Over and over again…

I have blogged about cooking those factory-made egg noodles (available in all supermarkets in plastic packs), kampua-style, with dark soy sauce or mee sua (Foochow thread/strong longevity noodles) in a similar way but with Bovril added here and also here and even with the dried mee sanggul but I think most of the time, I merely described the process with a couple of pictures thrown in here and there and never really showed the whole process in detail. Well, seeing that people are still saying that they cannot imagine what kampua noodles are actually like…and asking over and over again whether it is like wanton noodles, I think I will share with everyone the whole thing but step by step this time.

I used mee pok, the flat version of our local kampua noodles as that was what I had in the fridge that day. My missus had bought a bag (usually 1 kg) and dumped it in the fridge so that I could cook for breakfast whenever I felt like it. Nope, I did not use all of it – maybe, just a third…or enough for 4-5 plates/servings.

Firstly, I peeled and sliced some shallots and fried them in a bit of oil…

Step 1

…till they turned golden brown. If you want to cook the original/authentic Foochow kampua noodles, you will need to use lard but I am usually not too bothered about it and will just use whatever cooking oil that is available instead. Doing this will give the oil that very nice fragrance of fried shallots.

As you can see, I did not bother to transfer the oil and shallots onto a plate or something and just used the pan for what I had to do next. I can imagine all the ladies shaking their heads in disbelief and muttering to themselves, “Men!!!” LOL!!!

I added one spoonful of Bovril and one spoonful of dark soy sauce and a bit of msg to the oil and shallots…

Step 2

You can leave out the msg and if it so pleases you, you can add a spoonful of chili sauce or pounded chili or even some pepper. You may vary the amount of Bovril and soy sauce added according to your taste – some of you may prefer it a bit more salty but I was fine with this.

Actually you can take out the fried shallots and put aside for use later as garnishing…but I did not bother about that as well. As you can see, when I cook, I’m not a stickler for all those little details especially with regard to presentation  and what not – as long as it tastes good, that’s fine by me.

Boil water in a pot, enough to cover and cook all the noodles, and when it has started boiling, throw in the noodles…

Step 3

…and bring the water back to boil. When the noodles have softened, drain away the hot water using a sieve…

Step 4

…and rinse with cold water from the tap. You can put the noodles back in the pot and fill it with water for this purpose which is to rinse away the excess starch in the noodles and to prevent over-cooking of the noodles resulting from the heat. All this is so that your noodles will not stick together in a clump when it has cooled down a bit – especially when you do not use so much oil as in the shops to keep the strands apart.

Drain away the cold water and put the noodles back in the pot. Fill it with boiling water…

Step 5

…and bring it back to boil so that you will not end up eating cold noodles.

Finally, drain away the water again and add them to the ingredients you have prepared earlier…

Step 6

…and toss really really well…

Step 7

…coating every bit of the noodles with the fragrant ingredients.

Serve the noodles in a plate and garnish with very thinly-sliced char siew (red barbecued meat), fried shallots (you can save the ones earlier for this) and chopped spring onions. I did not bother about the shallots – they were there mixed with the noodles already and I did not have the rest…so what I did was, I fried an egg to go with the yummy noodles…

Bovril mee pok & egg

So, if you have seen the hawker preparing wanton noodles, you would be able to tell right away that they are in no way the same – other than the fact that they are both tossed noodle dishes.

Anybody care to give this a try? I assure you it is really very easy and it is very very nice. Yum! Yum! Yum!

37 thoughts on “Over and over again…

  1. feels like having kampua mee now…ohohoho

    I guess you don’t have a choice there – will just have to cook your own. Come, not so hard to do that really – you can do it!

  2. gosh, I can’t remember when was the last time I had Bovril! Umpteen years ago…. lol
    well at least I have a reason now to go buy a bottle! :D

    looks lovely… simple dish always taste the best!! yr egg looks awesome, my favorite crispy edges with a runny center…

    Don’t be shocked! It is very very very expensive now. Over RM30 for a large bottle. You can do without it – just use soy sauce but the added flavour will bring the taste of the noodles to a whole new level. :( I like my fried egg this way too… :)

  3. Awww….I hope to have this as my breakfast this morning. So hungry right now! I never thought of adding bovril into noodles.

    Never had that before – my missus’ recipe… She cooked it this way and I loved it…and since then, there’s no turning back!!! Nice, very nice!

  4. Bovril! It’s been ages since I had em. Stopped buying them since my boy started to wean!

    Hard to get the ones with real beef now – mostly yeast, like Marmite. Still tastes quite like Bovril though…not like Marmite or Vegemite, and it’s very very expensive! Luxury item! You see them locked in the shelves in the shops.

  5. ooohh….. got Bovril! I like it. When I was young, I made beef soup out of it. The noodles got taste of it?

    My mum too! She would make beef soup with it and serve mee sua in the soup. Nice also but comparing the two – I think I prefer this dry version…even with mee sua. More fragrant, tastier.

