Port of call…

In my previous post, I mentioned that we went for coffee at Devonport, the so-called Auckland’s Crown Jewel

Devonport 1

One thing that impressed me greatly when I was in New Zealand…or Auckland specifically (If I’m not mistaken, in Wellington, pedestrians cross the streets at the traffic lights junctions…or at least, that was what I saw mostly) was how they have so many zebra crossings here, there and everywhere and how the cars would stop and wait patiently no matter how fast or how slow those people may be. Try doing that here and see if you get run down or not! Tsk! Tsk!

After the drinks and desserts, we walked around the place and bought some stuff. They sell all the UK-imported things in this building…

Devonport 2

I went to the park where there were some people lazing around enjoying the summer sun…

Sunny

…and listening to the  band performing on stage…

On stage

It wasn’t my kind of music – sort of punk rock or something like that so I did not stay to listen. I would very much prefer the busker at the Farmers’ Market in Parnell anytime.

I stumbled upon this little war memorial…

War memorial

…and my attention was drawn to the plaque at the bottom by the side of the statue…

Plaque

Correct me if I’m wrong but I think Malaya 1952-66 would be during the time of the Communist insurgency, I suppose…and Borneo, 1964 to 1966 would probably be the period during the confrontation with Indonesia.

They still have the old-time letter box there…

Letter box

…except that it is made of plastic and not cast iron like those in the past.

But what I loved most in Devonport were these woolly poles…

Wooly poles

My friend, Opal, in the US of A would probably love to see them too.

I guess this was a frog…

Frog

…and this one, a flower…

Flower

…while this one was a very nice bee…

Bee

Now, what do you think these were?

Willy warmers

Somebody said that they were “willy-warmers” and I actually believed that…until my daughter came along and said that it was a ladybird…

Ladybird

…and those  were the legs of the insect! Muahahahahaha!!!! Willy warmers indeed! That was soooooo hilarious…but it certainly added to the fun and laughter on that very enjoyable tour of ours to this very lovely place!

Next stop – dinner…on our 2nd night in Auckland! Stick around, folks!

22 thoughts on “Port of call…

  1. I am with you. Those woolly poles are colorful and very interesting.

    Ya, they are…indeed. Btw, welcome back! Haven’t seen you around here for a while. So very busy with all the festivities, celebration and everything, I see…and having so much fun. Keep it up! ;)

  2. I’ve heard of Knitty Graffity! We call what they did ‘yarnbombing’ and it’s everywhere. Who knows the artist might have had ‘willy warmers’ in mind when they made that one creature, lol. Did you know that people actually crochet/knit them? I’ve never made them, but have seen people mention them on Ravelry and you can even get patterns and make them for others, if you’re that daring. I think I’ll pass on making those though! ;)

    LOL!!! We sure do not need those thinga here – it is so very hot here, as it is. Ya…probably that was the intention…as from one angle, one simply could not tell that it was a ladybird. No, thanks…I’d pass on those stuff too. ;)

    • What’s funny is I never heard of a ‘willy warmer’ until I stumbled onto Ravelry (crochet and knitting site) so when I saw the word in your post, I burst out laughing. ;)
      To add to the hilarity… my daughter had just finished crocheting a sausage type pillow for her dolls. She blurted ou… “This looks like a wiener!” Here in the US, wieners are hotdogs and it’s also another nickname for a ‘willy’. I said, what do you know about wieners! She gave me a confused look, and said, “Uhm, you know the hotdog!” I guess she’s now wondering what I was thinking she was talking about. I’ll have to take a picture of her ‘pillow wiener’ and post on my site, lol.

      Hahahahahaha!!!! The age of innocence! Naughty, naughty you, Opal!!! :D

  3. Those woolypoles are very colourful and cute! Speaking about zebra crossings, I don’t think our Malaysian drivers know what they are for. Many times, we pedestrians have to stop for the cars even before we can cross a zebra crossing! And that makes me very angry :(

    Do we have a choice? Try walking across – they will honk loudly at you…and that’s the lucky part! They may just run you down like a bulldozer… Real sad that some things never change around here.

  4. i would also like to laze around enjoying the summer sun, lying on the green green grass and looking at the blue blue sky.. how relaxing.. :)

    Wear sunblock. The weather’s so cool you do not feel it but at the end of the day, you end up looking like a lobster. Painful!

  5. In this kind of weather, strolling along for sightseeing is the best… :)

    Definitely! Loved every moment of it – even sitting on a bench by the road was so nice, so soothing… Loved every minute there!

  6. Western countries gave way to pedestrians, regardless of how busy the road is, so nice right?

    Hey, wishing you and family a great 2013!

    Precisely. I really can’t understand why we can’t practise that here… :( Thanks, and the same to you and yours.

  7. NIce dustbin to post all the rubbish hahaha. Aiya why you no got heart to send the red one back to Bananaz as souvenir.

    Dunno what red one… The letter box? You haven’t been drinking, have you? >.< Ya…I can jolly well imagine that if that had been in Malaysia, people would surely use it as a litter bin. I wonder why people are like that here – so parents-never-taught kind! I do hope all the mummy and daddy bloggers reading this will take it upon themselves to change all that. It’s about time.

    • Excuse me Bananaz is a teetotaller but not totally taller. Yeah love to own at least one postbox at home if can get those big huge RED metal ones lagi best

      You may try robbing some museum somewhere? I think we have one or two cast iron ones somewhere in Sibu, the small rectangular ones…not this big cylindrical type.

  8. Happy new year to you and your family,
    If these cute wolly stuff install in Malaysia it will gone in a day.. sigh.

    I wouldn’t be surprised… Ya, thanks…and the same to you and yours.

  9. The woolly stuff looks cute. Very creative indeed. Over here, sad to say that we are not so disciplined like in Western countries.

    A Blessed & Properous Happy New Year 2013 to you & family. God Bless.

    Hopefully, everyone can work on it and change all that. Thanks, and the same to you and yours.

  10. What a good day it was.. definately lots of laughter and this was also the place where you did your disappearing act:)) You only see the willy warmers. We have nipple warmers, willy wash which smells so good etc which never fails to tickle us whenever we see them in the shops.

    Hmmm…I wonder what those willy wash smells like – not like raw oysters, I hope. Muahahahahaha!!!! Ya…I may be old and fat and not very mobile but I can easily slide away unnoticed – none of you went to the park nor the monument – I did! And none of you met the lady whose hubby worked in KL for 5 years either. Wink! Wink! Hehehehehehe!!!!

  11. Those wollypoles look so cute!!

    We can’t have this in our county, i can imagine, once u put it up, next few days someone will destroy it. tsk tsk tsk

    AH! That ladybird look scary. hahahha

    Ya, does not really look like one actually. LOL!!! :D Real sad, here…and they do it just for the sake of vandalising public property. Don’t understand the mentality really…. :(

  12. ive once dreamed of being a part of a band,
    those yarned dcors was just so cute!

    Still young, go…make your dream come true! Ya…love them – so nice, really.

  13. anyways, thank you for making my 2012 even more wonderful!
    I enjoyed your blog this year looking forward for more this coming year
    Happy New Year

    Yes, MeCoy…and I love having you around. Happy New Year to you too…

  14. Pingback: Coming back again… | …Still crazy after all these years!

  15. Pingback: Goodbye to you… | …Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

