All this time…

I’ve been cooking fried rice all this time in so many different kinds of ways but I never got round to using the bumbu (seasoning)…

NGRASI

…that my blogger friend, Mery Sia, gave me quite sometime ago – in December last year, if I remember correctly.

Well, the other day, I decided to do just that…and looking at the packet, the cooking instructions certainly seemed real simple…

Cooking instructions

…but not being one to follow recipes or in this case, instructions, I decided to go about it my own way. These were the ingredients that I used…

Ingredients

- the usual suspects – the sliced shallots, garlic and fresh chili, a spoonful of my missus’ pounded cili padi dip and two stalks from my very skinny serai (lemon grass) plant…and also some prawns and two eggs.

As always, I fried the shallots and garlic in a bit of oil till golden brown before throwing in the prawns and the sliced and pounded chili. Once cooked, I added the rice and then, I added half a packet of the seasoning. I had scrutinised the contents and I saw that there was msg – that was why I decided not to use so much. After all, with all the extra ingredients, I am sure the fried rice would be nice enough already. I kept stirring till it was sufficiently fried and finally, I put in two eggs and mixed them with the rice thoroughly.

Once done, I dished out the fried rice – my version of the nasi goreng rasa ayam spesial Indonesia…

NGRASI 1

…and served…

NGRASI 2

It was nice but I think my other ways of cooking fried rice are just as good or perhaps, even better. Thanks, anyway, Merywaty – it certainly was so thoughtful of you to remember me and give me that to try.

29 thoughts on “All this time…

  1. i always use bumbu! It’s like cheating in exam! Hahahaha

    The local ones? I tried once…not nice. Had that canned stuff smell – maybe the preservatives used…and there’s msg too. Cutting down on that but I guess if it’s not very often, then it’s all right.

  2. Looks yummy. Have you ever tried fried rice with some other rice grains such as brown, red or wild rice? Gives it a healthier boost.

    Nope, but we do eat those sometimes. So far, I do not recall ever having any leftover to fry the next morning.

  3. So far I have not used any packaged seasoning for fried rice. Feels like cheating hah! hah!

    No need. We can easily cook our own, and anytime, it is even nicer. Maybe for people too busy to bother with all the ingredients, just fry with the bumbu and eat…ok lah. W would expect more than just that, I’m sure.

  4. seasoning sachets for fried rice?? hmmm, no thank you.. i don’t fancy that, just simple fried rice with salt or soy sauce will do.. and i can have loads of them!! hahaha, fried rice, always my favorite, especially with luncheon meat or like the Mayor always prefer, SPAM~~

    Just rice with salt or soy sauce. Aiyor!!! So kesian lah. Me so miskin, also not until like that. Muahahahahaha!!! SPAM, luncheon meat…all people give one. If hope for me to buy my own, no way. Pension not enough for all such things. Sobssss!!!!!

  5. Never realised that LaRaSa seasoning sachet can fry one nice plate nasi goreng special…

    Two. I used half…so there is still half left for the next time I cook some fried rice. :D

  6. Hey it is from Indonesia… must be very good.

    It was ok – nicer than the chicken stock granules – I think there are some extra ingredients in the bumbu.

  7. can you open a cooking class for newbies in cooking like myself?

    Aiyor…what is there to teach? Just dump everything in, kacau-kacau…and it’s done. LOL!!! :D

  8. I like the way you fried your rice.With all the extras added, sure the fried rice will taste heavenly. Yummyyyyy!!!…Nom!!!….

    You can’t go wrong with prawns… Fry anything with it, sure nice one.

  9. I also don’t use bumbu when I cook fried rice. Just your own version and your fried rice will turn out right! :p

    Yup, no need. Do it our ways – just as nice or maybe even nicer!

  10. Yummy! I never resort to any of these seasonings when I cook my fried rice. Seems redundant.

    BTW like your flower plate. Kept one that was handed down to me from my grandmum:D

    Me too! But as they say, the best things in life are free…and since people gave me, must give it a try lor. Have to appreciate the thoughtfulness and sincerity. That plate’s my missus’…from her family – one medium and one large. We also had the same in our family…but all gone now. :(

  11. Whatever things that your friends gave you, you sure can spend time making it looks so beautiful and delicious, even a simple fried rice like this. You are indeed having so much passion in cooking.

    Not really? Just dump in a plate, take a photo quickly…and get to the most important part as soon as possible – EAT!!! LOL!!!

  12. Too much seasoning is not good, but have to agree this seasoning really makes cooking faster and easier la!

    Not really…if you add all the extra ingredients the way I did. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  13. Eh Larasa stuff are really good! All their seasoning memang rocks wan.

    Nice kah? This one’s all right, nice but nothing to shout about. I think nicer with my own ways of cooking fried rice.

  14. HB gave me lots of Maggie cubes + seasonings and I yet to use any one of those. Hmmm…maybe is good to use start up with cooking fried rice.

    I used to love using those or the chicken stock granules…but not anymore – too much msg, even the reduced ones. Would go without those and whatever I cook still tastes great. This Indonesian bumbu is something like the granules – powder form.

  15. Yum! For fried rice, I normally fry the eggs when the shallots and garlic are about done. The salt and pepper go in too to flavour the eggs. I like the shallot and garlic fragrance and saltiness in the eggs. The rice then goes in next. To each his own, I suppose.

    I would have ikan bilis as well, other than all that…and then the rice and my eggs will go in last. I guess it’s all the same…as long as everything is fried and mixed well together – the overall taste would be there.

  16. looks good! does the seasoning make you thirsty afterwards? Sometimes I m a bit weary of instant paste…. but I am sure it taste good, especially with all your additional ingredients.

    It was ok – I only used half, seeing that it contains msg. Decided to reduce. This one’s powder though, not paste like our Malaysian nasi goreng perencah.

  17. Your fried rice looked so beautiful like from Agnes Chang’s recipe book! I must buy the same seasoning to get same results otherwise disaster looms!
    I wonder how all those old chefs could fry delicious Nasi Gorengs without all these added flavour sachets?

    I don’t either – no need to be a chef to do that. I only used this one as my friend gave it to me to try…an din my honest opinion, my many versions of fried rice are a lot nicer. Nothing like being original, fresh ingredients and all.

  18. Yummy!! I like fried rice, any type of fried rice!

    Wait! Next time you come home, I will fry for you. You will not want to eat any fried rice outside anymore after that. LOL!!! :D

  19. your work looks great, really! i love how the rice is glistening and looks pretty fluffy, and the colors are vibrantly, arrestingly appetizing! :D

    Thank you, thank you. It sure looked great, tasted great too…but I’ve had better using my own original recipes.. ;)

  20. we also hves this seasoning mix which i always use
    it was for all dishes and for fried rice, i love using it!
    it really boost the taste of anything

    Go slow on it – the msg content isn’t all that good for you.

  21. How come your serai so skinny? Hehe.. Your ingredients are good enough you don’t need the extra msg la.

    I think we use so often that it can’t grow fast enough. Ya…no need but this one’s in the bumbu that I wanted to try out.

  22. Looks very yummy. I think that you don’t need to add the seasoning because the other ingredients that you added already made your fried rice delicious.

    True, very true…but I wanted to try the seasoning my friend gave me – from Indonesia.

  23. Nice fried rice dish!

    I like the fat, juicy prawns you threw inside…very nice. :D

    Hmmm…thought they were miserably small – used to be able to afford bigger ones but ah well…something’s better than nothing. ;)

Leave a Reply