  6. That kampua is the broader type one, right? The one you bought for me last time is the finer… anyway, looks good, fine or broad… hahahaa….

    Yup, more or less the same but some prefer these flat ones…

  7. oooh, that is nice!! i am drooling now.. so Brovil is the secret huh?? :)

    Very very nice…my own version, or to be exact, my missus’ original. ;) I guess they can;t have that outside – Bovril’s too expensive.

  8. Don’t worry, I won’t shake head. Infact, I will also do it the same way as you. Looks good. Will try it when my mood come. Thanks for the step by step recipe.

    Hah!!! Another one! Don’t be lazy now! Give it a try! You’ll love it!

  9. I love kampua mee….very nice.

    Try cooking your own…with Bovril! And 1 kg, can cook so many plates, 10 perhaps – less than RM2.50 a kg, I think or around that price – the cost of one plate outside.

  10. STOP PRESS:
    Will be flying off to Kuching in a while, back on Wednesday (day after tomorrow)…so MAY not be replying to comments this regularly, I guess. Stick around – scheduled posts all lined up, no worries. NORMAL SERVICE WILL RESUME SHORTLY! LOL!!!

  11. is this “chieng mien” or flat kampua?

    You know what, last two days i just cooked this for breakfast!! Yummy!! I use Vit’s noodles since i cannot find kampua noodle here. It taste good too.

    Vit nice? I’ve seen in the shops, never bought. This is what we call mee pok here – actually, the flat kampua…but can use any kind of noodles, will be fine.

  12. Very practical approach to cooking! I see, so Bovril is one of your secret ingredients. Never tried it before but I think I will like it. OK, I will bookmark this page and do some experiments one of these days. I can get wanton noodles for the supermarket for this. Wow, I feel so motivated :D

    Go! Go! Try it out and blog about it. Can’t wait to see your verdict! I love it!

  13. I’ve heard of Brovil since I was a child but had never tasted it. The noodle reminds me of the instant noodle – myojo mee poh. haha…..

    Hah!!! SK!!!! Another one! It’s Bo-vRil. :D Ya…you can use the mee poh too…but it is a waste of the accompanying ingredients. Might as well get those noodles in plastic packs, the ones with no ingredients provided. Same also.

  14. i think i’d happily gobble three plates of that in one sitting :D my grandfather used to love Bovril, and he kinda passed on a bit of a liking for the flavor to me :D

    You’d love it then, I’m sure. Come, come to Sibu and I’ll cook for you – any number of plates that you want. Hehehehehehe!

  15. Hi Arthur! I have not thought of using Bovril this way! But I could imagine the taste with the mee pok and I like what I had imagined…. but leave out the MSG. :D

    Ah!!! Healthy eating eh? Once I added pounded chili (with garlic added), chopped spring onions and Chinese celery – no need for msg and it tasted superb. I could taste how delicious it was plus the fragrances of those added ingredients – no need for any msg at all.

  16. Hehehe never had Bovril in my kampua/mee pok before. Usually just lard (if I have), shallot oil, dark/light soy sauce, chicken stock cube (no msg type) top with char siew/wantons and some spring onions. :D Actually you’ve seen my posts about them anyway. Adding a fried egg is awesome too!

    Hah!!! Doctor very healthy eh? No msg! But you eat out – you cannot imagine how much msg they add. For kampua, one plate – one teaspoon, heaped!

    I’ve cut down the use in my cooking, just a pinch…so when I eat out, even for kampua, I would tell them to use less…or I would feel thirsty and a kind of thickness or discomfort in the mouth…and a funny sensation – like those msg crystals exploding!

    Once, I had Foochow fried noodles (with gravy) outside, and I saw the cook add one ladle of msg…and added some more – I almost fainted. Never went back again!

    • But not all of the hawkers would use less MSG, even if requested. =( The last my Mom successfully convinced a hawker to do that, she had to tell him that “it’s okay; if it’s not tasty, it’s okay.”

      Personal experience.

      No? It’s ok here. They would probably love the idea – use less = save a bit = more profit. I know one restaurant here – ok when I go and order…but when others order and invite me along, the food would surely by overloaded wit msg. They know my taste already and I will always remind them.

  17. it seems like those instant noodles which i enjoyed the most,
    hmm it looks great but i guess it was indeed better with egg

    Yup, you can use those to cook this. No problem at all.

  18. You always make it so easy to cook anything! The problem with me is that I cannot even get started!

    It is easy! You are lazy, L-A-Z-Y, that’s the problem!

  19. STP, it is definitely a plate of good looking noodles. It is easy to prepare. I may try and bear all your tips in my mind. Thanks.

    If I can, anybody can…and I’m sure you will too – bet you will come up with something a lot more impressive.

  20. Pingback: Wash it down… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  21. Pingback: Not what I expected… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  22. Pingback: I’ll take your word… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  23. Pingback: I’ll take your word (1)… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

