Open door…

Our door is always open for anyone who cares to drop by and we will warmly welcome him or her to our humble abode and our little town like Melissa’s friend…

M & TW

…who came all the way from Sungai Petani, Kedah. She also did the same degree programme as Melissa’s but at a different institute, twinning with a university in Australia but somehow or other, they got to know each other along the way and became great friends.

We met her upon arrival at the airport that evening…

Evening falls

…and whisked her off to dinner before heading back to our house.

I wanted to take her here but for some reason or other, it was jam-packed that night so in the end, we decided to drop by this place that we had not gone to for a very long time instead. I’ve always loved their fish maw mixed vegetable soup…

FMMVS

…and it was still as nice as I remember it to be.

We used to enjoy their mini ngor niang and their prawn fritters but on our last few visits, we found that they were no longer as nice as before and not worth ordering. Somebody said that it was because the original chef had left but I did hear that this is a specialty of the house – cangkuk manis with stewed pork leg…

CM with SPL

…so I ordered that and all right, it was pretty nice and Melissa’s friend got to eat the green vegetable that does not seem to be so popular over in the peninsula.

I wanted to order the midin (wild jungle fern) but they did not have any so we settled for the paku instead…

FP

…which they would have over in the mainland especially in their Malay cuisine but they probably would cook it a little bit differently.

To my delight, I saw that they had dabai (wild black olives)…

Dabai

…so I quickly ordered that and Melissa’s friend liked it. She agreed that it was something like avocado, the rich taste and also the texture of the flesh…except that we eat the skin as well, something which we would not do when indulging in that very expensive imported fruit.

We also had the fried mee sua

FMS

…and though it wasn’t too bad, I can pinpoint at least two or three other places around town that would do a much better job at this.

One thing in their favour was the fact that it was not very expensive. I do recall people warning me that “their knives are kind of sharp” but the bill came up to slightly over RM60.00 only for 4 persons, so minus the drinks and the rice, I guess the food would come up to around RM50.00 only.

After dinner, we drove around town to see Sibu by night and then, we headed on home. The sweet girl brought us these pretty wind chimes made of sea shells that she bought when she was in Sabah…

WC

…and she also brought us some kek lapis from Kuching but we insisted that she took them all home for everyone there to enjoy as we would be able to get those very easily here at any time we feel like it.

Come to think of it, what is there that one would buy home from Sungai Petani in Kedah? I have been there a few times but I do not recall anything that is synonymous with the town like tambun biscuits and Penang or chicken biscuit and Kampar, Perak, for instance. Come, tell me…what is that special thing that people visiting your town or city would definitely buy and cart home?

27 thoughts on “Open door…

  1. gimme ruby or gimme nothing… hahaha…

    Full house. I would want to bring all visitors there…even though there have been complaints all round that things there are getting rather expensive and I don’t usually go there myself as the menu never changes…plus I don’t think they would have dabai there. :(

  2. Would love to try those uncommonly seen vegetables, especially the olives, though i’m not a fan of olives but would love to try it since you mentioned that the taste is somewhat similar to avocado :D

    You’ll have to come over for that. Not easily transported. Will end up all wrinkled and “cooked”…

  3. buying a sack of local rice from kedah? hehehe

    Ya, our jelapang padi! That would be what people will bring home when visiting Bario in Sarawak – their very fragrant hill rice. You’re from Ipoh? What do people buy to bring home? Not chicken biscuit – that’s Kampar. Not Heong Peah, that’s Taiping or is it Teluk Intan? Those paper-wrapped ones in plastic packs with red labels – Tiger Brand or something. The quality isn;t like what it used to be now, I hear.

  4. Those “black olives” are something special just to Borneo right?

    Yup! Used to be solely Central Sarawak but now, places to the west of the state have them too. In the past, had to send from here but now, they have their own.

  5. Yes, indeed the food price is very cheap… and I love the dishes too… yummssss! I really would love to try the dabai.. I cannot imagine how they taste like.. how come we didn’t try that last time? hmmm…

    You came in the middle of the year – this fruit usually comes out at the end of the year, that’s why you did not get to try. What to do? People not interested in coming again… :(

  6. Don’t know what’s famous thing for them to bring home from KL, but I know places to eat on the spot, hehe!!! =]

    Eating there, KL Hokkien mee is native to KL, I guess…and bak kut teh is Klang and satay is Kajang. Dunno anything to bring home that is not originally from some place else.

  7. All those nice food for RM60 only. So cheap. Cangkul manis in stewed pork, sounds interesting and wonders how’s the taste. Maybe will try and cook one day when my mood arise.

    Nice. There’s another place here that is very famous for this combo but cheap = always crowded so I never bother to go and try.

  8. Prawn fritters.. now you mentioned it. Ahh.. wanna find it lah.

    I know Sunny Cafe at Sg Antu here, add 50 sen extra for the special, mee jawa or whatever, and you get 5 prawns fritters, whole prawns. So cheap and so nice.

