Apple of my eye…

The other day, the apple of my eye made this apple pear crumble…

Melissa's APC 1

If anyone is interested, this was the recipe she followed:

Ingredients
1 Chinese pear (the round one with yellowish skin)
3 red apples (I used the big variety)
4 tsp sugar
1/2 lemon (squeeze the juice out)
butter
Digestive biscuits (I bought the 400g one)

Steps
1) Peel the fruits, remove the seeds, & cut them into cubes.
2) Put them into a pot that fits, add sugar & lemon juice. Let them simmer until soften. Not till mushy, alright?
3) Meanwhile, melt some butter in a pan or pot then put it aside to cool.
4) Crumble about half the biscuits in the packet. Then, mix it well with the butter.
5) Are your fruits soft enough yet? If they are, time to pour them into an oven-safe dishware. In goes the juice too.
6) Pour the biscuit crumbs on top & spread it evenly with your spoon.
7) Set your oven to 180C, put your dish in & leave it to cook for about 30 mins.
8) Once done…

Melissa's APC 2

…take it out & serve with ice-cream.

Melissa's APC 3

Enjoy it with family and friends.

I would say it was very nice and I enjoyed it a lot – anytime better than what I had here…and it certainly looked easy to make. Go ahead – you can give it a try!

29 thoughts on “Apple of my eye…

  1. You lucky man, Arthur! I look forward to the day when my kids cook or bake something for me… :D

    The time will come, no worries…and if yours inherit your culinary skills, you will definitely get stuff a lot more impressive than this. Wink! Wink! ;)

  2. It looks amazing! Approximately how much butter did you use though?

    From what I saw – not much…around one-fifth of a block of butter. I guess it just needs enough to hold the crumbs together.

  3. Melissa made this for you? Wow! She used digestive biscuits… certainly something I can use up. I have lotsa stale ones at home. :D

    Go ahead. It’s like making the base for those set cheese cakes…and it will taste like that too.

  4. Oh! That looks lovely! Bet it tasted very good more so when baked by your much loved daughter :) I did not know that making a crumble is that easy. Will sure try it one day :)

    I didn’t too. So surprised when she told me – so very easy. This is without the custard cream though…but the ice cream to go with it was good enough.

  5. aiyooooo looks so delicious this apple pear crumble from the apple of your eye.. sure it’s the “applest” thing in the world for you, hehe :p

    It certainly was nice. Wouldn’t mind making that again for dessert as and when the need arises since it’s so easy to make.

  6. wow thanks! im gonna try that! but… pear.. not my fav.. >.< maybe i can replace with smtg else. =p

    You can just have apple. My daughter threw in a bit of pear as she wanted to do it a bit differently.

  7. I should do this…but apple crumble only since pears run out quite fast at home. Have lots of green apples at home as a result of not juicing for the 3 days when we were away for our beach getaway.

    Go ahead. It’s so easy to make… Just apples will be just as nice.

  8. Oh Apple Crumble! One of my fav desserts but i only like to have it with vanilla ice cream (big NO to chocolate), i had seen some savored the dessert with some original flavor yogurt too (if you prefer a slightly sourish taste)

    I would prefer vanilla only too. My missus went out to buy the ice cream. Perhaps she was attracted by the colours. I wouldn’t buy the brand she bought either… :(

  9. Apple crumble, i loves, but i have not tried with pear…

    Melissa thought she would just add a bit of that to try something different.

  10. Looks like easy but I have one major problem – MALAS!!!! I only like to eat.. how?

    Then don’t eat… Hehehehehe!!!! Wei!!! True blue nyonya, where got malas one? They take pride in their cooking and love to cook for people to enjoy. So when are you inviting me over? ;)

  11. looks really warm and delicious! I love a good crumble… warm, toasty and served with icy cold vanilla ice cream… you make me wanna go and bake a crumble now!

    oo… Chinese pear… I have never use this to make crumble, always thought can only use the green ones cos the bake better…

    I would just stick to apple – good enough.

  12. You are one of the luckiest dad, I should say. Looks great and I am sure it taste awesome with ice cream. 2 thumbs up for daddy’s girl.

    You have a daughter too, right? Other than a son? Hmmm…must get them to cook for you then…or wait till you have a daughter-in-law. LOL!!! :D

    • Into cooking, my girl is not as adventurous as his brother. Guess have to wait for my son to cook this for me. Hopefully he will.

      Fingers crossed. LOL!!! :D

  13. Seems very nice and delicious. But I think the best part is the crumble is made by your daughter. That would be the warmest part :)

    True, very true… ;)

  14. nice recipe! the apple of your eye certainly has a good dessert-making talent! :D

    She did a good job. Wouldn’t mind getting her to make again…maybe to serve as dessert at a gathering or something. Very nice.

  15. Justyn loves to bake and cook and he’s pretty good at it too. He’s pretty good at visualizing how he wants his dish to come out and taste like and work it from there. No recipe whatsoever. I baked a mango and blueberry crumble last week and yesterday we had apple tart tartin with homemade vanilla ice cream. Sama la like yours :)

    Yum…yum…wish I could be there to enjoy all those. How come he never baked for me when I was there? Hmmmm…next time, he will just have to do that, like it or not. ;)

  16. Looks yummy, STP. I never try this before. I will eat just the apple crumble and forego the ice-cream. I think it will taste good just like that, right?

    Aiyor…so kesian. Hmmm…honestly and very frankly, I don’t think it would be a good idea for you to come to Sibu – here, it’s mostly about food and if you are scared of eating for fear of putting on weight, I don’t think you will enjoy it here – nothing much else in this little town.

  17. So good to have girl ya..now she can cook for the parent. You just sit back and enjoy.

    Apple Crumble, looks very good! Recipe looks easy too, maybe i should try it one day.

    She loves cooking actually…but she prefers to do it on her own. So when somebody is around, she would not bother… It is nice – you can give it a try! So easy.

  18. Oh… it looks delicious! I like it when the crust is thin and loads of apple in it.

    I love the crust…and I think I’d like the apple a little more mushy. Well, to each his own, I guess – everyone had his or her own preference.

  19. I was saying that Melissa will make somebody a happy man some day! She can really know how to cook.. hmmmm… i wonder when my girl will learn how to do so..hehehe…

    I wonder who that lucky man will be. Hint! Hint! ;) No sound, nothing at the moment… Sigh!!!! :(

Leave a Reply

