Tell me how you like it…

In a recent post, I shared a photograph of the traditional way of boiling water and brewing coffee and tea in the old school coffee shops – over a hot charcoal stove…

Old-school charcoal stive
*Archive photo*

…and I remember seeing them toasting bread on it  as well. They would get it all burnt and then they would use a knife to scrape off the black surfaces on both sides before generously applying one slice of butter, not unlike those cheese slices that we can get at the supermarket these days, and of course, their own-made kaya (coconut jam) after that.

I don’t know how to make kaya but when I was teaching in Kanowit, 1978 to 1982, I saw the lady at this coffee shop…

Old coffee shop
*Archive photo*

…double-boiling and stirring it continuously. It certainly looked very tedious so of course, I would not want to give it  a try, no, thank  you. The lady had passed away and the son and daughter-in-law are running the shop now. I am not too sure whether they still make their own kaya or not but somewhere along the line, in most, if not all coffee shops, the butter and the kaya were sidelined and all you will get will be just Planta and Yeo’s.

I do know of this place in town that uses Golden Churn…

Butter
*Archive photo*

…though but see! I told you they would just use the canned kaya these days and this particular brand.

Of course I do not have a charcoal stove at home and I would not bother to use this

BBQ stove
*Archive photo*

…either as it would be quite a hassle to get the charcoal burning and there would be all that smoke and it can get rather messy as well. Ummmm…if you’re curious, no…I have not got that thing assembled yet. Hehehehehehe!!!!

Yes, I have a toaster that is over 30 years old and it still works perfectly but I find that by the time the toast gets dark enough, it would be crusty inside out so I prefer to toast my slices of bread on a pan, flipping regularly till I get them nicely browned on both sides. That way, the surfaces would be crusty and inside, it would still be soft like fresh un-toasted bread. Of course, I would apply a generous layer of butter on it and also kaya

My kaya toast & half-cooked eggs breakfast

I do think the made-in-Singapore Glory brand Hainanese kaya (with honey) is very nice and a welcome change from their pandan one which is good as well…and to go with my kaya toast, I would insist on half-cooked eggs, the way I like them – the egg white hard and the yolk still runny.

Come, tell me how you like it…

31 thoughts on “Tell me how you like it…

  1. I like chicken eggs to hard boiled and I prefer to eat wholemeal bread. I don’t like eating toasts because I like the bread to be chewy. As for kaya, I am not particular about them so even kaya by Gardenia is fine for me. Seldom eat butter because don’t want to eat so much fat so I dip my bread in virgin olive oil instead.

    Yes, yes…and you and your hubby do not like the yolk of your fried eggs to be runny. I like fresh bread but after a day or two, it would have to be kept in the fridge or it would go moldy – so toasting is required when taking it cold out of the fridge…plus toasting gives it a very nice fragrance too.

    Oooo…extra virgin olive oil, eh? Don’t use it for cooking – toxic. I was using it for that long ago when it was cheaper and the kitchen would be covered with a thick sticky (not exactly oily) film and I told my missus it could not possibly be as good as what people said – thankfully, it became expensive and we stopped using it and only lately, I heard people saying it is bad if heated.

    Gardenia is good? Never tried, must remember to grab one the next time I hop over. Wholesome bread – not a fan. In fact, I am not into bread all that much – there’s half a loaf in the fridge since last week. My missus eats it – she is so sick of my fried rice, my noodles and everything, it seems. :( Only love it with the whole Big Breakfast works – ham, bacon, scrambled eggs. You must be very healthy and slim but judging from your blogposts, you do eat out a lot, don’t you? – now, I’m curious as to what you look like. Come, come…email me your photo. I am sure we’ve been “virtual friends” long enough to at least know what we all look like?

    • Same here STP.. She eats out everyday I guess..Well she has to, I supposed, coz she is posting daily on her meals.. Where got so many food photos wor if she’s not eating out daily? Wonder if she cooks at home or not..

      Especially when someone is working, there is hardly any time to cook and unless one has the passion, one would not bother on weekends either – just want to relax and rejuvenate before the vicious cycle starts again the following week.

    • You can use extra virgin olive oil for cooking as long as the temperature does not exceed 200 degree C. Not suitable for those gas and wok, but suitable for me, because I use induction cooker and oven, both can control the temperature.
      At 200 deg C, the olive oil’s chemical structure starts to change, the taste will be off. Health wise not sure who to believe, 50-50 said no problem or big problem. Better be safe than sorry though :(

      Not for me then. I use gas and wok…mostly. Olive oil’s for salad, as and when the need arises – not for cooking. I’ve a small bottle in the house. Very expensive, I wouldn’t be able to afford to use it much. Old already anyway, way past 60…all the harm had been done. Hehehehehe!!!!!

