Miss you like crazy…

Unfortunately, it isn’t me that she misses but the super-yummy food here in Sarawak…

Annant in Sibu

I first met her in 2009this young and pretty girl-blogger who was studying at the university in Bintulu at the time. When she came over one weekend then, we managed to get together for dinner. Now, she is doing her post-graduate studies in Penang and it so happened that she came over last Thursday for a few days. She was staying with her uni-mate here but the friend was working and would not be able to get off work till much later. So, there I was – the knight in shining armour…coming to her rescue.

I picked her up at the Sibu Airport – of course, she was impressed by it as the last time she saw it, it was not air-conditioned and was like a bus terminal. Well, first things first, and I took her here for what else, but our celebrated Sibu kampua noodles. This was what she had (RM2.50)…

RS kampua

…while I had the mee pok with pian sip (RM2.50)…

RS mee pok & pian sip

I also ordered a bowl of pian sip (RM2.50)…

RS pian sip

…for the two of us to share and with our drinks, the total came up to only RM10.50. When I was about to settle that, we were duly informed by the waiter that somebody had already paid for us – it was an ex-student of mine from many years ago (from the school before the last one that I was attached to before I retired) sitting at another table inside. It certainly was so very sweet of him to pick up the tab for the two of us.

After that, we went to one of the shopping malls in town and she picked up a few things that she wanted to take home – some dried kampua noodles and mee sua and also a packet of sambal laksa.

Then we stopped here as she was craving for our very own Sarawak laksa

TC Sarawak laksa

She said that there are places selling this in Penang but they are simply not the same and are quite disappointing. I must say that she was absolutely ecstatic as she thought the laksa here was really so very good and went ooooo and ahhhhh with each spoonful that she generously dabbed with the sambal belacan provided. It was quite obvious that she missed that a lot and was enjoying it tremendously.

I was already very full from the kampua brunch so I just had their ang tao peng

TC ang tao peng

…to make up for the miserable one that I had a couple of days earlier. Indeed, the one here is way better…and you can see from the brown colour that they add gula melaka which certainly makes it a head above the rest compared to the others that I’ve tried here.

After that, I took her to my regular Malay food stall at Bandong to tapao for her some daging masak hitam and umai, both our own Sarawak specialties..and I saw some acar limau, so I got that for her too to take back to her friend’s house to enjoy with her and her family.

These were what she brought me all the way from Penang, the sweet girl…

From Annant

- thank you so much and if anyone of you is interested in her post on our brief outing (and more on her first day in Sibu), you can click the link here and read all about it.

It certainly was nice to see you again, my friend. I do hope you had a delightful stay in Sibu…

37 thoughts on “Miss you like crazy…

  1. I am looking forward to my trip to Miri this weekend…hopefully I can noms and satisfy the tummy with East Malaysian goodies :D

    Miri? You’re going for the jazz festival or something? Dunno where the good ones there – not that familiar with Miri. Hope you have a delightful trip – have fun!

  2. Yeah, I heard she was in Sibu!

    I thought she was coming back to vote then remembered it can’t be right coz she’s not from here. Haha!

    Looks like fun!

    It was great – seeing her again. She flew back Saturday and went straight home to Malacca to fulfil her duty.

  3. Great! The food ambassador from Sibu. ;-) You’re making me missing my kampung already. :'(

    Gawai holidays coming soon. Very long weekend…you can come back then.

  4. I certainly had a wonderful stay in Sibu. Everyone was telling me to stay back longer, but I have important thing to do as a Malaysian! (But haih result was soooo disappointing! But at least my leng chai won at your area :D)

    It’s like an eating marathon, people showered me with good food and i stuffed whatever I could till the berry last minute, before I went to the airport!

    Thanks for the treat and errr chauffeur service :P!

    I did try the cheese cake and asam acar at the end. The acar was like marinated nugmet? Btw, if you likey acar, the ordinary one with cucumber and stuff, my fren Mami can make really good ones! But she only sells in once a year, during CNY! Haha

    And the cheesecake omg so soft fluffy an fine! Melt in the mouth instantly! I already told them where to buy it! And the daging masak hitam! And fren dad looooved the umai. He walloped almost every bits of it. Hehe!

    Not a fan of acar…especially limau ones but people told me the ones at that stall very nice. That was why I bought. Ya…Sibu, everything is nice here hor? LOL!!! :D

  5. Ha, ha! The food, not you? I’m sure there’s a bit of both. My tummy is rumbling looking at those goodies.

    Come on over! I bet you’ll love it here…like her…and you’ll keep coming back for more!

