You and I both…

Yes, you and I both have it – you have yours and I/we have mine/ours.

I have had har/hay mee (prawn noodles) in Penang at this cafe and the one opposite…and also the celebrated, much-acclaimed one here and I also had it before at a stall in Tabuan Jaya in Kuching that they said was run by some guy from Penang.

I didn’t know of any being sold here in Sibu until I spotted a stall at this coffee shop right below the hotel where my West Malaysian blogger-friends stayed when they were in town and the other morning, I decided to drop by and give it a try…

Sibu har mee 1

Was it good?

Well, it certainly was very nice – not too strong as far as the prawn smell was concerned. If it had been too overpowering, one may get put off by it even though the broth may be really sweet and tasty.

I loved the sambal that they gave…

Sibu har mee 2

…though I wished they had given more. That was really spicy and it did wonders to make the noodles taste a whole lot better.

However, I thought that with the price fixed at RM6.00 a bowl, I could feel the pinch even though the portion was quite big and there were a lot of prawns in it. I certainly would not be having it too regularly, you can bet on that…and to make sure that I got my money’s worth, I finished it to the last drop…

Sibu har mee 3

LOL!!!

It seems that the stall also sells curry noodles and handmade noodles (pan Β mien)Β but I’m afraid those will have to wait till another day…

And moving on from the post proper, I got this award from my blogger-friend, Opal, in the US of A…

Versatile blogger award

Thanks so much, Opal. I’m glad you enjoy reading what I write (even though it’s mostly about food…and those that are native to my part of the world at that) and thanks for dropping by regularly to post a comment or two. It’s so very nice and sweet of you really.

And having said that, I’m supposed to do the following:
Thank the person who gave you this award.
Include a link to their blog.
Next, select 15 bloggers that you follow regularly or have recently discovered.
Nominate those bloggers for the Versatile blogger-award.
Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Ok, I’ve done the 1st one and also the 2nd – I’ve had two links, in fact, one to the blog and the other to the specific post on the award. I think I’ll skip the 3rd and the 4th one…and go straight to the 5th.

Hmmmmm…7 things about myself that you may not know about me – here goes!
1 I had my tonsils removed when I was five years old.
2 I was caned by my teacher in Primary 2/Year 2 because I turned to talk to a friend at another table. Tsk! Tsk!
3 I was hopeless at Mathematics in school but thankfully, I managed to pass the subject in the exams.
4 I broke my wrist when I was 14, I think…and my arm when I was over 40.
5 Countries that I have visited include the UK, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Hongkong, the Philippines, Thailand, Indonesia, Australia and New Zealand. I have never been to the USA.
6 My missus & I spent our honeymoon in Manila and Baguio.
7 Upon leaving school, I wanted to be a flight steward (Of course, I was slim then!!!) or a radio announcer. None of my dreams came true… Sigh!!!

So, there you have it! Done! LOL!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

47 thoughts on “You and I both…”

  1. Awwwww you left out the sordid details! Mwahahahaha

    I love har mee too, especially when the soup is full of prawn taste. There used to be a mobile hawker riding his “stall-on-three-wheels” around the Klang residential areas whose prawn mee was unbeatable. We would eat even though just right after dinner, yelling him to stop and running out of the house with our bowls. Sadly, he just disappeared. Rumour has it that he passed away after having a heart attack. So sad coz he was presumably only in his early 50s.
    +Ant+

    The skeletons in my closet? Hmmm…it would take a lot more than this to unearth those, my friend. Muahahahahaha!!!!

    Ya…that was what, they say, had happened to the claypot noodles guy here. Loved his noodles a lot! 😦

  2. That looks sooo good. RM 6 is way better than the RM 30 (or is it RM 50 now?) Ming Kong is charging for their prawn noodles. πŸ™‚

    Yup! Much nicer than MK’s. Last I heard it was RM25…and it’s actually Foochow-style noodle soup with a couple of freshwater prawns. Really not worth it…plus you’ll get an overdose of msg! This is so much better, take my word for it!

  3. HAHAHAHAHAHA, i like the way u post the “before” and “after” photos of the prawn noodles

    That speaks volumes!!! There have been stuff whereby I could not even finish half a bowl… 😦

  4. wow they actually gave you a one whole hard boiled egg? Usually we only get half the egg here and that’s enough too.

    Hehehehehe!!! I love eggs, in whatever form…so no complaint. πŸ˜‰

  5. wow..the prawn noodles looks yummy.
    So at last…you become a teacher…not bad also mah.

    Sigh!!! And all those years of blood, sweat and tears…and look at what I’ve got in the end – nothing. Thank God I have my measly pension to keep me going day to day… 😦

  6. indeed quite expensive, RM6 for such a bowl of prawn noodles?? hmmm, perhaps because of the prawns they use?? the one i use to have just outside my house looks a lot better but at RM4 only…

    Well, they have prawns in the laksa that I had…but those were very small and there were very few. Minus the egg, I guess the price would be something around RM5.00… Still high, so you can expect that I would not be having that very often. Would just go for some cheaper stuff around – also nice!

