Absolutely (2)…

…and now, the moment of truth! The place was awesome but how was the food?

Well, the seafood tom yam was very good…

TY

It had a slight hint of sweetness and was not all sour and spicy like at most other places.

We also had the pandan chicken…

PC1

…which looked kind of dry and crusty/hard unlike the nice ones that I would usually go for here

PC2

…but what it lacked in appearance, it certainly made up for it in its taste. It wasn’t dry or hard at all and tasted really good with whatever that had been used to marinate the meat.

The midin kerabu was really good…

MK

…and other than that, we also had the smoked duck kerabu

SDK

If I were to drop by this place again, I would just order one kerabu instead of two as they tasted more or less the same and I did not think the smoked duck one was all that great. If I’m not mistaken, they cut the duck into thin strips and deep-fried them…and with the overpowering sourish taste, I could hardly tell it was duck or anything else for that matter. I would much prefer the mango & smoked duck slices that I had here instead.

I insisted on having the seafood otak-otak

O-o

…and it was absolutely superb! Very, very nice, I would say…except that I did not like how it was served. I saw Chef Wan cooking something like this on TV and he had his in a coconut. Perhaps they can use banana leaf instead…or just transfer it into some kind of a bowl or plate and serve. That aluminium foil certainly spoils it all, I must say.

I did not mind the fact though, that they did not serve the pineapple fried rice…

PFC

…in a pineapple. I saw somebody in some forum complaining about this but I would rather have it served in a bowl than an old, dried and shrivelled pineapple that had been recycled and reused for don’t-know-how-many times, not that it will affect the taste in any way! The fried rice was good, and they certainly were very generous with the meat floss.

It seems that they have a Chinese menu as well and Gerald, the owner, kept insisting that we should try the fish head kway teow

FHKT

…and so we did. It was all right – nice but I don’t think it swept any of us off our feet and I must say that fish head is not something I would want to have when out fine dining in a classy restaurant…if you get what I mean.

A cousin ordered a plate of fried noodles for his one-year-plus daughter but before I was able to snap a photograph of it, the dish went round on the carousel and was gone in a jiffy. I liked it a lot and the general consensus was that it was very good. Luckily, my poor niece was not a big eater and was quite happy to get a spoonful or two of the noodles. There certainly wasn’t much left for her once we were through with it. LOL!!!

That night, one of my cousins passed me these…

SM

She had managed to “persuade” her friend to make this nyonya kuih specially for me – extra lemak (rich with coconut milk/santan) but kurang manis (not so sweet) and it was simply out of this world! We had a bit of that for dessert – I think I had at least four or five pieces…and when I got back to the hotel, I decided to finish the rest – that would save me the trouble of having to bring it all the way home. Muahahahahaha!!!!

AT menu

So, to sum up, I would say the food here was pretty good – it certainly was a delightful dinner but I really could not see what was so tribal about the Thai and Chinese cuisines served here. I did see a short list of some Sarawak dishes including the Melanau umai (raw fish)…and I did read somewhere that they have some very nice Foochow dishes here as well. Foochow? I wonder how they would feel at being classified as tribal. LOL!!! Anyway, I really do feel that perhaps they should think about including some local ethnic delights in their menu…lest the name of the restaurant be construed as being somewhat misleading as far as the food is concerned.

All things  considered, I do look forward to dropping by there again should I happen to hop over to Kuching anytime soon. Anybody keen on joining me?

36 thoughts on “Absolutely (2)…

  1. wow.. all the food looks so good!! The dessert makes me drool too… it is called Sri Murni over here.. one of my colleagues does that very nice too.. the top layer can practically melt in the mouth.. oh dear, now I wanna go out for my breakfast already!

    So? Changed your mind about going over to Kuching? Wks is trying to persuade you to join him and the rest… Your son can always fly over from Singapore – there’s Air Asia, Tiger Air, MAS…and join you here. Come, come. Of course, homemade is the best – can tambah lemak…

    • if she joins, i will treat u to da best ang tao peng in Kuching… but u have to bring me there… hahaha

      Humph!!! Dia main sombong, tarek harga…. Want to go Singapore only. Hehehehehe!

