Here comes the sun…

Here comes the sun

Here comes the sun 1

After days and days of endless rain (and floods) and dark, gloomy skies, finally, we get to enjoy a stretch of sunny days, if I can remember exactly…since last Saturday, other than the brief spell at around 4.00 p.m. on Chap Goh Meh which lasted only a few minutes.

While people fret and complain and moan and groan over the excessive precipitation (which I’m sure the people in drought-stricken China would give an arm or a leg for right now), other forms of life, on the other hand, would have benefitted from all that. The grass seems greener, in places where it was not submerged in the flood (which I think is even worse in Northern Australia and other parts of the state like Marudi, for instance), that is…and the flowers start blooming in all their glory…

Here comes the sun 2

But unfortunately, because we have been plagued by floods (At least, it wasn’t bushfires like those presently raging on and on in Victoria, Australia! Thank God for small mercies!!!) again and again, the vegetable sellers claim that their crop has been destroyed and they have no choice but to sell whatever they can lay their hands on at ridiculously astronomical prices…

Sign 1

Good grief! That makes it RM15.00 for a kilogram of kai lan!!! I think it’s more expensive than chicken and around the same price as pork. What I cannot understand is the fact that there ARE people crazy enough to go and buy the vegetables at such absurd prices. If nobody were to buy them, the sellers would be stuck with a whole lot of withered and pathetic-looking greens at the end of the day and they would just have to throw them away. Seeing that they would stand to lose in the end, I am sure they would think twice about jacking up the prices so high.

If the problem originates from the farmers/vegetable growers, then the sellers may do the same to them. Business is like that – sometimes, it goes up and at other times, it comes down. I’m sure they have made quite a bundle on better days and at times like these, they should not take it out so BRUTALLY on the helpless customers. If they were to make a loss today, they would just have to wait to make up for it another day.

I found some that were reasonably priced though, e.g. cabbage and carrots. I bought a huge head of lettuce for only RM5.00, 10 tomatoes for RM3.00 and Taiwan cucumber (which the seller claimed, the greener it was, the nicer) at RM1.00 each, for instance. I do not see why people cannot eat these instead for the time being, instead of getting themselves slaughtered and crying foul till kingdom come.

And back to signs, I spotted this one outside a shop the other day…

Sign 2

They, for reasons known only to themselves, had blocked the left side of the door and wanted customers to use the right side only…but if we were to take the sign literally, it would mean that we would have to enter through the shop next door – which was a stationery store! LOL!!!

And back to the subject of flowers, did anybody buy pussy willows for display in their houses during Chinese New Year? I’m talking about pussy willows, Clare, pussy willows – the flowers! Hahahahahaha!!! Well, I didn’t but I did get a special Chinese New Year floral basket for my parents and they had some in the very impressive arrangement. After some of the flowers had withered, my sister took the surviving ones and placed them in a vase…and lo and behold! The buds of the pussy willows started to bloom…

Pussy willow 1

Pussy willow 2

I don’t know if it’s a good omen of any kind but a few days ago, she won a very nice rice cooker in a lucky draw at a local supermarket! Gee! Some people just have all the luck!…..Sigh!!! LOL!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “Here comes the sun…”

  1. And biologically, pussy willow *ehem* THE FLOWER shares the same characteristic as…….never mind…ROTFLMAO! My biology teacher in Form 4-5 taught wan 😛

    Dunno much Biology so wouldn’t know all that. Ummm…ur Biology teacher has taught you well, I see? Wink! Wink! LOL!!

  2. This morning when I passed by Choon Hui kopitiam (the small building next to Continental Hotel which serves very nice roti kiap and popiah), I saw a sign by the roadside announcing a passing of someone and from the corner of my eye I saw some white clothes in the shop (not ghost lah, the one they normally use for funeral wan). I’m not sure who passed away but the kopitiam has been closed since earlier this week.

    So no more laksa, loti kiap and all that… This is like “There’s been a death in the opposite house” – a nonchalant descriptive tone, eh?

  3. Ei? No food post, no one comments kah?

    Dunno. Busy, maybe! Otherwise, there’s no stopping them – post on toilet, also they’ll end up talking about food! LOL!!!

  4. Good thing I’m not a great fan of vegetables. Btw, Najib will be in Kuching today and of all the places, he’ll be visiting the DBNA building tomorrow which is like just outside my house…. shits, i foresee terrible traffic jams. I wonder if there will be any opposition protesters.

    So you constipate a lot? Bad…bad!!! What is he going there for? Mongolian hotpot lunch? Hahahahahaha!!!!

  5. Must be good luck sign. Hope to hear whatever luck that you get in this few days.

    Sigh! I don’t seem to have any luck at all. Destined to work hard for the money!!!

  6. On the plus side for the farmers, the soil after the flood would be very high in nutrients, but RM 15 a kilo for kailan is a tad wacko!

    With the sudden return of the sun, its my turn to fall sick, sianz! Runny nose and cough, or I might have caught it from KNB when I sucked on his…..

    ciggarate hahahahaha ROTFLMAO

    KNB: Our people are far too sedated, all talk no action hahaha, but if KPenyu was in town… hmm watch out for flying rotten vegs

    Good grief! I know times are hard but you do not have to be so desperate as to share a joint between the two of you!!! Wait a minute! Yesterday, he was named ur beneficiary, and today you’re talking about sharing a cig!!! Eyew….what exactly is going on? *raised eyebrows…..No wonder both single!!! Hahahahahaha!!!!

    Kpenyu? Bet he would love to join the Mongolian hotpot lunch – dua kali lima!… ROTFLMAO!!!

