Not here anymore…

When it came to chicken rice, this was my favourite in town…

Chopsticks

…located among the shops behind Delta Mall here, directly opposite the huge Methodist church in the area. I loved how the rice was oily and so very fragrant and tasty but when we went that day, it turned out to be most disappointing…

Chopsticks chicken rice

Not only did it fail to please as far as the taste was concerned but it seemed like it was not completely cooked too…or maybe it was not the texture that I am more used to when cooking our own rice at home. They certainly were very generous though – each of us was served that huge amount on our plates.

There used to be a different owner and then, one fine day, I saw some new faces running the place. The previous owner said that they were his partners and he was letting them take over. That wasn’t a problem at all as all this while, they had maintained the quality and the taste and I would keep going back for more – especially for their rice, actually.

Their roast chicken, I would say, isn’t the best in town…

Chopsticks roast chicken

…and it’s the same where their roast duck…

Chopstick roast duck

…is concerned. Don’t get me wrong though – I’m not saying that they’re not good, just that there are others that would taste just as nice and some may be even better…while on the other hand, I’ve had some that are not really all that great at some places around here.

I love their char siew

Chopsticks char siew

…and their roast pork…

Chopsticks roast pork

…is as good as any that I’ve had but yes, there are pretty good ones elsewhere as well.

It was very cheap though. We had their stewed eggs, three of those, and theirs are very well done…and together with the drinks that we had, the total only came up to RM27.50…but now that the rice isn’t anything to shout about, when we feel like having chicken rice and all the roast stuff again, we probably would head some place for those…just that most likely, it would not be here anymore.