One more cup of coffee…

My cousin bought this in KK and sent it to me via poslaju

Coffee 1

…so that I would be able to have a cuppa’ freshly-brewed coffee at home…

Coffee 2

Thus, I had to make my way to this shop in town to buy some freshly-ground coffee powder. When I got there, I noticed that they had a new variety – more expensive than the most expensive in the past (RM32.00) at RM38.00 a kilo. They had the word “Brazil” written on the container so I guessed that must have come from the South American country…so I bought some of it to try.

On my way home, I realised that the coffee I had bought did not seem as fragrant as the one I used to buy – the aroma of that one would fill the whole car and stay around for a couple of days. In the case of this one, I could not smell anything at all. Well, there was nothing much I could do at that point in time as I had already bought it and I might as well take it home to give it a try.

I unscrewed the bottom part of the pot and filled it with water up to the rivets…

Coffee 3

…and then I replaced the funnel and put in it one scoop of the coffee powder…

Coffee 4

Then, I screwed it back on and placed the whole thing on the stove and lit the fire…

Coffee 5

It did not take very long to start boiling and percolate so in just a little while, my coffee was ready…

Coffee 6

Wait a minute! Didn’t it state on the box that this would make 6 cups of coffee at one go? Unfortunately, all I got was one mug – just enough for me alone…

Coffee 7

As for the coffee, it was all right – kind of mild and not the best that I have had, I must say. I would prefer my coffee stronger both in taste and fragrance so I guess I will just have to head back to the shop again sometime to get the other variety that everyone loved a lot.

Thanks, Gerrie, for going through all the trouble of getting that and sending it to me and if anyone is interested, you can see more of it in this video clip…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

30 thoughts on “One more cup of coffee…”

  1. OMG! So u put so much coffee and it only made a cup? And it’s still mild for you? Aiks…
    BTW sorry for not visiting ur blog… grandma’s in hospital =(

    Oh dear! Hope she’s ok. Take care all, God bless. It’s ok if you don’t hop over – many do it once in a while only. Will still check on on your updates. Ya…it was not strong enough for me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. but like berry troublesome need to unscrew and screw the bottom part?

    it’s okay if it brews good coffee!

    Muahahahahaha!!!! I love how you put it! No, no…no trouble at all. ROTFL!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Wei super 6 in into one cup kaw kaw adoi ada betul kah?

    Maybe I’m supposed to dilute it like they do in the coffee shops…using the sock. They pour half a glass, add water and ice….

  4. Wow Arthur! 6 cups into 1 and it’s still too diluted for you?! It’s the coffee powder or you? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Maybe it’s the powder…and I just put in a scoop. In the video, the guy filled the funnel to the brim. If I order kopi-o in the coffee shop, I would order “kau…kau…kau”! So gross hor! LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Eh…you must be one serious thick coffee drinker! That looks so thick!

    It did look a little dark… Hehehehehehe!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Arthur, maybe it is meant for 6 small cups. You know those tiny espresso cups which I cannot understand how people can drink such a tiny cup of coffee hah! hah! I must have my coffee in one big mug! Baru satisfied ๐Ÿ™‚ I have not tried brewing coffee before. All this while I have been drinking instant coffee.

    I suppose so. I drink instant too…but nothing like brewing the real thing. I’ve a percolator but that would brew six mugs – too much for one person in a day. This is just nice. A cup a day – must not over-indulge.

  7. Haha! I think the 6 cups are 6 tiny espresso cups. So I guess the priciest does not mean you’ll always get the best.

    Very true! But at least, now we know – tak kenal maka tak cinta…or tak tak cinta,. whatever the case may be. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. I have not try this before, normally if drink at home, will buy 3 in 1 to drink…

    3 in 1? When travelling I would bring along 2 in 1 only, as it is more convenient. I like it black, not into susu! Haven’t actually found one really good brand – all for the sake of “buang gian” only. What to do? Cannot find good one, no fish…prawn also can lah.

  9. RM38 for less aromatic coffee powder? Better stick to the RM32.

    Moka pot is traditionally used by the Italians for their “espressos” (apparently no such drink in Italy till the Americans coined it), served in small cups, and this one was meant for 6 little cups, or in our case, one mug. What I like about this is I can make coffee for one in a few short minutes, and don’t have to wait for coffee powder to settle.

    Enjoy your coffee!

    Yup…the RM32, just buy half kg home – the smell stays in your car for three days…as bad as durian! LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Yes, very convenient – just right for one…and no, I’m not going to sip from teeny-weeny cups that I can swallow in one mouthful. Thanks again…will certainly indulge, sip slowly and enjoy my cuppa at home now – yunno lah…all the time instant, so fast, so quick, so easy…gets boring also. Hehehehehe!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Good grief!!! I really really must stop watching Kumar on youtube. Look at what you’ve done, kay-leng!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ )

  10. Arthur is meant for you to drink it at one shot not whole mug like that ha ha we too like making our Italian cappuccino in that machine. Fast and easy with not much washing.

    Aiyor!!! Me kopi tiam one – “Gelat tua tua air!” (Big glass one) How to expect me to drink those tiny cups? Not syiok lah like that – one gulp, all gone…cannot feel even…how to enjoy? Hey!!! I’m talking about the coffee, ok? Muahahahahaha!!!! (Don’t blame me! Blame Kumar! Was watching him…her…ah…whatever lah…on youtube before I hopped back here to reply to the comments. LOL!!!!)