      • pi jaga itu anak… as wat u put it… hahaha…

        Bawa bersama ke Kuching…bolehlah berkenal-kenalan… ;) LOL!!!

  2. oooh I love that nyonya kuih so much, looks so delicious!! errr, someone please enlighten me if this is called “seri muka”?? :)

    It is “serimuka”…or here, the Chinese call it “kuih salad”…and I dunno how or why but in my family, since time immemorial, it is known as “tinggi salad”. Only Seri Murni that I know is the cooking oil brand…

  3. Food looks so awesome. I would prefer the midin kerabu to duck. Kuih salad looks really rich and lemak and for that the most I can take is 2 pieces. Too much of it would feel geli.

    Two only!!! All in all, that night, I think I had 10. Hehehehehehe!!!! Once in a blue moon…may not get the chance to eat such lemak ones every again – so nice! Slurpssss!!!!!!

    • Oh gosh!!!… took 10 of the kuih salad that night itself. Wonder how????

      My tangki XXXXXL one bah!!! Muahahahahaha!!!!

      • Doesn’t make sense. I remember your T-shirt size is XXXL only, hahaha!!!…

        Time passes, people grow… LOL!!! :D

  4. Tom Yam and Midin Kerabu would be my choice! ;-)
    The nyonya kuih…that green layer, the more lemak the more nicer! ^_^

    Of course. But the pandan custard will not be very firm, wobbly and difficult to transport here and there – have to handle with care. The firm ones – not lemak at all – not worth the calories!

  5. What a feast! So the decor is more ethnic/tribal than the food but with such good food I guess no one can complain. What about the prices?

    I’m afraid I have no idea about the prices as somebody picked up the tab that night… Should be the usual, I guess…for places like this – not cheap, I’m sure…but as long as it is nice, great surroundings, great company…then it’s worth it. Well, they can browse through my earlier posts and pick up a recipe or two – my Melanau-influenced kampung style dishes…and they can add to the list of local tribal fare in their menu.

  6. Haha..I just had tom yam soup last night with HB..but it’s the white version. Less spicy. Somehow, the spiciness manage to trigger the gastric pain.

    I like the kuih. Yea, I can see is very rich & creamy. Very enticing!

    Had very nice white one here once – I hear the guy has left town so it is no longer available. Personally, I prefer the not-too-spicy spicy version

  7. So, it wasn’t really tribal food then! But no matter, Thai food is always a hit. I love tomyam and pandan chicken :)

    Me too! I love Thai…and that otak-otak was really good. Must have that again if ever I get the chance to drop by there in future.

  8. I love Thai food all the time, because of I like it spicy and sourly.

    I like dishes such as otak otak, pandan chicken, green curry and tom yam.

    Oh? You do? Then we’re on the same wavelength – would rather have this kind of food instead of Japanese, Italian and all those… My daughter would probably beg to differ though – young people today, not the same.

  9. Eh we just had Thai food with a relative who came back from US for her late father’s funeral recently. Sama we had aTOMic Yam, pandan chicken, fried paku and petai..Its been a very long time didn’t ‘drink’ spicy soup since the last food poisoning after eating the cockles in the curry mee haha

    Oh! You can eat spicy stuff now? Bet it was the cockles in the curry mee, not the spiciness that was the root of the problem. I seldom go for those – must be very very careful when eating them. I love Thai – so exotically delightful!

  10. Very nice place. There’s certainly a lot of meat floss on that pineapple fried rice. But having too much would not make the rice too dry? I love the extra lemak kuih…yummy!

    It was fine when mixed together with the rice. In fact, I eat meat floss just like that, scoop after scoop using a spoon. Hehehehehehe!!!! I’ve yet to find any good nyonya kuihs in Penang…or anywhere in the peninsula – definitely none of this standard.

  11. That’s quite an unusual recipe, the smoked duck kerabu. I wonder what’s the origin of it :D

    No idea. I would think the slices with mango would be more Thai…or even if cut into strips – both fruit and duck…but not deep fried like that. It was at best, just ok, like any kerabu and not something I would want again.

