I’m back again…

Well, I was back again at this restaurant last Saturday night as my sister-in-law came to town and we took her out for dinner.

Of course, we had the must-haves – the butter scotch prawns…

Ruby butter scotch prawns

…and the sea cucumber soup…

Ruby sea cucumber soup

…and the fried cangkuk manis with egg.

We also had their sweet and sour fish fillet…

Ruby sweet & sour fish fillet

…that my in-laws like a lot and they love this dish of mixed beans fried with lots of belacan (dried prawn paste) and pork belly…

Ruby mixed beans with belacan & pork belly

It had been a while since the last time I had their braised pork belly…

Ruby braised pork belly

…and it seemed a shade darker than before – it used to be pinkish red. Tastewise, it was good before…and now I would say that it was just as good or perhaps a bit better. Unfortunately, they did not serve it with mantao (steamed buns) like they used to – I ย love stuffing the buns with the meat and eating them. Yummmmmm!!!!

All in all, the bill came up to RM98.00 for six persons and considering that we had prawns and sea cucumber, that would be quite reasonable as a whole.

P.S.:
A thousand apologies for the blurry pics – lighting at the place was not exactly great and it did not help one bit that I had to snap the photographs in a hurry…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “I’m back again…”

  1. No worries about the photos. The food still looks yummy to me. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hey!!! Glad to see you here! Thought you said you would be MIA for a while. Well, if you have to, don’t stay away too long… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Ya…whole family sick liao so i tot wanna get a really gd rest…but after i woke up around 3am earlier i couldn’t go back to sleep…lol…so decided to kaypo here la. Lol. Haizzz… U oso must take good care of urself. Sick season now. Kucing and anak oso sick…mommyling’s anak oso sick and a lot of my blogger and fb friends oso sick. Flu,fever, cough…haizz…very chamz.

      Oh dear! Oh dear! Take care, everybody. Get well soon….

  2. Wow all of the dishes looked good. I would have been very happy even with the sea cucumber soup alone; it being a cold wet season whereby hot soupy broth is my choice of food! I think minus the mantao is ok too coz the pork belly would go well with a bowl of hot steaming rice, no? Hmmmmm
    +Ant+

    No plans to hop over here to Sibu for a spin? I can treat you to all this and more…. Long weekend coming up ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Now,please tell me,what is the difference between “butter prawns” and “butter scotch prawns” I am eager to find out the truth cos I know the former and have got no single idea of the latter, can share ka?

    You ask Shereen lah! Butter prawns, we can get anywhere and everywhere. This butter scotch prawns is the towkay neo’s secret recipe… Shereen loved it so much! She and her family ate sampai menjilat jari….and you cannot get the same anywhere else in Malaysia and beyond. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Not only jilat jari..kering-kontang the plate..tak payah cuci..hahaha.The best prawn dish i have ever eaten..if son and hubby approved..sure very good.A must try!

      See! I don’t tell lies one… When I say good, it is good. When I say, no good…or so-so…better skip, no need to try. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Looks like you like that place. Myself, I would never go back to it again, not after that Indon ‘tapah’ dish.

    Older and wiser… Will never order their steamed fish ever again…and anyway, steamed fish, we can get anywhere. Must go only for their specialties… But that night, full house (All Souls’ weekend)…and I saw many having steamed fish… Of course, I would not order – once bitten, twice shy.

  5. Yummy, such scrumptious feast, all the dishes look so delicious especially the butter scotch prawns!

    Yes, one of their specialties – a must have if dropping by there for a meal… ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Such torture to see these in the morning! Blurry or not.. they are seductive! hahaha..
    By the way, did your in laws ask you why you kept taking pictures? Or they already know you are a prominent blogger in Sibu? :p

    That’s why I had to take the photos very fast before anyone could dive in… They thought I was taking photographs just for fun like our nephews and nieces… They also do that and put on Facebook… Young people do that a lot.

  7. When I think of butterscotch, I think of butterscotch cookies. ๐Ÿ˜€ … The pictures still look good to me. I’m drooling now even though I just had my breakfast.

    Yup…I love butter scotch ice cream too. Yummmm!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. wah i miss the sea cucumber soup in sarawak. it’s so cheap (the price). i remembered it cost less than 20buck for a bowl which enough to serve five!

