Green fingers…

One advantage of living in the country would be the fact that you have a lot of land all around you to plant your own fruits and vegetables and whatever. That, of course, is a good thing in this day and age with the escalating prices of virtually everything. Unfortunately, you can’t do that if you’re staying in high rise apartments and condominiums in the city or even if you do have a landed property, there will be so little land around the house to do much…and most people would rather use whatever they may have for landscaping to beautify the surroundings by planting flowers and decorative leaves and trees.

Unfortunately, not all can grow stuff successfully – one would need to have green fingers in order to do it well…and I am pretty sure that Melissa’s neighbour at the staff quarters in her rural school is pretty good at it. When I sent Melissa back there after the week-long holidays, I noticed that he has been busy and has planted a lot of things in the available land.

Now, let’s see if you can name all the things he has planted. I am sure many of you would know what these are (PICTURE 1)…

PICTURE 1

…and you probably can identify those with the five-petal leaves…

PICTURE 2

…but what about those with the heart-shaped ones (PICTURE 2)?

These are creepers so the guy had to put up those sticks for the  plants to climb (PICTURE 3)…

PICTURE 3

Later the flowers would appear and subsequently, the fruits.

You would have seen these in the pictures earlier (PICTURE 4)…

PICTURE 4

I love the sweet variety, selling at around RM6.00 for four at a shop near my house. What I know is they get their supply from out of town in bundles of 5 or 6…and they would untie them and take out 1 or 2 to make their own new bundles…and sell them all at the same price – RM6 for 4. Tsk! Tsk!

Many of you would know these too, I suppose (PICTURE 5a)…

PICTURE 5a

- it seems that they are not that tolerant of heat or direct sunlight so that is why the guy has built some kind of shed over the vegetable beds.

Here’s another look at the same (PICTURE 5b)…

PICTURE 5b

…and this one is pretty familiar too, I’m sure (PICTURE 6)…

PICTURE 6

Now, can anyone give me the names of all the vegetables in the photographs? If you can, you probably deserve a prize, right? Let’s see how it goes. Come, give it a shot!

28 thoughts on “Green fingers…

  1. Teacher teacher teacher ….hands in the air…..kita orang kampung…here here here

    1) cangkok manis
    2) pumpkin
    3) bitter gourd
    4) jagung
    5) choi sum
    6) kai lan

    Wahhhhh!!!! All the way from New Zealand. I’m impressed! :D Let’s wait and see the other responses. ;)

    • I used to help myfamily and grandmother toplant and sell sweet corn at the Sibu Market during my upper secondary years. On weekends, I’d be in the farm.

      Good for you. Education is not only confined to the classroom…and indicated by the string of A’s one gets!

  2. ooo, i must also concede defeat, i’m really bad at recognising plants! but this was fun to look through and try to guess, hehehe :)

    No worries. Guess my message gets across loud and clear – there is so much out there right at our doorsteps to discover, so many things that we do not know.

  3. This guy sure has green fingers. So many vegetables.

    er, sorry to admit I do not recognise some of the plants. I just know how to eat them. Lol

    Frankly, I know most of them…but not too sure of some – a bit too small at the moment, I guess, to tell for sure.

  4. Hard to tell what vege by looking like this , unless someone who always do planting vege!!!

    …or has lived in or been to the countryside before.

  5. Of all your pictures, I only know the first and third one.. First looks like potato leaves (cangkok manis) and the third either looks like papaya or bitter gourd leaves.. Other than that, errr, all never seen before, zero knowledge, teehee…

    Sweet potato leaves & cangkuk manis are totally different things. Papaya? :D

    • Oohh, in cantonese I call these “shue zhai choy”, means cangkok manis la, the ones we always have in our pan mee.. “shue zhai” is potato ma, so direct translation lor, hehehe..

      I don’t know Cantonese but isn’t that so very confusing? If you call cangkuk manis sweet potato veg, what do you call sweet potato veg or leaves then?

  6. i certainly do not have green fingers, my fingers are black!! hahaha.. i can’t even make a cactus i bought from Cameron Highlands to survive for more than a week!! muahahaha, and we all know cactus is so easy to take care of right?? :D

    No worries – I’m just like you! ;)

  7. 1. Sayur manis/cakur manis

    2. Pumpkin & ubi kayu

    3. Bittergourd (darn birds ate the seeeds that I sow in d pot.)

    4. Jagung plants. (Don’t throw away the ‘janggut’. Boil n drink d water . Cure coughs. Pasar mlm selling those ‘janggut’ rm2 a hsndful)

    5. Sawi

    6. Kai lan.

    I hear the janggut jagung is good for diabetes too – dry and boil in water and drink the water.

  8. Ah, got prize? Hee..hee..hee…Let me have a go :
    1. Cangkuk Manis
    2. Tapioca
    3. Ladies Fingers
    4. Jagung/Corn
    5. Chye Sim
    6. Bayam (?)

    If you can, you probably deserve a prize, right?” Didn’t say there’s one for sure… Hehehehehe!!!!

  9. Sorry, no contribution over here, if I do, it means I just copy the above.. hahhaaa… when it comes to green vegetables, I am hopeless…. Like Rose, I know how to buy, cook and eat only.. :)
    :D Then at the restaurant, they rattle through the names of all the vegetables, how to order leh? Must know the names of a few, at least…like me. ;)

  10. My mom also had her little garden opposite her house. Err. .. don’t ask me about vegetables and plants…lol.

    Obviously you never bothered to help your poor mum lah? Tsk! Tsk!

  11. I don’t have green fingers but my hub has. I like the way that guy put the sticks for the creeper plant to climb up. Let me join in the fun. Here it goes:
    (1) cangkul manis
    (2) tapioca (5 petal leaves) / jagung / pumpkin (heart shaped leaves)
    (3) bitter gourd
    (4) jagung
    (5) choy sim
    (6) sweet choy sim

    Ok, let us wait and see. Hehehehehehe!

  12. Wah nice, I do try and plant fruits in my garden too. I have manicai and corn here too.

    You have too? That’s nice. One thing’s for sure, your own home-grown vegetables will be pesticide free. Healthy!

  13. Hahaha, I oni know lak-gian-cai =.=

    Yup, and I wonder why they call it lakia cai…when in fact, they plant and eat it a lot more than the Dayaks or at least, as far as I know.

  14. 1) cangkuk manis
    2) pumpkin
    3) bittergourd
    4) jagung lego
    5) sayur sawi
    6) sayur ensabi

    Noted… Come back tomorrow for the results! ;)

  15. Hmm….from the photos above…I can only recognise cangkuk manis, ubi kayu, jagung. The bottom ones can’t c clearly :-p

    They’re still small, just planted.

  16. This is interesting. It reminds me of our home in Mukah. We used to plant watermelon, corn, vegetables… I miss gardening. Back to Kuching, we have limited space to do gardening.

    Here’s my try:
    1. cangkuk manis
    2. pumpkin
    3. bitter gourd
    4. corn
    5. sawi putih
    6. this one am not so sure. I think it’s sawi with yellow flower. haha…

    Life in the city. Come back tomorrow to see the answers. ;)

  17. I am hopeless at identifying but I think I spotted corn and pumpkin coz MIL grew them at home :D

    We used to plant corn ourselves during my growing up years so I’m familiar with the plant. Pumpkin, probably my first time seeing the leaves – only know the fruit/veg.

Leave a Reply