  7. another licin bowl…
    you really make sure that you get every sen that you paid..
    i bet it was a very good prawn noodles….
    I seldom eat prawn noodles .. I heard that in order to make the taste good..
    they blend the prawn shell and put it in the soup .. just to have a prawn kau kau taste..

    I saw with my own eyes at the famous place in Penang – they were closing for the day and they were pouring away the remaining broth (into the drain outside the shop!!!)…and I saw all the heads and the all the shell! The smell was quite off-putting and it smelled like they had boiled bubuk (dried shrimps) in it. That’s what I meant by it being overpowering and off-putting. Sometimes, too much isn’t really that great!

  8. RM6 is reasonably priced if it’s in KL, but i dont think i can finish such big bowl alone πŸ™‚

    Latest: FiSh Castle

    It is? Thank goodness I don’t live in KL. Oh? I can imagine that you must be very slim, not like me. LOL!!! πŸ˜‰

  9. So these are the 7 things we Don’t know about u…. except for the honeymoon, that one i know…. lol…
    About the prawn mee, the seller must be very happy with your “soupless” bowl..that proves that his prawn mee is a success! πŸ™‚

    Oh? You know where we went on our honeymoon? Ya, I enjoyed the prawn mee a lot. Wouldn’t mind having that again… πŸ™‚

  10. Hungry! You finished that all by yourself? lol. Congrats on the award. πŸ™‚ its still a dream job coz it didnt come true. cheer up!

    Sobssss!!! I guess that’s what it will remain – just a dream. Hey! Isn’t that the title of Nelly’s song? πŸ˜‰

  11. The prawn noodles look good! Certainly missing them over here.. but I actually found the last part of your post most interesting!! You wanted to be a flight steward???!! Can you please post a picture of yourself when you’re young and thin? πŸ˜› hehehee

    I think I had a few in my older posts and you can see a couple in my Facebook album. Slim and tall… LOL!!!

  12. Why oh why you must torture people every single day?? I love prawn mee but don’t like the prawns on top..hehehe. When I was still living in Malaysia, there is no good prawn mee in Melaka and often they don’t served it with the sambal which in my opinion is a must. Don’t like the ones I had in Penang either…whether famous or not. I like the ones they sell in KL especially the ones in Taipan Subang Jaya. Nowadays I have a few packets of the segera paste in my pantry…as good as in Malaysia. After all, beggers can’t be choosers, right?

    Oh? You don’t like the prawn on top? So it must be at the bottom? Muahahahahahaha!!!!! There! I’ve found something nice – you can go and eat this when you’re in town. Hurry! Hurry! So many nice things for you to eat lor… πŸ˜‰

  13. hmmmm..i am not a fan of prawn mee too. I am in KL for over 20 years, but till now i still don’t take this prawn mee and assam laksa! I don’t mind Ming Kong prawns mee, but not so into it la.

    Oh..i didn’t know you want to be a flight steward when you’re young!! ahhahahha..But become teacher also not bad ma, see how famous you’re in Sibu town!!! Even the makcik at bandung, who is a principal or teacher, also recognised you!! tsk tsk tsk

    That one, no money…what for? LOL!!! You can try this prawn mee in Sibu. I am not really a fan either…but I really like this one…and you can pass me the sambal which I am sure you will not want. LOL!!! πŸ˜€

  14. Helloooo πŸ™‚

    Mmmmm, looks good. Prawn noodle is supposed to smell and taste prawny mah…where got smelly?? Sniff sniff…smells good to me πŸ™‚ Why Shereen no likey the prawns on top? Maybe she means the prawns are too hairy / leggy, keh keh!!! I am no tea-leaf reader but I can read empty bowls and yours say…”here is one great man who knows his food”.

    Thank you, thank you… I’ve already sent something to you via poslaju this morning – guaranteed to arrive tomorrow. As for it when you check in at the hotel on Wednesday. Will sms you further details. I don;t know why I love belacan, cicaluk, everything smelly…but not hay mee where the broth is too strong like they boiled bubuk or udang kering in it. Doesn’t taste really great either… Enjoy all you can eat in Penang!!! You need directions as to where to eat or not?

  15. Flight steward? Can mah, why you tak pass? Good height, good looks… πŸ˜‰ Most of the male cabin crew these days seriously cannot lah…something missing somehow!! Radio announcer? Eh, can can! I can imagine you with a croony voice going “…and a very good night to you, my little darlings…”. And you’d fade off (on the radio lah, not y-o-u fade off lah!) with “I KenLee….” muahahahaaa!

    Yalor… I would be great at either of these two jobs. What to do? Not fated… Destined to become an old boring and grouchy teacher….Sobssss!!!!!!