    • Hahaha, my spouse loves runny yolks! He is my opposite. He loves porky food and can’t stand lamb or mutton taste and no dairy items for him.Totally opposite from me. Sure I will email you a few links to my posts with my photos. Hehehe.

      Ya, I’ve seen your pics now. Good! Good! Not like talking to the wall – at least, can put a face to the name now. No photo of yoru spouse? ;)

  2. Is kaya uncommon in Sibu? We can find those home-made ones easily here in Pg, so many eateries would not bother to use those canned ones…

    It is very common – every bakery, every bread stall, every grocery stall but the thing is I would know which one is good unless I buy it home to try and I did buy one that was so horrible I had to just throw it away: http://suituapui.wordpress.com/2013/10/31/no-second-time/
    I guess the canned ones are cheaper or some people go for that old-school taste that they grew up eating. My girl likes it actually, not me.

  3. I read from one mummy blogger’s post before on her way of making kaya.. Hassle free, convenient and no need to watch the fire or stir or what-not.. She just chucks everything into the slow cooker – eggs, sugar, coconut milk, pandan leaves.. Cook for half a day or something, then she gets this thick creamy kaya.. Looks nice too..

    Slow cooker, eh? Hassle free? Hmmmm…I sure would love to give it a try – will google for the recipe. I love mine extra lemak (more santan).

  4. I would toast the bread using the toaster and use Yeo’s Kaya. I don’t like the other fancy brands. We have plenty of butter here in Australia. I can have that every morning and it has the taste of home.

    See! Exactly what I said – like my daughter, she would go for Yeo’s…and not butter, Planta too! Otherwise, she says, it is not the same – not as nice as in the coffee shops. For us, old foggies from the colonial days – we did not have Yeo’s, only the coffee shops’ own-made kaya and they toasted bread differently then…and we had butter so that would be the kind of nostalgic taste that we would be looking for.

  5. i like kaya too … i’ve seen some interesting recipes for kaya ice cream too, and that could be very cool (no pun intended)! :D

    Brings to mind that Sangkaya ice cream at Jalan Alor – yet to go and try it myself.

  6. Hmm..I used to love the way you prepare the toast.yeah,it is still hot fluffy-textured inside while the crust is somewhat crunchy with hint of burning aroma..But nowadays i am more fond of my mum’s egg mayo topped with meat floss filling bread.serve it chilled would be even superior!

    Hmmm…I bet that tastes great! Like I said in my reply to an earlier comment, I am not really into bread – unless I can have it with all the awesome stuffings, ham & bacon & eggs are my weakness…and sausages too, good imported ones. I guess in general, I prefer savoury to sweet.

  7. I don’t know about kaya, I once bought a so called homemade “special” kaya in a coffee shop in Ipoh, but when I tested it at home, it tastes the same as any other kaya to me. Maybe my tongue is not that sensitive, or the coffee shop lie to me. I prefer to toast my bread on the pan too, although my reasons is less technical than you, I’m just cheapo that don’t wanna spend money on another piece of kitchen equipment.
    On another note, do you need help with assembling “that thing”? :D

    I guess if it is good kaya, it is good – can’t be much different from the rest. As long as it is lemak and fragrant enough – not just sweet, not much santan or egg taste…should be good. No, thanks. I don’t think I have a problem assembling that – got it free in exchange for my credit card bonus points…but no occasion to use it. May just give it away as a present to somebody eventually. Hehehehehehe!!!!!

  8. I like the half boiled egg, just my type. Toast bread with Golden Churn butter, does it cost more than using planta. Oh yes, I love to eat Gardenia on its own especially butter scotch. If making kaya is hassle free using slow cooker, I would like to try too.

    Yes, I saw the old lady at that Kanowit coffee shop double boiling and stirring continuously with a spoon, no, thank you. I would not bother. This place with the Golden Churn, not sure – never had it but I am sure the toast would be more expensive. I hear one loaf of bread, they cut into 8 slices only. Must be very thick.

  9. an over 30 years old toaster? Whoa. And yes, i would love toast prepared your way, crusty on the outside, while still soft untoasted on the inside :D..

    Yes, a friend gave me when I got married. Things in the past were made to last, not like the ones today.

  10. So the Hibachi is still “brand new” because you haven’t assembled it yet. Send it to me if you want. ;-) My Beloved Wife will surely use it.

