Best of both worlds…

I’ve always loved the Indonesian nasi padang…and many of their specialties and I’ve always been a fan of Indian cuisine so you can imagine my delight when I heard that they were going to open this place in town…

CafeInd Sibu 1

They’ve started their business already but it’s just a soft opening and they’re not really in full swing as yet…

CafeInd Sibu 2

Presently, it is open from Thursday to Tuesday from 6.00 p.m. to 10.00 p.m. In other words, it is closed on Wednesday every week.

The place looks pleasant enough…

CafeInd Sibu 3

…but of course, the most important thing would be the food.

I had the naan (RM4.00)…

CafeInd naan

…which was nice and fragrant but I thought was a bit too thin and it certainly did not come cheap.

The mutton masala (RM12.00)…

CafeInd mutton masala

…wasn’t too bad. There were many pieces of the meat in it but according to reliable sources, they have been instructed to tone down the tastes to suit the general public in Sibu who may not be that accustomed to such exotic fare. Hence, I thought it lacked the aroma of the spices usually present in Indian dishes and I had expected it to have the slight sourish taste of yogurt but there wasn’t any. All in all, it came across like…lamb or mutton curry but a very nice one at that.

My missus picked the ayam penyetย (RM12.00) from the Indonesian menu…

CafeInd ayam penyet

…and I must say that they deserved a pat on the back for the presentation.

The chicken was very nice and the sambal too but I prefer the rice wrapped in some kind of leaf like what we had at this place…and the sambal at this one was better as it had a stronger taste of belacan. Here, one major disappointment for us would be the fact that everything was not spicy enough…but we were told that if we would like it to be spicier, we could tell them when ordering and they would attend to our request.

Frankly, I would think that if one wants to open an exclusive, classy cafe, one would have to think about an exclusive, classy menu as well…and not something that is available at every other coffee shop and roadside stall or at least, one should try to make it somewhat different and extra special. And talking about the menu, I do wish they would have something more presentable than those clear folders. Tsk! Tsk! But then again, it’s just their soft opening, so probably that’s only temporary…

I saw a lady having the tandoori chicken and it looked like something worth trying. Unfortunately, that would have to wait till my next visit to the place. For one thing, they had real flowers…

CafeInd 4

…unlike the tacky plastic ones that they had here so I would give them 5 bonus marks for that. LOL!!!

All things considered, the place was all right, the food wasn’t too bad…but I would think it was a bit on the expensive side and there were not many items on the menu to choose from. Perhaps they would have more when they’ve really got the ball rolling, I wouldn’t know…but I understand that they are planning to have some kind of nasi campur or fast food kind of thing for lunch. I would love to drop by then and see what else they may have to offer when that happens…

In the meantime, in case anybody is interested in giving the place a try, it is located at Lai Chee Lane – the first two shops in the block immediately behind the Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN) branch in Sibu. Go ahead and see if you like it…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

29 thoughts on “Best of both worlds…”

  1. Interesting concept, two countries combined simply of because they start with the same three letters. Wonder who’s opening all these exotic places in Sibu.

    I know one of the co-owners, used to live in Oz…and I know the Indian chef’s from Northern India, dunno about the Indon ones…

  2. looks nice but certainly not cheap!
    people in sibu couldn’t eat too spicy?
    and yeah certainly a plus for the real flower. =D

    Not the traditional Foochows. I too learnt to take spicy food very late – in my 20s in Singapore, mingling with my friends from Penang….

  3. hahaha, indian and indonesian cuisine under one roof, that’s interesting!! so how’s the ayam penyet going with the naan?? or the massala mutton with the rice?? hmmm, i can imagine they make a perfect match actually.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Not really compatible, I would say… I would just go with one or the other.

  4. Wow.. Sibu really got lots of food varieties! But I still prefer chinese cuisine.. so when.. when.. when can I go? *grins*

    Ya…I know, you are a die-hard fan of Chinese food. Not very adventurous, eh? Never mind when… I wouldn’t ask anymore. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. RM4 for that naan is too expensive..

    Yup… They should give a small bowl of mushroom masala or curry gravy for the dip and charge more, say RM6.00 – RM8.00…and then it would not feel so bad.

  6. Yeah, the food certainly looks good but tad to expensive to me… anyway, once in a while is ok! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yup, places like these – can reserve for special occasions or when there are friends from other places visiting… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I think indian cuisine can be rather expensive…is it because of the expensive spices?

