Five years…

It’s been five years. Five years ago, on this day, I published my very first post and thus, launched this blog of mine. I did not know what I was getting into at the time – many of my friends were doing it (though many have faded into oblivion by now) and it seemed like fun and the in-thing to be – a blogger!

I started off sharing all kinds of things about anything under the sun – lifestyles and experiences, stories – fact and fiction, recollections of things in days gone by and of course, food…and somehow or other, along the way, most of my posts these days are about food and even though I may digress to other things of interest once in a while, those occasions would be pretty rare.

I’m not in it for the money – this is not a money-spinning blog so there are no ads to click, no paid posts, nothing so it is up to me to blog about anything that pleases me…

All for myself

…and those who happen to share the same interest. There have been times, few and far between…when some individuals who were not to happy with what I said or did not quite agree with my point of view went through the trouble of commenting and I do welcome those who do it nicely – otherwise, I would not let them get past Akismet and would just click delete and send any such comment to kingdom come. I do not have time to waste on the likes of those – if you do not like it here, get lost! What makes them think I would be interested in what they have to say, anyway? I’m not here to please anybody…only myself and when there are others who are pleased with what they see here and love to drop by regularly, I certainly would welcome them with open arms, not just here in my blog but even when they care to take the trouble to drop by my simple, little town – Sibu.

Indeed, I have been so abundantly blessed as since I started this blog, I have made so many wonderful friends from far and wide and indeed, such sincere friendships are not easy to come by, those that money just cannot buy. You know who you are – I will not go through the trouble to list each and every name but to all of you, I say a very big THANK YOU…

Thank you

This is the 1,882nd post with a current total of around 53,000 comments which works out to around 30 per posts, out of over 1,000 views on good days and around 500-600 on the slow ones. Of course, it feels nice to know that one has an audience, that there will always be someone somewhere out there here with me and that certainly helps keep me going but whatever it is, I guess I will just keep on going as long as I feel like it.

I thank God for always being here with me each passing day in my golden years…

Thank God

…and I really must thank each and everyone of you too for your company and for your love and friendship.

On my blog’s 5th Anniversary, here’s to one and all! Cheers!!!

51 thoughts on “Five years…

  1. wow! Five years! That is an amazing achievement. Happy 5th bloga

    Oops! Posted comment too fast? Never mind – the more the merrier. ;)

  2. wow! Five years! That is an amazing achievement. Happy 5th blog anniversary!!

    Thanks, Julia. If it had been a baby, he/she would be starting kindy now… How time flies.

  3. Happy 5th blog anniverysary!!!! Always love coming to your blog even though I lazy to comment often. Love your humour, love your writing, love your food pictures. Well not always love your food pictures because I can see but don’t get to eat :)

    LOL!! Thanks, Gert. I do drop by yours as well sometimes…if I get to see a link somewhere indicating that you’ve a new post. Too lazy to go and click on my blogroll to see. Hehehehehe!!!!

  4. Happy fifth anniversary… Keep blogging. You have our support! :-)

    Thanks, Azura…and thanks for dropping by and commenting regularly. Readers like you keep me going. ;)

  5. r u sure its been five yrs? wow! Time flies! Kudos to u and just to say yr blog is my morning coffee :)

    Yes, 2008…and it’s 2013 now. Thanks for dropping by.

  6. Arthur, Happy 5th Blog Anniversary! You have done well. Yours is the only blog that I come to to pay homage every morning hah! hah! I enjoy your posts and here’s to many more blogging years to come!

    Thank you, thank you. Sure am glad that you are here every morning, appreciate it heaps!

  7. Happy happy 5th birthday to “suituapui”!! Keep blogging and keep torturing us with your food post!! Hahaha

    Thanks. You enjoy the torture, eh? Hehehehehehe!!!!

  8. Happy 5th blog anniversary! I’ve been enjoying your post since the day I arrived. Hope you will continue to blog for many years to come, and hope I can pay a visit to you at Sibu very soon. Have a great day Arthur!

    Thanks, and thank you for your sweet words. Would certainly look forward to welcoming you here. Hope that will come true some day. You too, have a great day.

  9. Happy 5th anniversary to your blog…

    For me, me also not into $ when writing blog, i just post pictures and write whatever place i go, eat, etc…

    Thanks. I guess money isn’t everything unless one really needs it – the enjoyment and the friendships are things money can’t buy. I’m pretty sure my blog would lose its character if I were to go all out to blog for money. Wouldn’t be the same anymore.

  10. Happy birthday! Wah, making me all teary with those nice words about me. Thank u thank u, will bring u to tony roma if u here again, tis time cannot reject oredi… Now, where’s my kampua?

