Gotta go…

I had to go to this café again as the Thai lady chef would be leaving by the end of the week and I would like to try some of the other items on the menu while I still could…and besides, a friend of mine in the same line of business in Kuching was interested in getting her to work for him so I wanted to get her contact and other details for him and let them get in touch with each other to discuss and negotiate.

This time around, we had the phad thai goong sod (RM12.00)…

PTGS

…which was very nice but I thought it was rather pricey as even though there was enough for the three of us, the serving was kind of small. Ah well, it didn’t really matter much as the most important thing was that we enjoyed the authentic taste of the popular Thai specialty…and since the chef was leaving, we would not be having that again or not so soon, at least.

My friend said that we should try the papaya salad (RM4.00)…

PS

…and we did. It was all right, a tad too sour for my liking and I would prefer mango but unfortunately, they did not have that. That evening, there was another table of diners there – they seemed to be having some kind of celebration and I saw a big, very impressive-looking dish of Thai dessert being served – with durian, mango and pulut (glutinous /sticky rice). I asked the girl at the counter and she said that they brought their own fruits and the chef specially made the dessert for them Tsk! Tsk!

We also had the tom yum nam sai talay (RM25.00)…

TYS1

…which we all liked but this was definitely too expensive as even though it has seafood in it, there wasn’t very much really but I did appreciate how they went through the trouble of stuffing the sotong (squid) with a bit of chili like this…

TYS2

Nice!

The khai jeaw (RM8.00)…

KJ

…was as nice as any omelette could be and anyhow, I love egg in any form and I thought that was nicely done and Melissa enjoyed it too.

She wanted the spring roll so we had the por pia goong (RM5.00)…

PPG1

…and it turned out that they were no ordinary spring rolls. They had fish paste, prawn and sotong (cuttlefish) and whatever else inside…

PPG2

…and boy! It was really very good!

I thought this was inexpensive – RM10.00 for 10 of their goong choop paeng tord

FPF

…just RM1 for one fairly big prawn, and they were very well-done as well.

Once again, the general consensus was that the Thai meal was indeed delightful though I wished we had had the Thai green curry again. Melissa and I thought that was simply awesome and liked it a green deal…and as we were leaving, we were already thinking as to when we could drop by again to savour more of the exqusite Thai cuisine one last time.

23 thoughts on “Gotta go…

  1. Look at you making connections within the restaurant world. ;) Hopefully that will be a good fit, if she does not have another job lined up for her.

    The food sounds and looks amazing. I really like the phad thai goong sod, salad and the egg dish. What’s that by the phad thai goong sod? Peanuts? It looks like some type of ground nut.
    Is the restaurant also closing, or is it just the chef that is leaving.

    Yes, crushed peanuts – they have that a lot in Thai cuisine. Usually it is sprinkled over the phad thai – maybe they put it by the side here as some people may not like it.

    The chef has to go back as her work permit is up and I think the owner is not going to keep the place open since business has not been good all this while.

    Ya…I get to know the good ones or the restaurant people get to know about me but I don’t get/expect any special privileges though, just help them to promote so business will be good for them to stay open and I can continue enjoying the food.

  2. When I heard of Thai cuisine, 3 words to describe, hot, spicy & sourish. Not really a fan but once in awhile I would go for it and it really can boost up one’s appetite. Food looks good and what caught my attention is the spring roll.Sad to hear that it is closing down and on the other hand, glad that you got kang tao with your business friend in Kuching.

    I just heard from somebody last night that she used to work for someone in Kuching – at a Thai restaurant there for a year but she was cheated or something – not paid or given what she was promised. Dunno anything more than this though…but it certainly is not easy being a migrant worker, all those horror stories that have been going round all the time.

  3. when you could drop by again to savour more of the exqusite Thai cuisine?? just go to that cafe everyday until the lady chef leaves by the end of the week~~ muahahahahaha!! :D

    You think money grows on trees kah? Well, I did go once again – watch out for the blogpost on the grand finale.

  4. I hope you managed to get her contact and she can work in Kuching ~ I can always fly over to try that ~ too bad it’s closed before I could try it :

    I have her the contact and hers to the potential employer – now the ball is in their court…up to them, not my business anymore.

  5. I like all your choices above!! Yummss… too bad they are going to close up.. actually Thai food is not too bad, suits our Malaysian taste buds! :)

    I love Thai! Anytime more than Japanese, Italian or western…or even Chinese.

  6. All the dishes I like! Its been a while since I stepped into a Thai restaurant. There is one nearby that serves fusion Thai food but when I went there it was full house. Staff told me must make reservation. So sian…..didn’t go back since :)

    I wouldn’t bother. No queuing, no reservations for me. If they want me to eat there, they will have to fit me in somehow or I will just go elsewhere. Wouldn’t die…not getting to eat something. I just can’t understand why people would want to do that.

  7. Still loving the sprouts, there! Glad you were able to go back!
    I tried commenting on a few posts last week and was having problems I will try and repost them tho!

    Oh? I wonder why. Didn’t get any complaints from the rest, so I wouldn’t know the reason behind that.

  8. The deep fried prawns looked SO good! And definitely cheap at just RM1 each! I think I would be happy with just that one dish! And perhaps the por piah! LOL!

    All nice… Will miss all these when the lady chef’s gone, dunno when we’ll have a good one coming our way again, a real authentic one from Thailand who can cook so very well.

  9. Som Tam and Tom Yum are some of my fav Thai food! The spicier… the better :D

    We loved it sooooo much but somebody who was there as she saw it in my blog said it was too spicy. Sibu people not really into things that spicy…but they’re learning…slowly.

  10. The omelette looks like a good fluffy one:D Yes to anything with eggs!

    That was good. In fact, unlike the salad the first time we were there, all was good this second time around. Great dinner!

  11. yum!! I love thai food, especially their steam fish!! Hot and sour, even my boys love it too.

    Oh? I didn’t know that. Saw steamed fish on the menu but I did not order as I thought it wouldn’t be much different from our Chinese ones.

  12. The photos could tell that the Thai food tasted yummy. The prices were overall cheap since it was good and delicious esp the RM1 per shrimp!! We seldom could find very good and cheap Thai food in KL.

    I’ve been to a few Thai places in KL. Mostly ok, nothing that got me really excited…but the last one I went to at Mid Valley/Gardens was bad. Will never go there again.

  13. pad thai’s one of my top five favorite thai dishes! the one you had looks a bit heavy on the beansprouts (i’m not really a fan of taugeh), but overall, i want it! :D

    Oh? I didn’t even notice it had taugeh in it. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  14. Thai food! One of my favorite cuisine, I miss the papaya salad I had in Bangkok!

    I’m sure you have Thai restaurants where you are…all the way up north, pretty near the border. What I do know is some Malaysians around there are of Thai descent.

  15. I love Thai food too. A good bowl of Tom yum goong is so delicious but I can’t take that on an empty stomach…😕

    Well, that was dinner.

  16. Pingback: Exceptional… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

