Archive | May 10, 2013

Last Sunday…

Last Sunday, my missus and I had to go some place so we made our way there at around 11 something in the morning but it was very crowded and the cars were parked so very far away. Seeing that, we decided to go for an early lunch and come back a bit later. We dropped by this place that we had gone to many times before…

RC

…and promptly placed our orders.

My missus had the fried noodles (RM5.95)…

RC fried noodles

They used to call it Thai fried noodles but I commented in this post that it came across pretty much like mee mamak to me and there was nothing quite Thai about it…or to me, at least. Perhaps somebody read my remark…so if you drop by the place today, you would see that they have deleted the word Thai in the order form.

Well, I had that the first time around and enjoyed it a lot…and my missus was certainly very pleased with it. For one thing, the serving was huge, probably enough for two…with a whole lot of ingredients in it, sotong (squid), prawns and all. I can’t say for sure but it appears that if you dine here, make sure that not everybody is ordering the same thing as the portions would somehow seem a lot less.

I had one of their set lunches – what my missus had before - their kapitan chicken curry with rice (RM6.50)…

RC set

…that we thought was really very good. However, I remember that we got a complimentary drink with the set the last time around…but not anymore. They even charged us RM1.00 each for a tumbler of iced water. Tsk! Tsk!

Tastewise, it was as great as when we had it before but unfortunately, there were no vegetables by the side. I wish they had given a bit of the acar timun (pickled cucumber) or some potatoes in the curry. They have side orders on the menu, of course…at a price – RM3.00 to be exact.

This is new on the menu – their smoked BBQ lamb chops, currently selling at the promotional price of RM16.00 a plate…

RC lamb

Melissa had this and she loved it a lot. The gravy was superb – thank goodness it wasn’t black pepper which I do not like…and it wasn’t mushroom either, probably their own recipe…and we thought it was really good. The wedges were nice too – the batter that they used was very tasty, anytime better than those at the Colonel’s place, I must say. Other than that, they were so generous – you can see that  there were three thick slabs of lamb (with half a slice of cheddar cheese on top) unlike those miserable thin ones at most other places at a much higher price…and the meat was perfectly done – not quite tender enough, but it was done exactly how we would like it, not rare and not overdone.

All in all, it was a delightful lunch, I would say…and rest assured we would certainly be  back there again.