Shortcut…

We had a nice pizza palour here once, thin crust but it has terminated its business for sometime now. I prefer thin crust as it is more fragrant and you do not get the feeling that you’re eating bread.

Well, I think I saw Pete doing it once, either in his blog or on Facebook…and Melissa’s friend in Wellington also did the same for his son when we were at their house. All they did was to use one of those frozen canai, paratha or chapati that you can get at the supermarket…

Frozen chapati

…add the toppings and put in the oven to bake…and there you have it! Your own homemade pizza, thin crust…

Chapati pizza 1

Well, that was exactly what I did! I took one piece of the chapati

Chapati

…that we had in the freezer and place it in a pan, pre-greased a bit to prevent sticking.

Then I spread some pasta sauce on top. I had some leftover from what I had cooked the previous day for Melissa when she came home for the weekend…and after that, I sprinkled some grated cheese over it…

Toppings

I think mozarella or cheddar would be nice but I only had parmesan so that would just have to do. Of course you can have your own toppings according to your whims and fancies – maybe you would want to have some bits of ham or bacon, sausage slices, mushrooms – that’s all up to you.

I put that in the oven and once the cheese had melted, it was done…

Chapati pizza 2

Ummmm….very nice, very fragrant…and it sure tasted great. Maybe it isn’t anywhere near those at the authentic Italian pizza places but as they say, beggars can’t be choosers! LOL!!!

30 thoughts on “Shortcut…

  1. Ah I think someone else do this the other day too. She used tortilla wrap as the pizza base. A pretty good idea, this.

    Wouldn’t that be extra thin…like popiah skin? I’ve seen that somewhere. Don’t think we can get it here. :(

  2. That is a brilliant idea! No need to make the pizza dough. Ah, I am going to have some fun :) !!

    Go ahead. Kind of thin…maybe next time, I will use two pieces…see if it is better.

  3. Oh. great idea. That is how you made your own yummy pizza. Ermm, why I never think of it? Learning new things everyday. Usually I just pan fried the chapati/paratha and eat with tinned curry. Yes, I can feel the goodness in every bite of your pizza.

    See! You come here and you learn new things every day. Ain’t that great? Hehehehehehe!!!! ;)

    • That is why I must drop by your blog every day. More or less like my morning breakfast. Learn new things every day. The best part is easy and hassle free receipe. Love it heaps.

      Yes, if it is not easy, then it is not for me – that’s for sure.

  4. yeah, i think it’s not difficult at all to make homemade pizza.. i’ve done that before too, see, even SK could do that, hahaha!! i used normal bread, but hey, i like the idea of chappati!! it’s way closer to thin crust pizza huh?? smart Mayor~~ :)

    Not a fan of bread crust when it comes to pizza. This is better – maybe a bit too thin but it is ok.

  5. Looks as good especially with nice and delicious spread!

    It was good. I would have gone further…but nothing much in the fridge/freezer so I just had to be happy with what I had.

  6. wow..what a wonderful idea! Capati cum pizza! I just went for a capati lunch with Elin yesterday.. healthy food.. hahaha…

    So nice. Ya…you can do this for your kids when they come home. Use pasta sauce in jars, add own toppings and put in the oven to bake. So very easy…and I’m sure they will love it.

  7. capati pizza …..you are same like Pete la…..creative

    Yes, I saw this in his blog…or maybe on Facebook, can’t remember liao!

  8. Mr. Wee, they are still around and making pizzas…just not at the outlet anymore. He’s operating from his home. Absolutely love the pizza…and he has other Italian dishes now too!

    Have to call and order…and collect. I think I’d pass. :(

    • Hmmm…I thought they deliver too? Recently had someone order and delivered to their house :D

      Oh? Not what I heard the last time. Dunno now… Even heard that they are very selective in accepting orders, will not simply do for everyone or something to that effect – like that, no need lah.

  9. Great idea! Nowadays it’s hard to find ready made pizza bread. Thanks to your idea we can substitute it with pratha/chapati bread. Cool!

    I am not too fond for bread crust pizzas. I prefer thin crust and this is good enough as a substitute, I must say.

  10. This ready made chapati is so convenient right? I am tempted to try making one also, hehe.

    Go ahead. I would prefer something thicker. Maybe you try canai instead.

  11. Tortilla sheet would do too.

    That is what I do when I have leftover sauce from spaghetti. But I used bread since my house is never run out of bread. hehehe!

    We seldom buy bread…and when we do buy, we’d probably eat a few slices…and then the rest would go all moldy and we would just throw it away.

  12. Hi Arthur! This is a clever idea… and really convenient!

    Trust lazy people like me to do things like this… Hehehehehehe!!!!

  13. wow that’s very interesting! and it looks really great and yummy!
    i better try it too

    You have this there? Maybe you have…or perhaps, naan. That would be just nice for this, I think.

  14. my family actually prefers thick-crust pizzas … cos they feel it’s more filling and therefore better value for money! :D i like your idea for chapati pizza! it could be a hit!!! better copyright the idea, cepat! :D

    Not my original leh? Cetak rompak from elsewhere… LOL!!! :D

  15. What a smart Food Mayor of Sibu!!! You should call it Chappizza! I also like thin crusts to get the maximum flavour from its toppings! I will try it this soon and add lap cheong!!

    Aiyor…what will you call it then? Chindianpizza? For this one, I think pizzapatti sounds better. LOL!!! :D

  16. That’s a fusion between indian and western food. On the contrary, I prefer thick crust pizzas especially those that is stuffed with cheese.

    You must be a bread lover then. Nice also, but I prefer the special fragrance of thin crusts.

  17. That looks good! We did something similar before too, but using Lebanese flat bread instead of capati. I like how versatile it can be when we can choose to put whatever toppings we want on top. and LOTS of cheese! hehe

    Yes, I think I would want to try on naan – that should bit a bit thicker than this. I find it a little too thing…so can’t add a lot of toppings. May end up like eating toppings, no dough.

  18. Okay.. i know what to do during Gawai holidays. Hopefully I don’t mess up my mum’s kitchen.. hehehe.. can’t wait to try this.. >.<

    LOL!!! Not messy lah! Just put in the oven to bake…no spluttering, nothing – that is if you are using the bottled pasta sauce.

  19. very good idea!!! I want to do this, so my boys can have pizza for their recess time. Sound easy, i should go and try it out.

    It is! So very easy.

  20. Good idea! I have some chapati in my fridge but no curry…this pizza idea is good :D

    Give it a try. Of course, personally I would prefer it with curry… Not really into western cuisine all that much. ;)

  21. Oooo I dont mind having this at all! How I wish my oven is still functioning. As it is, something is wrong with the wiring. As soon as I switch it on, the entire house will go dark! :(

    Oh dear! Mine, out of control…thermostat not working so it would get hotter and hotter and everything would get burnt. I got rid of it already, bought a new one. Money keeps flying out… Poor me. Sobsss!!!! :(

  22. Ingenious! Cooking is all about experimenting. All that matters is that the food comes out delicious and everyone enjoys it. Right or not?

    Yup! Follow your instincts – everything will turn out great in the end.

  23. Unfortunately, I don’t have any chapatis at home to give it a shot. I hope bread wraps would be just as fine as a substitute.

    Pizzas, I like but I find that it’s a little taxing on my system now. =/

    No idea. You can always give it a try and see it it works.

Leave a Reply

