It’s impossible…

I’ve tried the fish head curry at this place and though I would say it was nice and I quite liked it, I would very much prefer the one here – they’re quite different though so it is hard to compare and it will all depend on one’s personal likes and dislikes but I’ve seen people sharing photographs of what they’ve been eating here so I decided to drop by to try the other dishes available there.

We ordered the lemon chicken…

LC

…but we all thought this one round the corner was way better.

I also felt that same way about the Foochow-style fried noodles…

FFN

Don’t get me wrong though! They were good, just that others may be (a bit) better.

Melissa loved the tofu…

TF

She particularly loved the sauce but I thought it was the usual mixed vegetable dish with fried tofu thrown in…and they probably just used oyster sauce for that.

Ok…ok..before you all jump on me and accuse me of not liking anything and criticising everything, I absolutely loved their long beans…

LB

…fried with hay bee/udang kering (dried prawns) though I wished they had pounded the latter as that would bring out the sweetness and the flavour a lot more. Nevertheless, it was very well-fried, so very crunchy…not hard and not soft and overcooked.

But what amazed me most of all that night was the fact that the bill for the food, inclusive of three bowls of rice, came up to only RM26.00 for the three of us (around SIN or NZ$10.00 only). I am not sure if rice is still RM1.00 a bowl around here and the noodles are still RM3.00 a plate but if we deduct RM6.00 from the total, that would leave a balance of RM20.00 only. Take away RM8.00 for the long beans, the usual price for vegetable dishes around here, there would only be RM12.00 remaining for the tofu and the chicken. RM6.00 each??? That, I would say, is simply impossible!!!

13 thoughts on “It’s impossible…

  1. Dishes seem nothing out of the ordinary to me but yea, Rm 26 for 3 people is cheap lol

    Yup, the usual stuff but real cheap. And they had so much udang kering in the long bean dish – the stuff sure doesn’t come cheap this days!!! These small ones are probably more affordable – our “big” (not that big anymore these days) and straight Rajang hay bee has gone over RM100 a kilo. :(

  2. long beans that style is yummy:D Nice too with sambal belacan:D

    Yes, I love it cooked this way…but I use the very much nicer Bintulu belacan, RM50 a kilo and our Rajang dried prawns are worth their weight in gold – over RM100 a kilo. They say the people from your side will come and buy straight from the suppliers…so if we want, we will have to pay the same price too or they might as well just keep and sell to those people. Dunno how true – not that I’ve seen any being sold anywhere around there.

  3. Simple dishes but looks tempting. =)

    There’s beauty in simplicity. Like the long beans – so nice, could taste the sweetness of the vegetable. I enjoyed that a lot!

  4. It is really cheap….
    So I guess you should go there more frequent to save more money

    Ya, cheaper than cooking own food at home…but shouldn’t eat out too much – not all that healthy. Eat at home better.

  5. Very cheap is all I can say. ;)

    I like long bean stir fry with sambal belacan.

    They give you the choice here – with hay bee or with belacan. We chose hay bee as usually, the belacan they use outside not the good Bintulu ones we use at home, not as nice.

  6. So cheap. Simple & nice. Worth every cent. Lemon chicken????…not yellow
    the gravy. I thought chicken cooked in soy sauce.

    They have two types here – the cheaper chu char places, usually this colour and if I am not mistaken, they do not use lemon – use limau nipis or limau kesturi. Nice also. You can see it at this other place nearby:

    http://suituapui.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/this-is-the-one

    The yellow ones…sometimes look like colouring as well – where got lemon juice so yellow?

  7. For that price, I think you cannot cook them in your own home… buy the vege, meat, oil, garlic, dried shrimps, petrol, gas… labour.. hahaha… all these counted in, might as well eat there more often! :)

    This place not bad, no msg overdose…so can consider going more frequently. Many places very oily, salty…and leave a horrible msg after-taste. Put me off eating outside.

  8. god bless restaurants that keep their prices very reasonable! :D

    There are some here but they need a good turnover to stay in business – earn little each customer, work hard as more will come and at the end of the day, business can be a lot more lucrative than expensive places where diners order a bit and sit all night long.

  9. Everything is glistening hehe. Haven’t had Lemon Chicken for a loooong time.

    Fluorescent lights. Night photography with cheap and old digicam has its limitations.

  10. aiya we all should migrate to your place la. Here everyday have to eat kangkung as kangkung price reduced. Looks like food price your place much cheaper leh

    Come, come. Sibu is definitely not in the list of the top 10 most expensive places to live in in Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