    Perasan!!! LOL!!! Kampua in exchange for Tony Roma? Wah!!! Am I getting a good deal or what – kampua so cheap and Roma’s so expensive. But it’s in KL, Pavilion…right? Aiyor…jam lah! LOL!!! :D

  11. Congratulations and jubilation!! *sing ala Cliff Richard* You’ve so many fans/followers, yours truly being one of the newest one as you know ;) Keep it up!!

    Thanks, and welcome… Get your friends to drop by too – the more the merrier. ;)

  12. HAPPY 5TH BLOGGING ANNIVERSARY!!
    Come to think of it, mine is also 5 years, I started in January 2008 and I notice that a few bloggers I know also started around that time.. but one or two have left the scene… hope those around will carry on blogging till come what may! Yes, it is indeed wonderful to blog about our daily lives and at the same time, we get to know so many bloggers from all over the world… it reminds me of having pen-pals during my younger days but blogging of course is even better, no stamp fees.. only internet rates.. hahaha..

    Thanks. Yours is a .com – you have to pay for that as well, right? Mine’s free… Oh? You actually started a few months before me – I only cam into the scene after I’ve retired.

  13. Happy 5th Anniversary to STP!
    I once told my friend that I won’t create a blog. Bcos I am a lazy person :-p
    But they persuaded…and there you go I’ve already blogged for 3 years! LOL!
    Although I do not write daily…. hehe….

    Thanks. Me too – simply refused to start a blog but I went to everybody’s to post comments and make a nuisance of myself. Everyone was wondering – who was this stp, commented everywhere but no blog of her own. Yes, they all thought I was a woman. Hehehehehehe!!!!! In the end, I was forced into it and look at me – stuck to this day! LOL!!! :D

    • LMAO!!! I initially tot STP is belongs to a woman too!! LOL!!!

      Hahahaha!!! Distracted by the “sui” = beautiful. Gee! Would any woman call herself “tua pui”? I wouldn’t think so. Hehehehehe!!!!

  14. Congratulations on the 5th Anniversary of your blog. With beautiful photos, and write ups which are sincere, informative and witty, you deserve a huge fan-following. May good health and happiness keep you blogging for a long, long time. God bless.

    Thanks and thank you so much for your nice, kind words. Bless you too!

  15. Happy 5th Anniversary to ‘suituapui’…Yes, in fact the blogging journey has bring my life to another stage. All the best and continue with your blogging passion.

    Thank you. All the best to you too.

  16. Amazingly, happy 5th blog annivesary. Keep blogging. I, for one will be the happiest to drop by and comment each day…and I have learnt a lot of simple yet delicious cooking from your blog.Thank you once again.

    Thanks, and most welcome. Will certainly share any easy recipes that I may have, glad you like.

  17. So long as it makes you happy is all that matters cuz.
    In any event you make more friends so keep on blogging.
    Congrats to you.

    Thanks. Yes, once working, married…my circle of friends was quite restricted. Glad to get to know all the nice people all over now. Certainly gives more meaning to life.

  18. Happy 5th anniversary :) I tot it’s longer than 5 years, you keep a very good blog Mr. Wee. Hope another great 5 years to come.

    Thanks. Sure will keep on going as long as I can.

  19. Happy fifth anniversary!

    I remembered when I first met you in Sibu, you told me you were going to stop blogging! Luckily you changed your mind and got stuck till today and many many years more of blogging! :D cheers!

    Thanks. Looking forward to seeing you in Sibu again…while I’m still at it. ;)

  20. Congratulations on your 5th anniversary STP! Wah, your “baby” is growing up so quickly isn’t he/she? ;) Though, we only discovered your blog recently, must say that we really enjoy your posts!

    Thank you, and thanks for your compliments.

  21. Keong Hee! Keong Hee! Congratulations to the Food Mayor of Sibu. I have learnt a lot about fabulous travels, exotic and unique food from your blogs… This knowledge, money cannot buy lah!
    Eh! God came to visit your blogs too? How nice!

    I also learnt that you are the luckiest blogger with the most gifts from well wishers all over the world!!! I am sooooooo jealous lah! Ha ha ha…

    Those are all blessings from God – without Him, all this would not have been possible and I am truly grateful. Thanks.

  22. Yes, you are the one who make me know better of Sibu. Who’s know? I will be there one day.

    Then, I know who I should contact for the best kampua mee, kompia, pian sip, mille crepes and etc.

    Happy 5th anniversary blogging , Suituapui.