  11. While my mom and my siblings are coffee lovers, I am one of the different ones in the family who have not learn how to enjoy drinking it yet… Normally most of the coffee lovers start off their day with a cup or two… but as for me, I love the coffee aroma though… very “heong”…. ๐Ÿ™‚

    That reminds me of the opium smuggling in the 50s. The customs would confiscate and burn it in the incinerator at the port…and you would see all the labourers sitting in the direction of the smoke…breathing in all the fumes and having their opium fix. LOL!!!

  12. I am a coffee lover and like to have it “kaw kaw”. If too diluted, I feel that I am drinking “longkang chui” (drain water).1 cup per day for me only and that is the first cup in the morning to boost me up, hehehe.

    Me too! One, first thing in the morning and maybe another for 3/4 p.m. afternoon tea. The rest of the day, optional.

  13. I don’t like coffee but I like Vietnamese coffee.. very sedap. I used to get terrible headache if I drink coffee but getting better now. My Pakcik on the other hand, loves his coffee and he can drink even before bedtime and can still sleep soundly right after that. Those tiny cups of very kaw coffee you find everywhere in cafes in Italy which is very bitter also no effect on him!

    I love your Pakcik’s Nespresso…and the little capsules. But it also makes a cup at a time – each cup is so very nice though. Miss that! Not a fan of Vietnamese – my niece bought me two huge packets of the best…and in the end, I threw them all away. Next time you all come – I will brew our coffee and let you all try – see nice or not. Best lah!!!

    Headache when you drink coffee? Reminds me of this lady who had eye ache everytime she drank tea. Told doctor but he could not find anything wrong with her. Problem persisted so the doctor made her a cup of tea and asked her to drink and let him see. After she had done that, the doctor said, “Lady, when you drink tea, remember to take the teaspoon out of the cup!!!” Muahahahaha!!!! This is beginning to seem like stand-up comedy day… ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. I am a coffee person. I love coffee with milk. No milk also fine for me.
    But then, I can’t have any tea or coffee after 4pm, otherwise I may need to stay awake and talk to the moon.

    4 pm? That’s early. In my case, not at night…for coffee and tea, it’s because it makes me want to go to the toilet all night long.

  15. It looks very convenient especially for one or two coffee drinkers in the house.

    Yes, and you do not end up drinking too much unlike when using a coffee maker or percolator that will brew so many cups at one go.

  16. well it’s good to have freshly brewed coffee,
    i mean i always had those instant mix
    haha it was more convenient and cheap

    Yup, me too – very convenient…but as for cheap, I’m not too sure. Nescafe is quite pricey here… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  17. hmm that’s a very handy tool huh
    unlike those other which seems complicated to use

    Yes…and it does not run on electricity. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. so professional looking! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think i wouldnt know how to brew this, used the nescafe gusto thingy, so much simpler. ๐Ÿ˜€

    sorry, have been MIA for quite some time, but i’m trying to get back into the fray soon. Expect more baby posts soon, since i’m halting all my events for the time being ๐Ÿ™‚ ..

    Nespresso? More or less the same, I would say…still have to fill in the water and can brew a cup at a time – the conical capsules are very convenient though but have to buy online PLUS it’s not available here and I am sure it is very expensive. No wonder you have so many bonus points on your credit card to exchange for very nice gifts.

    Yes, yes, settle down…upgraded to father status now – that calls for a complete change in lifestyle, can’t be partying away like those young singles anymore.

  19. He is making 6 small cups, with milk! But you make a huge mug without milk! hahaha.

    I have to be extra careful with coffee as I am caffeine intolerance. At one time, I made myself a cup from 3-in-1 Indo coffee, my blood pressure went to to almost 200! Can get a stroke if I am not careful.

    The first time I drank cappuccino coffee in Holland, I was shocked to find that the cup was no bigger than my thumb. But I liked it so much. So I drank a couple of cup that evening. Guess what, I couldn’t sleep the whole night!

    LOL!!! Yes, moderation in everything, that is the key…especially people at our age. Can’t over-indulge.

  20. I rate myself as a coffee addict or hardcore drinker. So your pot got my eyebrows raised! Tell me why you are so popular that everyone sends you gifts from every corner of the planet! I salute you lah! If you stand for elections in Sibu, you might get elected to be the Food Minister easily!

    Don’t ask me – I never asked but the things don’t stop coming… I guess God is merciful and I am truly blessed.

  21. still not Kaw enough? Then it must be the kopi powder. Dont drink so much kopi at this moment as you having acupunture coz kopi have “wind”.

    Yakah? Aiyor…this is worse than I thought. Now, nothing left that I can drink or eat. Sobssss!!!!!

  22. hmmmm..i can smell the coffee here…

    AH! Last week i was just tell someone about this shop selling the coffee powder, but i said i forgot what is the shop name and where is it. And the aunty ( my brother’s wife mother) said buy Chun Seng one also very nice. Ok, i should get some on my next trip back.

    Yup! Choon Seng also sells theirs but I hear the quality’s not as good anymore. Haven’t gone for a while now.

  23. Nice percolator! I like the local coffee beans too.

    I wonder if you can put some butter it it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Used to do that when I was small – add butter to my coffee. They use butter in the roasting of the beans for the extra fragrance but these days, as butter is so expensive, they mix it with margarine.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

