s still okay coz it’s not a lot and the hot soup softens it a little.

      Ya, that’s why I don’t enjoy it as much in pan mee…especially when I do not have that many teeth left. Muahahahahaha!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