  12. well foods seems great as well
    tho the chicken was kinda dry since its crusty and since im’ a chicken lover
    i will surely love that

    It only looked that way – actually, very nice, not hard and dry. I would order that again the next time around.

  13. nyonya seems pretty tasty and chewy too huh

    Definitely NOT chewy!!! If chewy like rubber, that is the indication that it is poorly-made, not worth eating…just make your teeth dirty only. The good ones are rich and the top custard layer would just melt in the mouth…and the glutinous rice layer must be nice and soft too, not hard. Not easy to make really good ones, I would say… Very special skills needed.

  14. i like that nyonya kuih that you ate! I don’t normally like glutinous rice and coconut milk combined…but that is one classic kuih that I like!

    I love nyonya kuihs, but must be really rich and really well done. Those nyonya kuih stalls & shops at the malls in KL are just so-so, good enough to appease a craving but far from what I would classify as really very good.

  15. Yeah, I’m craving for that meat floss fried rice too. It’s a generous scattering, I mean, dumping of pork floss! :D

    You like? Eeeee….I just gave away some. Should have kept that for you. I would prefer bak kua…even with fried rice.

  16. I think the best dish would be the nyonya kuih from your cousin. It looked really nice and well-oiled for the smooth texture. Makes me wanna have a piece now too!

    Too bad it was home-made by my cousin’s friend – exclusively for the selected few. Had to beg her and twist some arms, I heard – money just can’t buy.

  17. every dish looks pretty good in portion and quality. I agree with the pineapple rice, as long as it taste delicious, I really dont mind it being served just as it is on a plate. Plus one can never fit much rice in a pineapple anyway… lol…

    oo. the seri muka looks fabulous, I can literally see how creamy and soft it is…

    Out of this world, the serimuka! Special request, home made – money just can’t buy!

  18. Oh God. I just came back from office and seeing this? Oh my God!

    I just want to eat them all. Not to forget the dessert too! Haha

    There’s this place – Khun Thai or something in Penang – very nice, I hear.

  19. wahaha :) mr goh should be so proud that you blog about his restaurant! :) i do agree with the food not tally with the name of the restaurant. my friends actually term this place as Absolute Thai. so envy you! i miss kuching already :(

    Ah!!! You’re a personal friend of Gerald? What’s in a name? A rose by any other name would smell as sweet… As long as the food is great, the place is nice and the service is good – that’s all that matters.

  20. So they serve Thai food… And suits our Arthur’s taste bud! Must be very good then… :D

    To be honest, my favourite would be the Nonya Kueh! The blue pea flower colouring, pandan aroman, the coconut milk and the sweet glutinous rice! Yum!

    I love Thai! And don’t you go asking whether I mean Thais or the food… Saw your comment in somebody’s blog. LOL!!! :D Hey! Can you make this peranakan kueh? Heard there are some awesome ones in Katong? Never found any good ones in Penang…and did not see any in Malacca either.

    • Did I? Must be on your blog then! :)

      I’m really into baking or making kueh… but dun mind eating them… Katong? Oh yes… that area is famous for their Peranakan heritage…. Let’s go there when you come Singapore, my pal…

      Ahhhh!!!! I would love that a lot! Would bring lots of pleasant memories, I’m sure – used to stay in that area. If I used the short cut from my lane and come out on East Coast Road, that would be St Patrick’s School right in front. I wonder if it’s still there…

      • Oh yes, St Patrick’s School is still there at Marine Parade Road. Opposite the all boys school is a Convent (CHIJ Katong Convent)… So no prize for guessing where the boys head to after school! Haha…

        Marine Parade? There wasn’t a Marine Parade when I was in Singapore. That came later with one place called the Big Splash – where people would come down a giant slide into the water below…in one mighty big splash…and everyone would hang around thrre waiting as word went round that in some cases, the tops would come off the bikinis…@.@!!! LOL!!! :D

  21. Nyonya kuih extra lemak…sure someone over here also want

    Sorry, not for public consumption – only for the privileged, selected few. Hehehehehehe!!!!!

  22. Pingback: Home for the weekend… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

