Leftovers…

I think it was a packet of one of those “healthy” noodles that my girl bought to bring to her school sometime ago – the “twin vermicelli pack” containing some red rice noodles and millet noodles. She had cooked and eaten half of it and the remaining half had been sitting there idle for a while now so we took it home and the other morning, I decided to finish it all off at one go…

Leftovers

…and used it to cook this plate of fried noodles…

STP's fried noodles 1

I had also bought some barbecued pork ribs the day before for dinner and there were two chunks left and I also had the char siewΒ (barbecued pork) oil and the drip from the roast pork that they gave me.Β I boiled the noodles and drained them well before adding the latter and tossing them together well…

Seasoning the noodles

I had decided to keep the former for another day, to fry rice perhaps, so I did not use that with my fried noodles.

I also cut the meat off the bones and sliced them thinly and I kept the bones to throw in as well later…

Meat from barbecued pork ribs

…as there was still some meat left and it would be such a waste to throw it all away.

Firstly, I fried some chopped garlic (3 cloves) in a bit of oil till golden brown and then I threw in the meat and the thinly sliced chilies (2) and mixed everything together…

Frying the ingredients

After that, I added the noodles…

Adding the noodles

…and lastly, two eggs and some chopped spring onions.

I tried a bit and found that it was not salty so I added a dash of fish sauce and a pinch of seasoning. Once, I thought it had been sufficiently fried, I dished it all out onto a plate…

STP's fried noodles 2

…sprinkled some fried shallots that I had at hand over it and served.

I do think that one can fry something that is more or less the same using those egg noodles available at the supermarkets and some char siew (barbecued pork), along with the other ingredients. Of course, you are free to add anything you fancy. I was thinking that a bit of green vegetables would help add some colour to the dish but there wasn’t anything compatible that morning in the fridge.

As it was,Β I would say it was very nice and I sure would want to fry something like this again the next time I happen to have some char siew and noodles in the house.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

16 thoughts on “Leftovers…”

  1. When I see fried bihun (or any lookalike), I think of your fried bihun with csn clams πŸ™‚
    Oh since you used some roast char siew gravy for the noodles, did it taste slightly sweet? I don’t have fish sauce at home, I only use soy sauce and oyster sauce when I fry noodles..

    Anything goes as long as it tastes good. Yes, char siew sauce is sweet, so don’t add too much – just a bit will do.

  2. I love to eat fried mee hoon and the one you cooked above look really tasty. Does the mee hoon taste different from normal mee hoon since they were made from red rice and millet?

    They’re mee, noodles…not bihun and to me, they taste like those packet egg noodles, more or less, that I would use for frying sometimes – nice but nothing different or special.

    1. Oh, since they are called vermicelli and made of rice (although red), I would say that they are mee hoon since the word mee in mee hoon means rice and not mee as in mian (noodle).

      They also looks much softer and finer than those egg noodles made from wheat and not rice.

      Yes, yes…the name on the pack is indeed bihun, vermicelli – I guess that’s the cause of the confusion. They were nothing like bihun as we know it though – the texture, the thickness, the taste – not softer, not finer…more or less like those egg or instant noodles…kind of noodles.

      But those considerations aside, yes indeed, the ones made from red rice is technically bihun (bi/bee = rice) whereas the ones made from millet is more towards wheat noodles…or mee/mian.

  3. You mentioned that there wasn’t any green vegetables compatible in the fridge. What vegetables would you say are compatible? Choy sum? Kai Lan? Cabbage? Lettuce? Beansprout (but not green)? Iceberg? broccoli? Celery?

    Choy sum would be great but I would not mind bean sprouts or thinly sliced long beans even or tomatoes. Except for the bean sprouts, the rest would add a little bit of colour…and taste as well. Lettuce or iceberg would “disappear” in the frying. Best to serve raw, say you can serve the noodles on top of a few leaves of those. Cabbage is colourless too – unless you can get those a little bit green. Never tried kai lan or celery, should be fine as well, I guess. All we had were tapioca leaves (see tomorrow’s post) and pumpkin. 😦

  4. I am always go for fried mi hun. However I think I will go for the normal Chinese mihun than this. Hehe.

    Yup, normal one’s nice – this one is like those instant noodles – look, taste and texture, all!

  5. Some foods are quite good the second time round…in fact, better! I love spaghetti better the second time round, for example. πŸ™‚

    I love noodles, never mind what kind…even spaghetti, all the pastas.

  6. All leftovers, a bit here and there can turn out to be a plate of nice fried bihun. Yes, add some greens and it would look better.

    Indeed. Too bad nothing in the fridge that morning. 😦

  7. I don’t think I can do decent fried rice/fried noodles at my place, since I use an induction cooker rather than gas cooker. The wok heat will be missing :/

    Let it burn a bit, the burnt smell will be there. πŸ˜€

  8. cool recipe … can add some siew yok as well alongside the char siew? extra porkiness, heheh! πŸ˜€

    I bought a slice of that too – that was how I got the marinade that dripped from the meat…but I was saving that to give to my MIL. She enjoys eating . Good SIL hor, me? Hehehehehe!!!!!

  9. U cook so well, teach me how to cook!!!

    Bluff, pretend only! You’re just as good or even better, I’m sure. πŸ˜‰

  10. I usually use char siew for fried rice. Next time must try it with noodles πŸ™‚

    Me too. I only used it this time as I had some leftover in the fridge and I wanted to finish off that packet of noodles for good – just can’t stand seeing things sitting there and nothing happens. 😦 Turned out pretty well, thankfully.

  11. Wow! You’ve been doing a lot of cooking!

    I love these type of rice vermicelli noodles, it looks a lot like how my late mom would make it. I can remember some of the stuff she puts inside but not all, would be nice to recreate her dish.

    Have not been going out lately so I just recorded what I cook myself to keep the blog running.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

