Sinful…

I’m no saint, no angel either…but I do think it is a sin to waste. Maybe you’ll think that I’m such a miser but I get quite upset and distressed to see the amount of rice in the pot, soaked overnight in the water to get it unstuck and eventually, thrown away and I do think that if we could save a spoonful or two a day, by the end of the week we would have enough for a plate of fried rice for breakfast. I’m sure most of us know that there is a Malay saying that goes like this:
Sikit sikit jadi bukit (Literal translation: a bit, a bit, becomes a hill/mountain)

Of course, I would have no choice but to get rid of things that have been sitting in the fridge for too long – anything more than a week would have to go, never mind that it still looks good. That is why I would make it a point to eat up all leftovers as soon as possible and not to simply stuff them in the fridge and conveniently forget all about them.

I had porridge last week as I was down with a terrible cough, alternating with some vigorous sneezing and running nose…plus at one point, a slight fever as well. My missus fried a slice of salted fish, the long variety, to eat with it but we barely finished a quarter of that. So, the other day, seeing that we had some leftover rice in the fridge, I decided to whip up my own version of the immensely-popular salted fish fried rice…

FR4

These were the ingredients I started off with…

FR1

- the usual sliced shallot and garlic, the leftover salted fish, cut into small chunks, some thinly-sliced long beans and spring onions. I decided to try adding a bit of lap chiang (Chinese sausage) as well as I remember having that alongside the salted fish in my favourite claypot chicken rice and I feel the flavours go very well together.

As usual, I fried the shallot and garlic first…and then, the salted fish went in, followed by the lap chiang…and next, the long beans…

FR2

After frying till the beans were cooked, I added the rice…

FR3

…and the spring onions, finely chopped and a spoonful of my missus’ pounded chili dip…and an egg.

We still had some cashew nuts left over from Chinese New Year, baked…not fried and no salt added so I took a handful of those and threw them in before dishing everything out. Just look at that! I don’t have to say a thing…but doesn’t it look yummy?

FR5

And of course, the best part is the fact that nothing went to waste. At this present day and age when the prices of everything are going up, up and up, I think it pays to be a little bit prudent in our spending and in our ways so we can stretch our ringgit a little, at least. As the age-old English proverb advises, “Waste not, want not!”

23 thoughts on “Sinful…

  1. sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit… itu lah… lama lama jadi u and i… hahaha… btw i took ‘sebab mulut badan binasa’ with a twist too… oh well… dun sneeze too much, u might get piles.!

    Maybe it is true – people who would just throw away stuff will not end up looking like us who would eat up everything, mustn’t waste. Sneezing no more, cough a bit…but on the whole, ok lah. Over-exhaustion, perhaps, not so much over-eating – too much to do over the last few weeks, skipping my regular naps…too tired, low resistance to infection. :(

  2. Oh i like long beans in fried rice too, or fried egg with long beans sounds good to me either :D

    You do? I don’t mind those in any way, even boiled and ulam with sambal belacan. So so nice.

  3. Good morning! A great breakfast to me. A plate of fried rice always cheer up my day. :)

    Heard that there will be more price increment in next few months. Alamak! I need to ask for a raise in my pocket money from hubby. ^_^

    Think I will fry another plate again today – saved enough over the last few days. I wonder what type of fried rice I’d cook.

    It is always going up, never coming down – just need to save, cut down usage – usually put lots of garlic, now one or two cloves will be enough…no need so much, will also taste very nice. Garlic IS very expensive now, cannot follow one’s good ol’ ways, anymore.

  4. I don’t think you’re a miser. Waste of any kind is bad news. What’s on a small scale in the home, turns enormous when the whole town, country, world does it.

    True, how very true. And there are people in many countries who would be so happy and thankful to get what we throw away – brings to mind the story of the Rich Lazarus & the Poor Lazarus in the Bible…

  5. Owh, that a nice plate of fried rice to start off the day. Those are the usual ingredients I use to fried my rice too except ” kiam hu” and sometimes I use french beans instead of long beans. Kiam hu goes well with everything like belacan & cincaluk.

    Aiyor, got belacan and cincaluk, add kiam hu again? Wouldn’t that be extra salty? Oh ya…I get what you mean now – missed your point a bit there. Use kiam hu…or belacan…or cincaluk, all will taste nice. Like usually I would add ikan bilis, also nice…but in this case, with the kiam hu, I left that out.

    And indeed, either bean would be great for a little bit of green in one’s fried rice…

    • Oh, what I mean is if you fried with either belacan or cincaluk also very nice. Not to ask you to include all at one time. That will be too salty.