    I think so…and I heard the Indian chef is a very fussy one and everything has to be specially ordered and he would not cook until his demands have been met.

  8. Certainly looks like a nice place but it’s a bit too expensive for me… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The title “best of both worlds” reminds me of the song by Miley Cyrus. I used to like her songs but not anymore

    Never mind. I can take you there when you’re home, my treat. ๐Ÿ˜‰ All my blogpost titles are names of songs, some famous, some not really… I have not heard Miley’s…but I knew the song long ago by the same title by Lulu – nice one.

    1. Lulu? Is she the same lady who sings ‘To Sir, With Love’?

      Yup! Two songs by her that I like – “Best of both worlds” and “Oh me, oh my”. Should be available on youtube…

    2. Wow.. So generous of you. I should treat you to a meal as well. Let that be your birthday/Christmas pressie from me…if I remember correctly your birthday is in December? So you are a food AND music expert! Multitalented yea? Hehe

      Ummmm….you’re still a student, right? Wait till you’re working and earning big bucks….and then, you can give me a treat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Sibu is such a happening place…so many delicious food.

    Ask Shereen…and she’ll tell you – Sibu has EVERYTHING! A lot more to offer than many other places…

  10. You are fast. Someone just SMSed me about this place and it’s on your blog today.I love Indian cuisine so must try…

    LOL!!! Do read between the lines… Between the two, the Indian cuisine would be a better choice – that’s my honest opinion.

  11. exotic STP ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve always loved the curries from indian cuisine, mutton being the favourite. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice writeup on the restaurant. Did you tell the owner you helped him to promote? XD

    Nope. I don’t think he’s very tech-savvy – and I don’t think he knows about my blog. Told him to have a page on Facebook…and he did not seem very keen. Up to him lah…. Not my business. You like? KIV the place then – can take you there when you come to Sibu… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. I’ve seen people selling ayam penyet here… but dono why, not really tempted to try. o.O Dono whether it’s the presentation or wud(mostly looks ok… not messy or wud)… duzzin have the pulling factor and always end up having the regular nasi ayam instead. Nasi ayam penyet nice kah? Better than the regular nasi ayam?

    It depends on the chicken and the sambal for the ulam – in the case of many, it’s just fried chicken and it’s not penyet or clobbered…and with plain rice and not so nice sambal, I think it would be better to just stick to chicken rice. Yet to find the best in town – one that I would say, “This is it!!! Must bring people here to eat!” So far, all ok, not bad…not great – might as well go for the bryani I had the other day. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  13. The ayam penyet looks like a good set of meal. I definitely like it. Prefer chic soft inside and cripsy outside. RM4 for that naan is way too expensive….and not to mention I love those flowers!……hmmmmmmm

    Yup! Any idea how much they charge for a piece of naan at the Indian restaurants in Kuching? I think theirs are thicker and more chewy. The ayam penyet looks good…but I don’t think we would have that again on our next visit…if you get what I mean.

  14. The ayam penyet set look very mewah..and well presented but I don’t like ayam penyet although I love nasi padang. Northern Indian cuisine memang expensive compared to Southern Indian cuisine and usually the northern Indian ones are also not as spicy as the southern indian ones. My family and I adore Northern Indian cuisine…yum,yum!I however think that to have Indian and indonesian cuisine under one roof is a bit off la…hahaha….tak ngam langsung!
    Anyways, had the mee daddy, chicken flavour 2 nights ago….with Lucy’s super sedap hay bee ( simon sorok some for himself as i have been digging into it endlessly..lol). I think I prefer the curry flavour…more oomph!…but still sedap!

    You bought the hay bee…so can make your own sambal lor! Not difficult, I also can make. The other option – come to Sibu, ask Lucy to make a lot for you to take home. Hehehehehe!!!! Yup…the chicken flavour is milder – something like Sibu kampua mee, the soup version…but not for those who prefer stronger tastes. Students overseas from Sibu would often send a message home, “Mummmmyyyy!!!! I want Mee Daddddyyyy!!!!” LOL!!! My brother would take home to Auckland by the carton…but they like the chicken flavour – not so hebat like us when it comes to eating. Wink! Wink! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Muahahahaha!!!!!!

