Miss it…

Melissa has always been a fan of yong tow foo and we would go for that without fail here when in Penang though it did not come cheap, not at all. She said that she would also have that after the church service on Saturday nights at this lane in Sungai Petani that is lined on both sides with hawker stalls, a place that they call Er Chea, which probably means 2nd Elder Sister. Seeing that she does miss it quite a bit, when we went out for breakfast one morning, I made it a point to take her here specially for that (RM9.00)…

YTF

…even though we had just been there and I had that not too long ago.

In an earlier post, I mentioned that when she eats something, she would put aside her favourite and save it for later. Does anybody care to guess what exactly that was from this bowl of goodies?

I had some fried rice earlier that morning so I decided to have something lighter and opted for this fish ball tung hoon (glass noodles) combo (RM4.00…or was it RM5.00)…

FBTH

I enjoyed that just as much – the own handmade fish balls were really very nicely done and tasted great and so was the chili dip…

CBD

…that had the nice strong fragrance of belacan (dried prawn paste) and one could catch the whiff of it the moment it was placed on the table. That was so so so good!

My missus has the Foochow-style fried noodles (RM3.00)…

FSFN

…from the stall at the back and though it looked all right, it certainly seemed to lack any added ingredients other than those bits of green vegetables. She did not say anything nor did she grumble over it so I guess it was all right.

I went and bought some the the Sibu Foochow-style sio bee (70 sen each)…

SB1

…from the kampua noodle stall in front to take home so we could just steam some ourselves anytime we would feel like having any.

We tried some on our previous visit and thought that they were quite nice and I particularly love how nicely and neatly they’ve managed to pleat the folds in the skin…

SB2

There are some nice ones elsewhere but they do not look as nice and some may be quite a mess, in fact and there are others where they must have steamed the dumplings for too long until the skin becomes soft and soggy.

Well, do hang around – the school holidays have just begun not too long ago and rest assured that there’ll be a lot more to come!

23 thoughts on “Miss it…

  1. Is that okra I spot in the first dish? We love okra, during the warmer months it grows in our garden. Recently we got a different type of okra from some Indian friends, that okra gets huge and it’s so tender.

    The consistency of the fish balls is interesting. Is the fish broken into small flakes to make the fish balls?

    The fish, raw, is pounded into paste – the best ones would be made using a mortar & pestle and the paste has to be pounded till it has a springy texture. Not pounded enough, it would still have the fish texture and if too much, it may be too tough and rubbery. Prawn may be added – they say that will make the fish balls nicer. The commercially produced ones – flour is added so the quality will not be so good and when you boil them, they will expand from the size of marbles to that of a tennis ball!!! That will give you an idea as to how much flour has been added.

    Yes, that’s okra all right. I hear they’ve got health benefits.

    • Interesting indeed, my first thought was perhaps the fish was ground into a paste but I opted for flakes since I’ve seen that here in the States. Hmm… I do believe I’ll try to make some in a few days after I do a bit more research. I bet my daughter would love those. I have time to play in the kitchen since I won’t have to be at work tomorrow or Friday.

      A few of my uncles fish in their spare time and so I know I’ll be getting fresh fish this coming Saturday, and so if my experiment is a success, I’ll make some with that fish to put into her lunch in the upcoming week. My parents are in South Carolina for Thanksgiving visiting family. On holiday here so

      Ooooo…so lucky! That’s so very nice, getting fish fresh from the sea into your pan. :D That’s the slogan at the fish market in Auckland, New Zealand. Can’t wait to see what you’ll dish out with the fish. Hope your parents have a delightful stay. Keep warm, stay dry – pretty cold this time of year…and probably wet too.

  2. I like YTF too! Love those bouncy fish balls :D

    It depends. Not the factory-made frozen balls sold at the supermarkets – they’re bouncy too…and even the home & handmade ones, quality will vary. Like everything else, you will need to know where to go for the best in town.

  3. U didn’t put address there, just in case if there’s any visitors goggles and come across your blog, and if they are in Sibu, they can go try out the foods, hehe…

    The info is ALL there, maybe not in this one but they can just click the links to the previous posts. Why else would I bother to add the links if not for this purpose? This way, I would not need to repeat the same information everytime I visit a place more than once and end up sounding like a repeating groove in an old broken-down record. >.<

  4. no, thank you.. RM9.00 for that bowl??!! so expensive~~ and is it me or what?? i just find it very oily, probably because of the flare in the photo, or because it’s too early in the morning that my appetite hasn’t got ready yet~~ hehehe!! :p

    It’s the light. Dunno why they do not switch them all off when it is already so bright. I had difficulty snapping the sambal without any reflection – took a few and chose this one.

    Expensive? 13 items…not including the green veg and the glass noodles. How much would that be in KL? I suppose you don’t really know as you’re not into this kind of stuff. My missus said she had this at Mid Valley. Expensive, never mind…but it was not even nice at all!!! :(

  5. I love YTF but like you said, it is very expensive!

    Haha. Your girl finished up all the stuffed veggies first then save the yummy fish balls last?