  9. I never been to Kedah but am sure it s a nice beautiful state with green scenery.

    That is a beautiful chime.

    Avocado? More like olive I said.

    Never tried fresh olives so I would not know. Don’t like the pickled ones. The smooth texture, the lemak…like avocado a bit but not the skin part…

    • Look like olive but of course our dabai is more lemak. Me too, dont like the prickled one.

      I’ve pickled some dabais though. Not that I like them but I wanna try to use them for frying rice, see what it tastes like. Seems very popular.

  10. I must say that the photo shows the Sibu’s Airport is more impressive than Penang’s one. I think the airport was the old one when I visited Sibu in 2005.
    You have always been a very nice host to everyone when guests come visiting. God Bless You!

    Yes, we have a very nice and impressive airport, just a bit quiet – a little too big for this little town but maybe it will get busier in time to come. Just doing the same as what everybody else has been doing everytime I visit a place… What goes around comes around.

  11. I’ve never seen a restaurant serve dabai before!

    I guess it’s just one of those things you have to ask for, like century egg, which I always eat. Haha!

    Normally when the fruit is in season, you’ll find them at the Malay food stalls – first time seeing it at a Chinese restaurant. They were very generous too – so many especially when they do come cheap. Perhaps it was already getting late and they still had a lot left. Can’t keep long, this fruit – they’ll start to wrinkle and will not be nice anymore.

  12. Black olives doesn’t seems inviting to me, but I heard they are good?

    Ah well! What you don’t know wouldn’t hurt you but I would say it is indeed an acquired taste – not everybody would love it. Melissa’s friend liked it though.

  13. what is that A Plus? Sound familiar. I love that cangkuk manis with stewed pork leg, i had it at mum place, very very nice. Dabai? Wow!! Very nice, i don’t mind to eat that if any restaurant that serve dabai.

    How come that fried mee suah looks like fried mee hoon to me.

    A+ used to be located somewhere behind Ruby before it moved to Kpg Datu area. Used to be more popular then and nicer too. Mum’s always crowded so if Ruby was full, no need to say Mum’s anymore lah. Packed to the brim. Yes, the mee sua wasn’t soft enough so not like mee sua and not like bihun either, half half…not really that nice. Other places better. The dabai was good, very lemak. Nice!

  14. Awwww…..that’s so sweet of her to come all the way to visit your girl. Good friends are hard to come by. I’m sure they had an awesome time together. That’s such a beautiful gift from her. I miss those dabai. Well, missing too many local fruits at this time of the year…..hmmmm.

    Yes, so nice of her to drop by. Not many from that side will bother to hop over – they’d much sooner go elsewhere but ask Melissa’s friend – she’ll say they do not know what they’re missing!

  15. yay, it’s great that guests are always welcome in your eyes. from all your writings, you sound like like the perfect host … no stress, no fuss, you keep it casual and friendly and genuinely warm and sincere :D

  16. Everything looks great except dabai coz u said it is something like avocado coz I am not a fan of avocado ^_^

    Ooooo….I love it! So versatile, can do so much with it but at around RM10 for ONE, never mind! I can live without it. :(

  17. Your family and your community are so wonderful! What FUN! :)

    That sky photo is amazing! LOVE the fluffy clouds! Great photos – as always!

    Oh dear! Those clouds mean rain…not what people here would want to see especially at this time of year – floods everywhere. :(

  18. The mee sua looks very colorful, perhaps the next time you have it, it’ll be better. Of course, I’m always drawn to your posts about jungle fern. It’s something I have not seen here in the States. I guess it would have to be imported. You tease me with your postings about the fern since I’m drawn to its bright green color (love greens) and naturally I wonder how it will taste? :)

    Wind chimes are a lovely gift. We have them outside our home too, love the noises they can produce and they differ so much depending on the type and the materials used. :)

    The sea shell ones look great, lovely decor but I think they’re too heavy so they did not move with the wind, none of the very nice sounds that they make. The ferns are like asparagus – crunchy and sweet. Best part of eating these – they’re wild, organic…none of the pesticides and chemical fertilisers.

  19. Pingback: Wedding bells… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  20. I am very curious about dabai. Have seen it on your posts a few times. As for olives, I have tried them but don’t really like it.

    I haven’t had fresh ones before – just the preserved ones from China that we grew up eating – remember the 3-in-1 ones wrapped in white paper inside and the colourful transparent paper on the outside and we would put the paper on our eyes and the whole world would be turned into whatever colour the paper was? I did get a bottle of imported picked olives once though but I did not like them very much.

  21. Fried mee sua looks delightful. Not like the sticky ones that I find in KL

    Ya, same thing my daughter’s Kedah friend told us – she doesn’t like those factory-made ones over there as well, would not want to eat but she loved what she had here.

  22. Pingback: Feast… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