    Me too… Nasi padang anytime, the spicier the better…and eat until berpeluh-peluh, basah all over! Sooooo nice! Itu baru enjoy! Yup…if this is the best of Indonesian cuisine that they have to offer, they might as well forget about it…and stick to Indian 100%. I hear the Indian chef would not share a kitchen because the Indons cook beef…

  15. if i go to this place, i would order ayam penyet instead of indian food ๐Ÿ™‚
    they got nasi padang as well??

    You’ve had your fill of Indian food, I guess. No nasi padang at the moment…but hopefully, when the business is in full swing. Been a long long time since I had that. Yummmmm!!!!

  16. I agree with you that they have to start serving dishes not easily found, coz the naan and masala mutton is readily available most mamak or indian stalls. The common dishes plus pricey charge will be a turn off to customers.
    +Ant+

    Sibu, only two Indian mamak places selling bryani, canai and thosai…so we’re fine with the masala and naan. It’s the ayam penyet and the bakso that we do not need – these are sold all over the town…even at some roadside stalls, cheaper and may even be better.

  17. The Cafe Ind? Same owner as Cafe Cafe? Why everyone seems like to use “cafe” as their shop name.

    Ok, noted, you like indian food. Next time when you come to KL, bring you for nice indian food.

    Love Mrs. Wee’s nasi ayam penyet set, look nice, but i don’t take tempeh. Just give me the rice and ayam penyet.

    Nope, not the same owner…but Cafe2 is opening another outlet soon – either this month or next…at Giant. The tempeh here…no good, not wroth eating. I love the ones at Bandong…with the ayam penyet, but so thin and so small… Not enough, cannot enjoy puas2.

  18. Food looks good! But certainly not cheap hor.. but I guess the portion looks quite generous. Also , 5 bonus points for flowers?? Out of how many points in total? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Yalor…must appreciate the good taste in using fresh flowers. No flowers better than plastic flowers – no class at all, spoil the image only. So the place and food 60%, add 5 for the flowers lor…total, 65%.

  19. Had a busy day from morning till this hour aaahhh..relax a bit now..Oh the masala looks great tetapi ada masalah with kambing if ayam lagi best..muahaha.

    Never mind, think of the money rolling in… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Chicken masala is on the menu so you can opt for that, no problem at all.

  20. ohhh…..i like the look of the ayam penyet! That was how the ayam penyet used to look like at Rumah Hijau in Kch. Now their ayam penyet is about half the size and all dried and shrivelled up. And it doesn’t even have the tempeh and peanuts like the one you had. I love anything that has tempeh!

    You like tempeh? The Bandong stall sells freshly-made/unfried ones…so if you want to fry your own, I can buy for you next time. They serve with their penyet – very nice…but such a small piece and so nipis. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  21. Oh man..I was craving for curry just now and had curry fish, chilli fish cake and bean sprout with rice, kinda nasi Padang style. The curry shown here is very lemak…. Love it but then it’s fatty leh…. Once a while ok la…

    Dunno Johore, but Singapore…nasi padang everywhere – all the food courts…and my favourite last time, Rendezvous – but now five-star…should be very expensive. You rich people can afford lah, not me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I heard the masala – the chef demanded for a special ladle and he stirred it non-stop while simmering the thing from 2 to 8… Full marks for the effort, taste…just like curry. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  22. “The Cafe Ind” is a creative name for their restaurant ๐Ÿ™‚ I love naan the naan here is expensive, too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Oh? So that’s not something unusual then? I would opt for other things next time – nothing great about the bread. Not worth paying so much.

  23. i love nasi padang and i’m totally obsessed with indian cuisine (northern/southern/whatever region) and i crave for it every singe day hahahah! in fact, i have my portion of rice with dhal curry almost every nite here in penang. totally yummy! in fact, i prefer indian meals to say, chinese cuisine LOL.

    Yup! I prefer Malay, Peranakan/nyonya, Indonesian, Thai…to Chinese, and of course, I love Indian too. In comparison, Chinese cooking is so very bland, not exotically exciting at all.

  24. Arthur, no food joint can pass your “five fingers mountain” right? hehe.. How come you sounded so much like my Quay Lo. You said “tacky plastic flowers” hahaha… whenever he sees plastic flowers in any restaurant, he will definitely say the same as you and straight away minus marks for that restaurant.

    Can’t stand those…especially the ones that come stuck in the horrendous looking plastic “flower pot”. I would rather the restaurant does not put any flowers at all – really no class at all. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