      Yup, I know. I misunderstood at first… ;)

  6. I already see your lap cheong in your first picture! I like anything (fried) with lap cheong, it makes the food more fragrant.. Like char kuey teow with lap cheong, boy, so nice..
    Fried rice is my best comfort food ever.. Even a simple one with just “silver mini anchovies” (wait, what do you call that?) and an egg.. In cantonese it’s called “ngan yue zhai”..

    Ikan bilis? I did not add any as I already had salted fish this time around.I’m just so so with lap cheong – my daughter loves it.

  7. I totally agree with you! I am guilty myself of wasting food but I have been making an effort to put a stop to that. And look at that – your use of leftovers plus some fresh ingredients turned out so delicious!

    Yes, why throw away when it still can be eaten or can be used to cook something nice?

  8. fuyoh, got salted fish, got chinese sausage, got cashew nut!! looks like this present day and age when the prices of everything are going up, up and up does not affect you much, hahahaha.. i think i would only have the beans and egg in my fried rice and not all those luxury stuffs~~ :p

    Well, there’s carb, protein and green – a balanced meal already, good enough. Anything extra is optional… ;)

  9. Best not to waste foods…

    Yesterday, while having dinner outside, saw a lady next table ordered a plate of chicken rice and ate only the chicken, and left the rice there, so wasted!!!

    Could have ordered a plate of chicken, tell them no need for the rice. Cheaper also!

  10. Easy and quickest way to prepare breakfast. I love fried rice with soy sauce. hehe.

    Not me, maybe a bit for colour. Usually I would add fish sauce but I’ve run out – have not bought a new bottle so doing without it at the moment. No problem at all, still tasted great.

  11. yea…I kumpul (if i remember lah) the leftover rice and fry rice. easy

    I do it every day now…before my missus fills the pot with water to rendam before washing…but sometimes I forget. :(

  12. I always make fried rice with the left over rice…

    Me too, just that there may not be any in the fridge… Then I will have to see what else I can cook for breakfast.

    • Actually overnight leftover rice is best use for fried rice.

      It’s a must! Kept overnight in the fridge, take out in the morning and use. Freshly cooked rice not so good for frying.

  13. Hope you’ve totally recovered from your illness now. Thanks to nourishing recipes this this!

    :D Not the culprit, the cause of it all kah? LOL!!! I’m pretty much ok now, still coughing a little bit, still feeling a bit tired but on the whole, I’m fine, thanks.

  14. Hardly ever cook rice living with an ang moh but if I have leftover, vegetarian fried rice is the way to go since he loves it. Have stopped buying rice though because of my lifestyle change. Salted fish fried rice is one of life’s simple pleasure.

    I would order that if I see it outside. Had some nice ones at the Red Garden hawker centre in Penang…long time ago.

  15. This looks simple and delicious, I remember the days when I used to make scallop fried rice back in the States, no such luxury here as scallops tend to fetch much higher price in M’sia

    I’ve dried scallops in the fridge, sweet too but I think I’d save those for soups – lots of other options available for frying rice. ;)

  16. Nah, you’re definitely not a miser. In fact, it is a good habit which needs to be passed down to the succeeding generations on not wasting stuffs and appreciating what we have. Totally agree that with the rising prices these days, eating at home is a great option…soon, bloggers will all turn to home cooking too…lol, and chef wannabes ;-)

    Too bad I don’t think there’s much potential for that here – so many places to go to outside and most people will cook their own at home most of the time. I wouldn’t mind doing that for the fun of it, actually… ;)

  17. Hope you’re well now. I love fried rice, but at the moment, i think i need to have porridge for few days, phobia with eating and food. Few more days to go.

    I had porridge last week for a while, ok now, thanks. ;)

  18. Sedapnya!!! Yes, if got leftover rice, it is best to fry them and eat them hot… so so nice.. makes me drool now!

    Reheated leftover rice, not nice. My missus would use microwave – got a certain kind of smell or what, not the same as freshly cooked. If fried, much nicer. You’re drooling? Got lah…where you are now – lots of Asian shops selling flied lice. Hehehehehehe!!!!!

  19. That’s a very delightful plate of fried rice. I guess for me to make fried rice, I will have to purposely cook rice since we hardly eat rice at home. Kinda hard to whip out dishes for 2 humans at home.

    Same with us at home but my missus would cook for 2 – getting better now. In the past, we would have so much left over that we would be eating the same thing for the rest of the week. :(

  20. Pingback: Give a little, take a little… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

