Just ain’t the same…

I got this from my cousin who was home recently from Melbourne, Australia…

Bonox 1

This is beef stock, something like Bovril but it is made in the land Down Under and contains beef extract (23%) unlike most of the Bovril that we can get from the shops around here, all yeast and suitable for vegetarians.

If I just take a bit of it to sample, I would say that it tastes more or less the same. However, this one is more jelly-like…

Bonox 2

…(the texture of fruit jam) unlike Bovril which flows more easily (thick like condensed milk).

Anyway, I decided to try it out with my mee sua the other morning so I fried some sliced shallots in a bit of oil…

Frying shallots & garlic

…along with some sliced garlic this time around for additional fragrance and taste in the oil to be used. Once golden brown, you may want to remove them from the oil and let them stand on some kitchen towel to soak out the oil. Later, you can sprinkle them on top of your noodles…and you can enjoy the nice and dry and crispy/crusty bits of shallots and garlic when you eat your noodles. I did not bother to go through the trouble of doing that though and just left them in the oil.

I added a spoonful of Bonox to it as well as some soy sauce and also a bit of pounded chili…

Ingredients

Nope, no msg is required…unless you insist on adding a bit of that. It will be very tasty already as it is.

Somebody commented on my Facebook photo asking if it would be too salty, considering that mee sua is already salty. What I usually do is to boil a lot more water than is necessary to cook the mee sua so that the salt will be lost into the water and the starch from the mee sua as well. After the mee sua is cooked, I will rinse it in cold water to remove any more salt and starch in the noodles – this will also prevent the mee sua from sticking together in one lump when it has cooled. Having done that, I put it back into some hot water and let it heat up a bit – you would not want to eat cold noodles, would you?

Having done all the above and draining away all the water, I put the noodles in the pan with all the ingredients and tossed everything together really well so that everything would be evenly mixed together…

Tossed

Then, I dished out the noodles and served…

Mee sua & drummets 1

I had some leftover chicken drummets that my missus had cooked the previous day – marinated with terrayaki honey sauce and oven-baked so I heated those up and had them with the mee sua

Mee sua & drummets 2

Of course it was nice, very very nice!

But between the two, I certainly would not say that they’re the same, more or less as I feel that Bovril has a stronger, heavier taste and fragrance and I would say that I prefer it more…but of course, it is all up to one’s personal preference and taste. I, for one, know that there are people who do not like Bovril because it has what they call “a rusty taste” and some would not touch Marmite while on my part, I  love them all!!!

33 thoughts on “Just ain’t the same…

  1. oh this’s is another way to handle mee sua that you mentioned today!

    ya frying some shallot and chilli in surely add more fragrant and kick in the sauce! imma try this when i’m home!

    Good luck! You’ll love it am sure. Nicer than just mee sua in Bovril soup.

  2. the stinkier the better isit? hahaha…

    Like how Bintulu belacan is many times superior to West Malaysian belacan…but the Malay teachers from your side over here – they told me they did not like. Very smelly, they said, hours after eating…could still smell on the fingers. Ummmmmm!!!!! Nice! LOL!!!

  3. You are having a Mee Sua Fest!!! Yesterday was Red Mee Sua and today is another variation. I had never seen a beef stock when I only thought there is chicken stock and no other flavours, How naive I am. So I guess there are Fish and Pork stocks in the market too.

    Fish? I am VERY sure you’ve seen stok ikan bilis at the supermarts!!!! Now if that isn’t fish, what is?

    • Yes there are indeed fish stock, pork stock and even vegetable stock cubes available. :) If you want to go more fancy there is also Veal stock and Lamb stock.

      Ya, they’ve all kinds. Best to prepare own stock from fresh ingredients, I would think…like when cooking Sarawak laksa but these are very convenient.

    • No idea haha. There are some decent mee sua here though just gotta make sure it’s handmade. Not too thick, not too thin.

      Yup, they’re not too bad…even though from that side. I’ve bought and eaten before…especially those days when we did not have dried ones here. Too lazy to buy and roll…and dry…and when we forgot, and it rained, gone case! Had to throw it all away. I’m not particularly choosy – some will never buy the dried ones…and they must buy the head or the tail, cannot remember which – they say it’s nicer. All the same to me.

  4. Have been ages since I last tasted Brovil. Not crazy about it but love it with porridge though. That plate of mee sua looks good x’pecially with the chicken drummets.

    Give it a try – you will love it! Use half Bovril – half soy sauce like me…if you do not like it too strong. Come, come!!! Have I ever lied to you? I say nice, sure nice one.

    • I believe every word of yours. Will get the smallest bottle to try out. Hope I like it. Thanks!!!!…

      Bon appetit!!! Good luck!!! ;)

  5. For a moment there I thought you had a jar of vegemite!

    I still have a jar in the fridge, not progressing very well. I prefer Marmite or Bovril anytime…or even this Bonox.