  7. I tot she just won an ipod or something late last year. So lucky. Hmm… she throw oranges for chap goh mei or not????

    It was an MP4. You’re saying she should go and throw, and with a little bit of luck… Hahahahahaha!!!! I didn’t say a thing, you did! LOL!!!

  8. Know the reason for the good weather? I bought my dryer liaw!!!

    Should have bought it earlier! Never mind – now on rainy days, everybody knows where to bring their wet laundry! And ironing services provided? Hahahahahaha!!!!

  9. see….ive called back my rain liao. just make sure im sober all the time, else it’ll be raining cats and dogs again …. lol

    Why? You’re a kaki botol? Keep the rain where you are…we’ll let you know when we need it again! LOL!!

  10. LOL@ gundot….errr..there’s always next year! hahahahaha!

    Re. my reply to her comment! Hope she doesn’t charge anything – chin lang mah! Hahahahahaha!!!!

  11. i like photo no.1

    Ah, finally…!!! Thank you! Thank you! I was waiting for someone to say that! Not bad eh…considering that it was taken with a cheap two-year-old hp with photo-taking facilities! Hahahahahaha!!!!

  12. Did u capture the photo of the dolphins in the sunlight?Very beautiful indeed, I even have to wear sunglasses when I looked at the picture for the reflections of the sunlight seems so real!LOL!

    Yes, the dolphins are those dangling from my wind chimes. Must hang wind chimes…for good luck mah!!! Hahahahaha!!!!

  13. You fluke one good photo from your handphone..and everybody taking about…show a pix of your phone camera la…. hope not mummified wit plasters…

    Still looks ok…but got a little crack on the glass screen and a bit of leakage in the LCD display too! Never mind, still can use!!! Hahahahahaha!!!

    …and what do you mean by “fluke”? Instrument not so good, must use with SKILL…for the most satisfying results mah!!! ROTFLMAO!!!

  14. Nah, we just share a fag or two after a heavy meal, especialy for me where I would require something minty and cooling to suck on hahahahaha (you’re imagination must be going haywire right about now)

    Indeed!!! You certainly do not mince your words. Minty and cooling eh? Interesting! Hahahahahaha!!!!

  15. TOC: Back to your drama queen mode again eh? I’ll get u a pacifier to suck on when you watch the breakfast show. LOL!!

    STP: Not sure about Mongolian hotpots but I’m sure there’ll be Pansuh Manok Bidayuh! kekeke

    Hahahahahaha!!!! No comment on the former, and as for the manok bit, I’m sure he will not be too pleased if it is some ibu ayam…but bet he’ll love some juicy young chicks instead!!! 😀

  16. KNB: I hardly wake up in time to watch the breakfast show as I would be rushing and the late nights conversations runs havoc on my system… Its a blessing I don’t look end up looking haggard and with puffy eyebags in the a.m like certain presenters… Hooo boy! Am counting my lucky stars i never introduced tis blog to you know who, who accidentaly, you might have to get the pacifier for as I don’t need it 😉

    Yes, yes, I am in my QB Mode… LOL

    Dunno who you’re talking about…and dunno what QB stands for. Queen bee? Queer Bitch? Ahhh….never mind! Whatever it is, as long as it adds to my comment count! The more the merrier! LOL!!

  17. No need eggs or rotten vege …If I am in Kch..all I need to do is ask WhatThe Fig to accompany me to the reporters and kick off a Big scandal…

    The airline manager in KK is another look-alike…

  18. TOC n KNB – what are they talking about? I catch no ball am blur blur., nothing to do with HERE COMES THE SUN rite.

    Sometimes, ignorance is bliss. What you don’t know won’t hurt you…and when it comes to what the two are going on and on about, it’s best not to know! Hahahahaha!!!

  19. Pollie: KNB and I are 2 cheap to sms each other so we leave cryptic notes that only he and i understand on STP blog hahaha besides it boost STP’s comment count lol

    Yes, keep it up…22 comments for this post! Pretty good, eh? Hahahahaha!!!! Can’t wait till the argument gets heated up, it’d probably go into the 100s! LOL!!!

  20. you did the wise thing – buying cheaper alternatives till the prices come down. isn’t it just so human – to take advantage of opportunities to make more money??

    Yes, the ugly side of humans… No mercy!

  21. 3 ringgit for 10 tomatoes? wah.. so cheap ah.. the meat prices there is almost same like russia laa.. but during the winter, meat remains the same price but some vegetables will be very expensive, like some 3 big tomatoes for 10 ringgit 😦

    so.. no tomatoes for quite sometime until the price is back to normal. stop eating those that are expensive is definitely the correct way!

    *i got zero knowledge on prices in msia*

    Well, now you do…to some extent. 3 tomatoes for 10 ringgit? Maybe if you do not convert the currency, it will be quite ok…like buying things in Oz or the UK. Bought ONE dried chilli in England (1994) for 20 p!! Here, on “bad” days, we may have to buy fresh chillies at RM1 for 4, i.e. 20 sen each.

  22. Lol, the weather in JB is strange to say the least. Little rain, many sunny days, extremely windy. All the curtains fly to the ceiling if you open the windows whahaha 😛

    PS: Like your witty responses to comments, keep up the good work!

    I love windy days! Now very hot here for a week now and a bit hazy! Hardly any wind! Thanks for the compliment! Witty, you say? Some people prefer to call it sacarsm! Hahahahahaha!!!

  23. Nice flowers…where did betty kuku get it from? Wah, she is lucky oh O___o

    From the CNY floral basket (with mandarin oranges) I bought for Ah Ma and Kong2. She stuck them in the vase when most of the flowers had whithered. Yalor…me no luck at all!!! Sob! Sob! LOL!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com