  6. Now safe to go Malaysia bo?

    If you ask about Sibu, never been safer – nothing much ever happens around here…other than the rare isolated shooting cases in some gangster warfare. Just make sure you keep your distance. Hehehehehehe!!!!!

  7. you’re really in touch with a lot of blogger there huh!
    well the foods were as always great especially desserts
    but that thing she gave you was really interesting

    Ya? Special from Penang…

  8. All I want. Greedy eh!!!!.Certainly, gula melaka makes the ang tao peng taste a whole lot nicer. Have a great week ahead, Arthur.

    You too! Keep asking you to come to Sibu but you’re simply not interested, what to do? :(

  9. Ooh! laksa! Am glad to hear that Sibu has good laksa. :)

    I think our laksa here more lemak (more santan) compared to Kuching ones. Some Kuching people do not like, they said like curry. I like!!!! Used to love the ones at Kuching airport in the 90’s. Soooo lemak – I would buy bread to dip in the gravy. Slurpssssss!!!!!

  10. Pretty girl!! For a moment I thought your girl missed the food… looks like it is a pretty blogger! :)

    My girl gets to eat everything now that she’s very near and comes home on weekends – will not be missing anything at all.

  11. Yummy looking kampua from rasa sayang!!

    Hehehhe..see, everyone who want to go to sibu must fast first, then start food marathon in sibu!

    Yes, she ate and ate… Her friend also took her t o many places including Aloha…and the mum’s friend cooked a lot of nice stuff for her at home too. Sibu – best place for an eating marathon, that’s for sure…and cheap some more. She could not believe the kampua’s so cheap compared to noodles in Penang.

  12. heh, nice big and stylish camera that she’s using! :D and yay for knights in shining armor … we need more of you! :D

    I’m sure you’d do the same…but not in KL, i guess. Sooooo far!!!! :(

  13. The kampua looks good…sure taste good also.

    You’ve never tried Rasa Sayang? Oh my!!! My favourite in town!

  14. Thanks STP again for the daging and umai! Yum!

    Most welcome. You can get them at that fat “cowboy” stall at Bandong, by the roadside…around 10.30 to 1.00 daily weekdays but if you go around lunchtime, usually not much left. The meat, fish, prawns, sotong dishes all good…not the vegetables – except the masak lemak perhaps (poor quality control though – sometimes good, sometimes not really).

  15. aiyo, you can pay Penang a visit mah, i can be your food-tour guide (grab Ann as well of course) :P

    Been to Penang many times when my daughter was studying in Sg Petani…and I’ve been to many places on the island, eaten many of the things there. They’re ok, nice…but I wouldn’t say I miss any of them.

  16. It was great to see the beautiful Sibu Airport compared to last time when it was still under renovation. Aiya…miss the Sarawak Laksa!

    HB did not take you for laksa? Well, I guess you’ll be coming again pretty often from now on, not a problem at all. ;)

  17. Harror Constance Ant! *echo echo*
    I sometimes do miss having a bowl of kampua with pork liver soup for brunch.

    Your hubby did not come back to vote? Or you did not tag along?

  18. Hi Arthur! I think this is by far the best looking pian sip that I have seen on your blog!

    It was good but there are others here that are a bit better…but the kampua noodles are my favourite so I would rather come here than go anywhere else…and be quite happy with their piansip.

  19. Hi, for RM2.50 the serving is quite huge….very very cheap and it look delicious too. The pian sip look inviting. :)

    Yes, it IS cheap. Ant said can get nothing at this price in Penang…and so very nice some more!

  20. oo.. I just read her blog earlier… yummy kampua and pian sip… and that fiery looking laksa… wrong timing to visit this blog during this hour…

    Ya, and her awesome photos taken with her huge DSLR…. Danger zone, will certainly drool all over your keyboard and make you want to like your monitor screen when you see her photos. Mine, ok….not so alluring. Safe to come here. Hehehehehehe!!!!!

  21. I love Sarawak Laksa very much! The creamier is the more heavenly! The taste is so unique unlike other hawker food.

    You are so nice and extends your warmest hospitality to just anyone who visits!!!

    That’s what friends are for… The Kuching people do not like their laksa creamy – they say like curry but I like!

  22. Pingback: They told me… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  23. Pingback: 3D2N @ Sibu: Day 3 Last Day of Food Hunting » AntzWorLd

  24. Pingback: Throw it all away… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  25. Pingback: One night only… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  26. Pingback: You choose… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