  6. Good, I have just learnt another way of cooking mee sua :) I still haven’t got round to buying bovril yet. Maybe this weekend :)

    I’m sure you’re gonna love it! :)

  7. wah, you really like all these Bovril thingy to fry with noodles huh LOL

    Not fried but “puak” or in English, tossed… Very nice!

  8. Any chance to try out suituapui homecook mee sua when go Sibu? wkakakakakaka….

    The question is – when are you coming?

  9. and that looks perfect! as in no need for any other ingredients to add!
    and that chicken looks perfect too

    It was good…and the chicken too but I think my missus’ regular recipe is a lot nicer than this sauce that she was trying out that day.

  10. If Bovril has a rusty taste, then Vegemite would taste like actual rust!

    You don’t like Vegemite too. I don’t either. Give me Marmite anytime…or Bovril.

  11. I never tried marmite or bovril on any of my dishes before.. wonder how they taste like actually.. but i remember my kids love to have a bowl of marmite soup for their lunch when they were young.. my father-in-law prepared that for them and I think they love the smell very much.. not me though. :)

    No? I suppose these things are in a way, English – during my younger days, they were “made in England/the UK”…and not to your liking. Hehehehe!!!!!

  12. looks really comforting… especially on rainy days like today in KL…. I still havent had a chance to get my hands on a Bovril… but soft smooth slippery mee sua sounds really awesome…

    is Sibu’s mee sua different from others?

    Nicer. We have the West Malaysian ones here, made in Johore, Malacca – they’re firmer, not so smooth…but I would not think it is all that different. I hear they’re great for fried mee sua though.

  13. Beef stock? Interesting! Can tell it’s super thick!

    It’s thick in texture but not really on the beef taste – Bovril is stronger, I think.

  14. Bonox? I tot botox!!!! hahahahhahahha

    Bovril still taste better? Yay, my all time favourite, Bovril. Mine just add bovril w/o any extra soya sauce or msg, it taste as good.

    You thought I am so old, would need Botox now, is it? Hehehehehe!!!! The soy sauce is to lessen the use of Bovril – Bovril so expensive mah….just a bit for taste and add soy sauce, so will be salty enough.

    • Lol…me too…blame it in my lau fah eyes…thought it’s botox

      Then the next time you see me, I would look so very young. ;)

  15. STP, whatever you cook, looks great. No bodek, sincerely from the bottom of my heart.

    Thank you, thank you. You come to Sibu, I will surely cook for you. Hehehehehehe!

  16. Looks really good and yummy!! I don’t like vegemite, does that mean I should try this recipe out? Hehe..

    I am not a fan of Vegemite either. Have tried using it for this – ok, not great…and Marmite isn’t that good either. This Bonox is nicer…but Bovril is the best! Go ahead – you can give it a try. Can use dried packet egg noodles e.g. Cintan’s, if you do not have mee sua there. Very nice too.

  17. Looks very good and yummy. Never try bovril before, but my boy likes marmite. My mum used to put marmites on my boy’s porridge, but I found that it is too salty for my boy consumption, hence I asked her not to do it anymore. I’m dreading for some Malaysian food now, can’t wait to be back!

    Craving, you mean? No nice food there kah? Ofc ourse, there’s no place like home… ;) Yes,Marmite is VERY salty, cannot put a lot…not till black like Bovril. That is why when I use Marmite, my porridge or noodles, very pale one, wouldn’t look very nice…but it is salty enough.

  18. things like marmite and bovril bring back childhood memories for me, cos my granddad loved it and used to try to persuade me to eat it. i always refused though, cos it was too strong and pungent-tasting for my young tastebuds! :D i think i’d be happy to give it a go these days, and your bovril noodles look tempting to me :D

    When I was small, everytime I was sick I would be fed porridge with either Bovril or Marmite…and ikan bawal hitam (black pomfret) – bits of the meat of the fish mixed inside the porridge…and that would be the menu of all my meals till I recovered…so much so that when I grew older, everytime I ate porridge, I would feel that I was falling sick. Thank goodness I’ve got over the stigma… Time you got over yours. LOL!!! :D

  19. I want!!! My mom always eat beehoon with Bovril and when i try it, it’s really good! I love Marmite too, spread it on a piece of toast with some butter…heaven~~ haha :)

    Try mee sua…or those egg (instant noodle-like) noodles sold in packets at the supermarts, Lee Fah or Cintan…with Bovril like this. Sure you will love it and would want to eat it again and again. Marmite’s ok…but a bit pale – cannot add a lot, so salty.

    P.S. Welcome back. Haven’t seen you around for quite sometime.

  20. I have a small bottle of Bovril in my pantry for my egg sandwiches. They go great with a dash of Bovril.
    Bonox sounds too much like Botox to be safe for consumption. lol.

    Unsafe? Doesn’t it keep you looking young and handsome?

  21. Good Lord! I have been craving Bovril ever since I read this post! I can’t get it anywhere in the states and I am dying!!! LOL

    You can’t? Gosh!!! They’re anti-everything British, are they? As far as I know, British singers can hardly make a breakthrough in the American music scene unless they’re really big…like the Beatles.

  22. Pingback: Clear… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

