The same…

These days, whenever I feel like frying bihun, I would go and get the made-in-Thailand ones…

Thai bihun

…as I find they they’re nicer than those from China which seems to have a rather unpleasant smell when soaked and I would have to rinse it many times before use.

My cousin told me once that she would use these…

A1 bihun

…and she seemed quite happy with this brand. I bought the kway teow once and I did not like that very much as I thought it was more or less the same as bihun, just bigger and flat…and my missus, quite oblivious to the fact that I had bought it before and wasn’t too impressed by it, went and bought it again…and my opinion of it was the still same the second time around. Well, my cousin liked the fact that they came in small handy pieces so she could just take out according to the number of servings she would want to cook.

Well, both are Thai products and looking at the prices, the one I usually buy costs RM3.80 for 400 gm and this A1 one is tagged at over RM5.00 for 500 gm. I guess they would work out to more or less the same then…and the other day, I bought a packet to try. The instructions said that I should boil some water and cook the bihun for 3 minutes but I did not bother to do that. Instead, I just went about it the usual way and soaked it in hot water till it turned soft.

There weren’t any prawns in the freezer so I fried some ikan bilis (dried anchovies) and 1 sliced shallot and 2 cloves of garlic, sliced as well in a bit of oil before adding a bit of belacan (dried prawn paste) – about a teaspoon of it, followed by some pounded chili and the bihun. Then I added some fish sauce according to taste and lastly, I added two eggs and mixed everything thoroughly and lastly, I threw in a handful of taugeh (bean sprouts). Once they were cooked enough, the bihun was ready so I dished it out and served…

Belacan bihun 1

So, was it any good? I would say it was very nice but personally, I think it could do with a bit more belacan

Belacan bihun 2

…so that it would be a lot more fragrant.

As for the bihun, I do think that they’re both more or less the same so it would not matter which brand I would buy and cook in future. Does anybody happen to know of any that they feel is nicer?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

21 thoughts on “The same…”

  1. Lately, I have been consuming the corn vermicelli instead of the rice one. It has more chewy texture, pretty similar to dong fun (mung bean vermicelli).
    I saw a lot of A1 products here in my hometown but I have never seen their rice vermicelli. πŸ™‚

    Dunno if it’s the same manufacturer or not. Everyone will call their product A1, it seems and one would have to read between the lines for the actual brand name. Corn? I don’t think I’ve seen that here.

    My daughter loves those glass noodles…but didn’t I read something somewhere about those – the ones made in China? Then there was a report on the fake meat. I certainly would think twice about buying anything from there…

  2. Hmm, I din’t know meehun got unpleasant smell, hehe~ To me all meehun are the same, just depends on how we cook it :p

    The China-made ones… Oh? Well, at least you do know there are varying sizes, right? Even noodles made in the same town, uncooked, may vary from person to person – that explains why one would be more popular than the other.

  3. I like the A1 Bihun but not the kway teow…

    The kway teow, i bought once and only time… No more 2nd time…

    Same here. We had it again a second time because my missus went and bought as she was unaware that I had bought and cooked it before…and didn’t like it. 😦

  4. What a coincident I ate meehun soup for dinner yesterday and see you post about fried meehun today!!! =]

    One more post on mihun coming soon, and I had it again today…wanted to finish off that packet that I opened. Can’t stand seeing things unfinished, lying around idle.

    1. You’re like my mom, cause my aunt house has to use whole pack of meehun for praying, but no one wants to eat meehun at her place, so she gave the whole pack to my mom, my mom also said can’t see the things unfinished!!! =]

      Maybe old people are like that. I’d even throw things away if I don’t intend to cook or eat. But my missus would stuff it all in the fridge even if it’s just a small piece of leftover chicken – I would just have eaten it up. Different people, different ways.

  5. The fried bihun looks good. Never try this brand before. Always use swallow brand and use cold water to soak instead of warm water. So far, I didn’t detect any smell from the bihun or could be my nose not that sensitive.

    Maybe I’m too sensitive. I even could detect the smell in what they cooked in the shops – not all, some of them…and I never liked that.

  6. There’s another brand quite nice, springy char bee hoon (not sure if you like the bouncy texture or you would prefer the softer ones), suitable for stir fry- ζ±Ÿι—¨ζŽ’η²‰/ Kong Mun Rice Sticks, maybe you can try this brand and see πŸ˜€

    Not sure if we have that here. Will look out for it next time, thanks.

  7. No matter which brand you use, as long as it’s not from China then it’s fine. LOL! Over here, I usually use the brand Wai Wai made in Thailand also.

    Ahhhh!!!! That must be good. My cousin in Melbourne uses that brand too.

  8. I was going to ask if you added eggs, it sure looked that way. I then reread and saw that you did. Where the eggs fried and cooked along with the noodles?

    I like seeing bits of color peeking out through the noodles. This looks quite tasty. I’m sure my daughter would do her famous disappearing act if I set this before her. πŸ˜‰

    Yes, there was young and as always, I added them last. The colour would be the bits of chili and also the bean sprouts that I threw in, othert than the yellow egg and the brown fried anchovies. Watch out for my post on my 100% vegetarian version of this. I loved it so much – bet you would love it too.

  9. Yes, certain mihun are not so nice and some are really nice even if no meat is added. Nowadays my mom cooks hers separately, just lots of garlic, shallots and green vegetables, they turned out very tasty! I never tasted China brands before, over here, I normally buy local made ones, I like the
    “harimau” brand, not so fine as the Thailand brand..

    Wait for my vegetarian bihun! I thought it tasted really great. Would want to cook it like that again…

  10. Yeah some of the made in China ones do have a gritty texture and smell to it. I like how this breaks up too, it makes me think of home as my mom used to cook it the same way you do.

    Hah, goes with the title of your post! πŸ™‚

    Yup! You’re right! The China ones are rather coarse, not as fine. These are definitely nicer.

  11. I never tried out that brand before……Your fried bihun looks delicious.

    Never gone back to the made-in-China ones after I’ve tried the ones from Thailand – much nicer and I’ve grown to like the very fine ones.

  12. I saw these bihun while I’m in Thailand. I never bought one because I don’t know how to cook it. I was afraid to waste money on something that I might not eat.

    Oh? They do not have them in the Philippines? I’m sure you’ve got them there. Maybe you have not noticed them around, never tried.

  13. Oh I love this post because I often found the bihun in China’s restaurants tasted awful and smelly sometimes. Now it confirms my wild guesses that it was the some brands there which manufactured low quality bihun. My wife had the habit to buy various cup noodles in China to experiment for fun. No thanks for me!

    All the scandals about the fake meat, the plastic glass noodles (tung hoon)…and people still go for those. Maybe they’re cheaper…but no, thank you. I’d rather not eat.

  14. Your bihun look very fine and tiny. And it looks so yummy!! I am still waiting for my lunch while reading this. :(:(

    1.30 p.m. already! Ooooo…must be so hungry! πŸ˜€

  15. I like the Thai ones too. But I reckon its something to do with childhood memories of Grandma’s cooking using only Thai meehoon.

    Oh? It has been around all this while? Didn’t know that. We’ve been eating the China ones from small…and I never really lioke bihun and eventually, I detected the smell that put me off – all right after rinsing a few times though but I guess they do not bother at some places here so I would get put off by the smell in what they cook.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