    Can’t get the same there? You were at Ruby once – nice, eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. wow, every dish does look nice and yummy to me!! no wonder you were going back there again.. i just love the sea cucumber soup and the mixed beans, maybe can wallop two bowls of rice for that~~ :p

    Come, come to Sibu and I’ll treat you to all that and more… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Nevermind the looks of the pics, blur or not. All I can say is the dishes looks scrumptious and heavenly. Alamak!!…the braised pork belly looks so fatty. No thanks, I don’t want it. You can have all by yourself. Only RM98.00 for all, it is cheap!!..cheap…cheap.

    Yum! Yum! I love the fat….but of course, must eat once in a while only. Can’t indulge too often… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cheap eh? Ok lah…maybe a bit more expensive than before but still all right.

  11. Sweet and sour anything is yum. Deep fried fish in sweet and sour sauce = yum yum. Already hungry leh and it’s only 11.36am. You lah, so bad!

    Frankly, I’m just ok with those outside. I only like my missus’ sweet and sour black pomfret the best (but not the pork). It seems people from overseas love sweet and sour anything a lot…

  12. The butter scotch prawns, a must when in Sibu, OK noted in my 555 buku. Bananaz lupp prawns and those supposedly pinkish red pork belly got tanned nowadays? Not much of a difference looks brownish but got a bit fatty feeling, guess while ‘on live’ the feeling not the same any more but wallop lah belakang kira..muahahaha.

    Just come. I know all the best in town and I’ll take you to try all… You will not be disappointed, I tell you… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Wow! All my favourite food. Especially that sea cucumber soup, yum yum!!

    Tummy growling, go and hunt for my food now.

    I like Ruby’s sea cucumber soup the best in town. Sweet Family’s good too…but not on our last visit – so sour, not nice. Maybe a new chef…or chef not in good mood. LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. How come no belacan midin ( saliva on overdrive now..lol! ) and no honey lemon lamb ( lupa the real nama )? Ohhh…the sea cucumber soup…slurp!slurp! How come you never order the pork and the mixed bean dishes for us that day?..and also the fish fillet which Justyn would definately love? Actually hor, Simon,Justyn and myself were talking that night that we could eat more…and Simon say he wanted to order other dishes but so segan..hahaha. It’s not because we were hungry but the food was so darn delicious and nice and unique. We all agreed that besides the Teochew restaurant in Malacca which is our favourite, Ruby is our next favourite…very susah to get that status in my family,you know.

    What happened to the Tapah fish that Phillip was talking about? I think I’ve read about that particular incident but please refresh my mind. Whatever bad experience you had at Ruby, it still remains our favourite..hehehe…masih teringat-ingat the midin belacan…darn shiok!

    The tapah…well, we told them we did not want a lot as there were only three of us, so they said they would give us a slice…and what came out was one HUGE chunk. It wouldn’t be so bad if it had been nice…bit it was bland and tough. So tasteless, a real disappointment…and that dinner did not come cheap. I always believe that it is ok to be expensive if it is really nice and really worth it – that dinner was not. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Oh? Should have told me you all wanted more. Haiyar!!! You ang moh…also pretend to be shy-shy like Foochows one kah? Never mind! Next time you come, we’ll order a lot! That night, I did not want to order the same things you had…so that I could post on the dinner mah! Cannot lah post the same things over and over again…. Must tukar selera a bit… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. nampak yummy ye..but why i takde selera ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    You’re in the family way mah! Good thing it does not make you throw up… Maybe if you smell it, you would. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. So now what you are saying is that the “butter scotch prawns” is the towkay’s neo recipe, so not like everyone knows kind of recipe lah, betul ka? Now I know, here in Penang, I also got,”Fried Kankung Paya Terubong” “Ikan Bakar ala Farlim” some more some more got,” Fried Rice Telur Kampung Melayu” geng lah juga kan? kekekekkekekekekeke

    Ummm…you’ve been drinking? Ya…I asked her for the recipe and she said it was a secret, she would not tell…

  17. Glad you are back again! Hahaha…. The prawns and the pork belly ….fuiyoh…. Dont eat so much!

    Yes, sir! Yes, sir! Especially the fatty pork belly. LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. Butterscotch prawns sounded like a Quay Lo dish. Must be cooked with butter and brown sugar. Since I do not know when I go Sibu, I must go buy some prawns and experiment with them to see what kind of taste I come out with. If taste good, I will share the recipe:D Wish me luck!

    Good luck! If it’s any help, I am quite sure there is a bit of condensed milk in it…

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