    Nope, not the fish balls. :D

    Not here, not really expensive. It is worth it as the condiments are all very well-made and very nice and compared to West Malaysia where they sell each of them at RM1-2.00 each, this can be considered to be very very very cheap. I just found out that day that you can order a set and add the condiments of your choice individually. Can’t remember the prices now but I saw the list, all around RM1.00, if I’m not mistaken.

  6. All looks so great. This time I would go for the YTF & sio bee. Foochow mee lacks of ingredients. Stuffed okra, just my wild guess.

    Very close. I think she ate that second last but she said it wasn’t that nice. She prefers two of the others.

  7. Yong tau foo is a nice meal in place of a rice meal but I’d prefer the soup to be in a lighter shade though. YTF is no longer cheap these days.

    We don’t have Foochow fry here but something similar what is normally referred to as Mee Hailam, normally at Malay makan stalls. For us it’s Hokkien mee (with lard bits, of course. Yum!).

    Those sio bee look so delicious and so authentic. Over here, the authenticity of such a delicate dish has gone down the drain. Some of them even appear to be meatballs in disguise! Horrors! A plate of three comes at a price of RM2.40 or is it RM2.70. I didn’t take note.

    Melissa’s fav YTF piece? The bittergourd? I like brinjals.

    It is clear – darker in the photos after the auto-correct for more contrast and nicer colours.

    Foochow fried mee is not the same as Hailam or Hokkien…but I guess they’re all along the same lines and yet there are subtle differences – on the whole, quite different. I quite like them all but I guess like everything else, there are good ones and not so good ones – would need to know where to go.

    The sio bee are 70 sen each…so 3 for RM2.10.

    Melissa said the bitter gourd here tasted really very nice – but no, it was not top on her list of favourites, definitely not before this.

  8. I’m not familiar with yong tow foo so don’t know what to order.

    You’d love the ones here then – you just pick one of the four sets available. The combination is pre-determined, take it or leave it.

  9. Wow…Foochow-style sio bee now selling for 70 cent/ pc edi!
    These days YTF are so pricey. Here, some places selling at RM1/pc! So expensive to eat. But I like Hakka YTF. They uses combination of fish paste+pork+some salted fish as the stuffing :-)

    How much are they in Sarikei? 50 sen? Here, prices range from 50 sen to RM1.50 but it does not necessarily mean that the more expensive they are, the nicer. Will just have to know where the good ones are.

    RM1 is cheap leh. Some people were telling me they’re RM1.50 each or more. Maybe cheaper in Seremban. Are the Hakka ones the dry ones? Not for me, I would want it in clear soup.

    • RM1/pc for Seremban consider expensive edi. Summore the filling not very full wan. :-(
      Nola…the Hakka YTF oso same like these. Can put with soup. Just that the filling got additional pork+salted fish instead of fish paste alone :-)

      I see. Not these here, I’m sure. When my missus makes hers, she’ll add a bit of prawn – makes it more springy (“khiew” in Hokkien), she says. But we have Foochow fish balls here – there’s minced meat inside. Not my favourite but they’re ok – sold here and eaten as one of the items in a dim sum meal.

  10. I also love to eat handmade fish balls. Good ones are rare in KL and I would not hesitate to sapu them when chanced on tasty ones. Your plateful of Sio Bee was beautifully photographed like pretty white flowers! Is the Sio Bee the same as our Siew Mai? I love to eat them too.

    Sio bee and siew mai are as different as Sibu Foochow fried mee and KL’s Hokkien mee. Just as those are bother fried noodles, these and skin-wrapped meat dumplings and the similarity ends there.

  11. hey! i think i saw this on fb the other day. Good stuffs…

    December is coming soon.. Going anywhere for the holidays?

    Nope, staying home. Old pensioner, can’t afford to travel much. Yup…my scheduled posts are all way behind time so sometimes, I will share some sneak previews on Facebook.

  12. Sometime i will have that for lunch, some YTF and with noodles, but no fish balls for me, i don’t like those balls balls. hahahahhah..

    Oooo…I love those balls most of all, the rest just so-so. That was why I ordered that set with all the balls and the tang hoon.

  13. Let me guess, Melissa likes the ladies fingers? I like all the yong tau foo :)

    Somebody already said that earlier – she saved that till second last but she said it didn’t really tickle her fancy.

  14. My boy would definitely love the siew mai.

    smallkucing loved them so much when he was here, other than the kampua noodles, of course…

  15. haven’t been to this coffeeshop for…years! :) maybe because i’m hakka and my mum makes yong tau foo very often ;)

    Oooo…nothing beats homecooked. Let’s just say fish balls aren’t exactly my missus’ forte. :P

  16. Hhmmn, Melissa’s favourite? Brinjal? Looks like a piece of brinjal in the background, right?

    Bingo!!! Finally somebody got it right! LOL!!!

  17. Pingback: Try it again… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