    I would love to pass it to you if you’re here or any place close by. The postage would probably be as much as buying one there yourself. Not cheap to send anything by post these days. :(

  11. Grrrr!!! I just clicked post comment and my internet line got cut off! I was telling you that I love the butter and kaya toast that I had as a child. But I could only eat that when we were travelling as my parents or grandparents would stop at the coffee shop along the way. The toast back then was so heavenly. As for soft boiled eggs, yours is perfect. Firm on the outside and soft runny yolk on the inside.

    Yes, no more here these days. All toaster or over toaster. One place in Sarikei, I know. Charcoal toasted and very famous around here – everyone would stop by for it when in the town. Will surely do the same if I happen to hop over again one of these days.

  12. I like eggs no matter how they cooked. But if with toast, I would prefer running yolk just like yours. Add a bit of pepper and sweet soy sauce, it is a perfect breakfast! Took it a lot when I were pregnant.

    LOL!!! That’s why your boy so big and healthy…and handsome too. :D

  13. Golden Churn is an expensive brand..good for making butter cakes.. very butter-rich! Canned kaya has too much preservative… it can tahan a longer time than those homecooked ones.. Yes, very difficult to find real good kaya that gives the umpph… my mother used to make during my younger days, used the chopsticks and stirred…stirred… then I would love to lick the kaya off the chopstick after that! Miss the tastiness of the yester-food!

    Yes, I saw that – so tedious, such a hassle. I wouldn’t want to do it. There are homemade ones at some stalls here but if they can just display like that without refrigeration, I get very worried. Not all that keen to buy. Canned ones – just sweet, not much of the true kaya flavour but the bottled ones from Singapore is not bad.

  14. This is funny because when I went to live in my dads apartment, he didn’t own a toaster. So we did the pan frying method and I love it that way. Reminds me of this buffet place called Sizzler who used to do that kind of thing combined with a bit of cheese. So good.

    Ahhhhh!!!! That makes two of us then – my toaster is stored away in one of the kitchen cabinets somewhere. It may seem easier to use – plug it in, switch on the power, just pop in the slices of bread, press the button and wait…but then, there will be the cleaning up of the crumbs at the bottom of the toaster to be brushed awya and wiped clean before putting away the thing. Easier just to use a pan…and nicer too.

    There was a place here that used to toast bread using some kind of grill like mine and charcoal…but before I got to try, they had already stopped doing it that way. Didn’t go down well with the crowd there perhaps, I wouldn’t know.

  15. My sister LOVES the excess charcoal on toasted bread, she just adores it.

    BTW, I on the other hand, loves that brand of Kaya. Yeos. It’s really something else, the golden standard (pardon the pun since you’ve been talking about the butter) for kayas. I know it’s way to sweet and the color isn’t quite right but it’s sooooo good despite the preservatives and coloring.

    It’s a guilty pleasure thing, I actually prefer my kaya toast to be spread with that. :)

    You’re like my daughter – would not settle for anything else. Not the same, she would say…not like the toast she would eat at the coffee shops.

  16. I like toast and egg as breakfast, but usually I had it at hotel breakfast when I was travelling, because my house doesn’t have the toaster which’s why!!

    Use a pan then – like me.

  17. I remember many years ago, there was a stall in KL (near the current Masjid Jamek lrt station), an old couple was running the stall selling toasted bread over charcoal fire and coffee boiled over the same fire. The stall was at a side lane, very cramped, after placing a small table but always packed with office workers during the morning rounds. I don’t know if it’s still there coz haven’t visited the lane for ages. Really missed their toast bread, very fragrant.

    Difficult to find really good kaya…those that can taste the fragrance and not just sweetness. I know it’s a lot of hard work to make kaya, but I don’t like it. I will just put butter on my toast. That’s the way I like it! 😉

    Sounds like the place in a nearby town, Sarikei. Will have to check it out when I get the chance to hop over. I would need something else other than butter on my toast – if not kaya, peanut butter would be good…or a sprinkling of sugar.

  18. I love the charcoal toasted breads which adds more oomph with its slightly burnt tastes. I am fussy on the type of kaya and the bread’s thickness too. Every weekend i would head to these cafes for their special breakfast sets to make my day which comes with the perfect coffee blend. Papa Kucing will know where to bring you for perfect breakfast next time. I introduced SP’s favourite hometown cafe in PJ to them.

    I must ask my friend to buy me this Glory brand Hainanese kaya with honey to try!

  19. Toasted bread and eggs, perfect breakfast. How i missed olden days Yeos kaya taste, i think now it taste different, although it is still the same brand. I did buy a few times, but the taste just not correct. I love golden churn, i still buy golden churn and spread on my bread and toast it and sprinkle some sugar on top, yummy!!

    Yes, even Golden Churn is not as fragrant as it used to be these days. My missus always complains about it when she buys it to make cakes.

Leave a Reply