    Thanks. Certainly’s hoping and looking forward to seeing you here in Sibu soon… ;)

  23. Hey, 5 years ago today both of us embarked on something new. You as a blogger and I as a migrant. We’ve learned and survived. Happy 5th anniversary to you, thank you for your friendship, your loving kindness, your crazy humour, laughter and most of all, YOU:) Here’s to another 5 years and more…cheers!

    Cheers!!! And thanks so much for your nice words – you’re so sweet and I sure am blessed that you’re my friend, you, Simon and Justyn. Love you all! Muuuuuaaaaahhhh!!!!

  24. Wow Arthur! 5 years and going very strong!!! Although late, I’m glad to know you through blogging… You impressed me with your energy level, wits, humour, experience, love for your family and friends, language and dirty thoughts!

    Keep blogging, keep eating and keep having fun! Cheers!

    Thanks, and cheers! Hmmm…dirty thoughts? Muahahahahaha!!!! Got kah? Takes one to know one, eh? Wink! Wink! Glad you like what you see too…and what you see is what you get.

  25. Wow…5 years !!! Congrats for being such a great blogger and to your blog -Happy 5th Anniversary ! Keep blogging ya :)

    Thanks, Elin. Sure I will. ;)

  26. Happy 5th Anniversary!!!
    It is indeed a great milestone & achievement with so many posts, views and comments garnered. Have always enjoyed reading your blog, come to think of it, I believe it is the third time now I am wishing Happy Anniversary?? Love those quotes that you put up there, by the way. Congrats on 5 years of happy blogging. Keep on blogging! :)

    Thank you, Jessie. Glad you like what you see – do keep dropping by…and commenting.

  27. Your blog is the first click of my every morning routine and I really enjoy looking at those wonderful pictures of food even though I have never been to Sibu . But now I know where to go if I ever make it there. And if you ever come to Orlando, I will be more than happy to show you around. Thank you for bring me a piece of home everyday when I open your blog.

    Orlando? That’s Florida, right. Wow!!! I’m flattered that you take the trouble to drop by regularly. Most welcome…and thanks for your support.

  28. Congrats on your 5th blog anniversary buddy! :)

    1.8k plus posts in that amount of time is quite impressive – it’s coz of your regular daily updates.

    Gotta love your blog mate, it’s one of two that I really read regularly. :D

    Thanks, mate. You check out mine, I check out yours too… Hehehehehe!!!! :D

  29. Okay. I buy you beer/wine/whatever’s your poison to celebrate during the March holidays. I’ll be staying in Sibu to work on a project of mine.
    =)

    But I don’t drink, how? Gout! LOL!!! :D

  30. Happy 5th Bloggiverary! Keep on blogging and yes, do it to please yourself and not others because when you do that, what you write is always REAL!! I am glad you blogged, otherwise I would have miss out knowing a wonderful friend. Big Bear Hugs!!

    Thank you, and thanks for your kind words. Hugssss to you too!

  31. happy Blog ANniversary. WOw…five years….its a long time in blogging world. Happy blogging(borrow words from Mecoy).

    Thanks. Yours not so long also meh? Seems you’ve always been around…along with a number of the rest.

  32. Happy 5th Blog Anniversary Arthur! Admire your sincerity and effort to post almost everyday and also comment on others. I looked forward to many more to come… :D

    Thanks. Sure will hang around for a while… ;)

  33. call me if you are going to have a Kampua Party for your anniversary… Joshua turned 5 recently too…

    Ya…he’s a little bit older. LOL!!! :D

  34. wow Five years! i wish i could also last for that long too
    anyway, congratulations to buddy more years to come!

    Thanks. You will, I’m sure. Actually, 5 years isn’t that long…not these days. Time flies!

  35. i like those quotations you included,
    hmm 1882 post! iam not even on a percentage of that haha
    cool you’re indeed a pioneer here in blogging

    Not really. There were already so many before me. I was one of the late-comers actually…

  36. Cheers!! Gosh, had it really been 5 years? Time really waits for no one! Keep it strong n keep it coming! God bless!

    Thank you, and bless you too.

  37. congratulations to your anniversary. u are doing a great job and lots of effort being place to write this blog.

    Thanks. Not so much the effort…but more the discipline – to sit down and write something to post without missing one single day.

  38. 1,882nd post? Wow! As in WOW! You are so busy typing on your PC’s keyboard that you almost reached 2,000 posts. I’m almost as long as you in blogging but I am yet to reach my 1,000th post.

    Congratulations STP. May we read more good things from you here on your blog. God bless you.

    Thank you…and God bless you too. Keep it up – you’ll get there sooner or later. ;)

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