    1. You can still be a radio announcer now, have you thought about it? I believe the possibility is there.

      Old man, nobody wants lah… 😦

      1. Eh, Yoong. Arthur already told you that he has sent his BIG parcel to you via poslaju and guarantee will arrive tomorrow…no need to butter his balls ( oppssss!!!) anymore…lol! Where are you now anyway? Been very quiet without yooooooo……

        I just sent the small item even though I have bought the BIG one – scared lost in the mail. The big one, I’ll keep at home – will give to her if she comes to Sibu to collect personally. If she doesn’t, I can always give to anybody who comes… Hehehehehehe!!!!!

      2. Wei!!! I want both small AND big!! The pressies lah, Shereen. Haha, even whilst I am on hols, the minute I surface on the scene, you already so cheeky…marks deducted for bad behaviour! Muahaha!!!

        The big one actually must go with the two small ones that I am sending you… Now that you are not getting the big one, you do not have the complete thing lor… Will have to wait till you come to Sibu and get it yourself. Hehehehehehe!!!! Don’t want to come? Never mind – I will enjoy using the big one…and you can be happy with your small ones. Muahahahaha!!!! πŸ˜€

      3. Perhaps the wonderful Arthur will take my BIG pressie to Auckland and send from there…or maybe I pick up from Auckland, heh heh!!!

        If you want it, here its is…come and get it. You know that oldie by the group, Badfinger? πŸ˜‰

  16. I will empty my bowl of soup too every time I ate har mee. I love har mee to bits! Just had this yesterday morning.

    As they say, it’s a sin to waste…and for young people, the old folks say their spouse’s face will be just as smooth. LOL!!!

  17. Don’t know that one, but I know their Day After Day…”looking out from my lonely gloom, day after day”. I think I was having a crush on my No.4 brother’s friend then, hahahaaaaa!! Have I got the lyrics right?

    Wah! Small-small already gatal kah? Muahahahahaha!!!!! Yup, that’s their hit too…and another one was “Carry on till tomorrow”. Not many hit songs, that band.

  18. You broke your arm in Sunway Lagoon! Right right? The prawn noodles looks so yum I think I’ll sip it till the very last drop too!

    Yup…and had to go for surgery and they refused to compensate…and I never went back there again, never will. Ya…I’m sure you would – it was very nice.

  19. flight steward.. my dream too, unfortunately i was told bespectacled guys cant go for it :(..

    been so busy these few days 😦 ..

    wow, gratz on the award ya!

    Thanks. You too? I thought they are not so strict now? Can wear corrective lenses?

  20. not a fan of har mee but it certainly looks delicious. Wooo..u had ur tonsils removed? I heard it will grow back.

    That’s what they say…but it’s ok. Not a problem my whole life through…

  21. Hi, wah… the hay mee look like to die for type, and the soup??? Really value for money lei, until the last drop. LOL

    Congrat on your award.
    Thanks for sharing 7 things about yourself, now that I know you better. You sure 1 fun and interesting gentleman in Sibu!

    Have a nice day.

    Thanks. Me, fun? ummmm…no comment! LOL!!! Yup, the har mee was great! Slurps!!!

  22. Well, I’d say you enjoyed that dish. It looks great!

    As a child, I loved boiled eggs, and was thrilled when my mother would occasionally add them to various noodle dishes; it made those home-cooked meals even more special, you know?

    Always nice to hear personal tidbits about your blogging pals, so thanks for sharing some with us.

    It was. As a vegan, I guess you do not take eggs either – I’ve heard some who do not talk milk products as well. I wonder if you do… Well, for one thing, the eggs help add volume to a dish…especially where there isn’t much meat to go round.

    1. As a vegan I don’t eat dairy. meat, fish, or eggs products; but I still make them for others. πŸ˜‰ When I made the switch in 1992, I thought I’d miss them, but I don’t; my body just functions better this way, everyones different though… occasionally I do think about my last dish which was crabs that I’d made, hee hee. πŸ˜‰ They were very good

      Ok, no diary as well. I hope to think of something nice that I can cook and you can eat it. πŸ˜‰

      1. Whoops I did it again..
        I put my email where the name should be… could you change that pretty please? This is a sign that I need to sleep; have had about four hours of sleep for the past few days, hee hee.

        Ok, done! Sleep tight…sweet dreams! πŸ˜‰

  23. laaa…apa pasal tarak bawak me go eat this…I love prawns noodles leh

    I didn’t know about it that – just discovered…and it is just downstairs, right below the hotel where you all were staying. Come, come again…but unfortunately, papakucing doesn’t want to stay there anymore – no lift! LOL!!!

  24. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE prawn mee. Can’t find any that can come near to those in Penang. I trust your taste, that bowl of prawn mee must be darn good! Me too, when I eat a bowl of really good prawn mee, I will sapu all the soup. How come you did not pursue your dreams but it is also good, if not, I might not have known you.

    Penang, I like the one here:
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2010/12/26/hes-the-man/
    Those I had elsewhere – just so-so…and these that I had here, I thought they’re really good too.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

