Bobby’s girl…

Well, Bobby’s wife is Carole…and they have a little girl, Anika and also a little boy, Zachary, pictured here doing the traditional Kiwi Haka…

Zachary & Anika

Bobby’s Vietnamese and Carole’s Filipino-Chinese and Melissa’s friends got acquainted with them via their church activities while they were all studying here in Wellington, New Zealand and throughout their two years here, 2010 and 2011, the wonderful couple had been so nice, inviting them to their house for dinner and things like that.

So when they heard that they all would be coming back for their convocation, they quickly extended their invitation to dinner on one of the days when we would be here and we, the parents of one of the girls, were invited as well…

At Bobby & Carole's 1
*Bobby’s photo*

We had Vietnamese spring rolls…

Vietnamese spring rolls
*Bobby’s photo*

…and they were so very nice, so different from what I had when I was in KL sometime ago. This was Bobby’s photo actually – I was so excited and anxious to sink my teeth into those yummy rolls that taking photographs of them completely slipped my mind. The rice paper skin was completely different – this one was so flexible that I could stretch it and it would not tear. They kept telling me it would and I should make small rolls but it did not and I managed to rolled some really huge ones which went really great with the awesome  sambal (dip) that Bobby made. I can’t remember exactly  how many I had – six, perhaps? Yum! Yum!

For dessert, we had the nien kao that Leng Leng made…

nien kao

Leng Leng is Bobby & Carole’s friend and she came from Penang…and nien kao is that sweet sticky brown-coloured cake that some people offer to the Kitchen God during Chinese New Year (which I never liked) – if I’m not mistaken, it is called kuih bakul (basket cake) except that Leng Leng’s was baked, not steamed and it was not as sticky (and rubbery and unchewable) and the best part was it wasn’t as sweet. I had many slices of that and I must say that I prefer it to the cheesecake which I think she made as well…

Cheesecake

…or Carole’s tiramisu. Oops!!! Sorry, Carole! You can blame the Asian in me for somehow, I do seem to prefer Asian desserts (or for that matter, most everything else, food-wise) to the rest.

And after everyone had had their fill, somebody just HAD to sing…

Karaoke
*Bobby’s photo*

…and made everybody throw up all that they had eaten. Muahahahahahaha!!!!!!

I got to meet a couple from Johore at the gathering too – K.C. and his missus and Carole’s sister as well.

@ Bobby & Carole's 2
*Bobby’s photo*

It certainly was great making the acquaintance with all you very nice people. I do hope that someday, we may get to meet again – if not here in Wellington, in Malaysia perhaps? We will most warmly welcome all of you!

27 thoughts on “Bobby’s girl…

  1. What a feast! And that’s a rather strange looking mic…. Hehe

    LOL!!! One of those karaoke machines…all the controls, select, volume, key control on the mike. Hope to get to see and hear you sing live someday. ;)

  2. Hi, had been missing you in my blog recently, busy eh?

    The nien kao and cake looks tempting~

    Well, I dont think the singing was that bad la!! *wink*

    Ya…out all day, touring and shopping and eating…eatimng and more eating, so hardly anytime to go online. Can barely manage to reply to comments in my blog. No worries! Will be back very soon and will be knocking on your blog’s door for sure…

  3. wow..all the pretty young ladies and that includes your wife as well, she looks like one of the students in the group.. and the “principal” is standing right behind the girls with his whole body hidden.. Guess who! hahahaaaa…
    By the way, what song did you render to the girls? “To all the girls I love before…… ?”

    Hmmm…so I look so old lah! Tsk! Tsk! :D LOL!!!! :D

  4. Oh the ‘nien kao’ is offered to Kitchen God, have long forgotten about it. Lolz at Reana Claire’s comment about rendering this lovely song.

    Hah!!! I’m goodie-goodie one… Where got so many girls? Wink! Wink! ;)

  5. What a great feast? Well, nice to see that you entertained all the lovely people after the big feast. And boy!!!. love .the two cuties doing Kiwi Haka. Desserts looks so appetizing. Yummy!!!…..

    Ya…the kids are so cute, very disciplined and endearing. True, lovely people, lovely party…

  6. the “nian gao” looks interesting, and melted onto the toast and sprinkled with lots of sesame on top, slurps!! the tiramisu looks interesting also.. wow, nice dessert to end the meal~~

    Yes, lovely meal…lovely desserts…and lovely company, couldn’t ask for more.

  7. Moral of the story …. Now you can afford the time..TRAVEL and VISIT and get out of SIBU whenever you can. BUT easier said than done though.

    It’s ok. May hop over to KK someday soon…before Melissa gets her posting and starts working…

  8. The Holiday has done you good…you looks so fresh and most important..HAPPY.

    Yes, having a great time here, no doubt about that! :)

  9. Such a nice gathering there…with lotsa good food!
    I’m curious and wanting to try that nien kau oso…….
    Aiyo….u made everyone throw up after u sing ka? Should have sang before the meal….throw up edi…then can eat more. hehehe…. :-p

    Anorexic? Bulimia?

  10. wow a filipino chinese huh i just wonder who was she on that bunch haha

    I guess she’s originally Filipino of Chinese descent. You have some in your country, right? Like I’m Malaysian, of Chinese descent. Probably went there to study and stayed on, got married, settled down here. Many people do that – mu brother too…in Auckland.

  11. my eyes were drooling over that tiramissu
    it looks perfect and so
    scrumptious such a mouth watering dessert

    Tiramisu? Did I share a photo of that? Not photogenic so I did not include it in the post.

  12. Yes, the nien kao is called kuih bakul that we get to have during CNY here. I love it. I’m drooling over the cheesecake. She put a lot of strawberries on it.

    The cheesecake was great but I liked the nien kao best!

  13. All the photos are lovely and you really had a great time with the wonderful hosts and yummiest food away from home. I knew that it was not yourself for not taking detailed photos! Ha ha ha…!
    How come the Nien Kao has got sesame seeds on top? I thought Kuih Bakul is that sticky rice cake for CNY…No?

    It is a modified version – a lot nicer. I would not eat the real thing, not nice, so sweet and so hard to swallow.

  14. Aiyor, why didn’t you tapao some of the kuih bakul for me? I’m so curious to know the taste.

    People did not give, shy lah…wouldn’t want to ask. ;)

  15. Such a wonderful gathering! No video of you singing? Wish I could hear you sing too! haha! Advance Merry Christmas!

    Unfortunately, no…or perhaps, fortunately. I just enjoy singing but it doesn’t necessarily mean that I sing well. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  16. What a nice gathering! Your daughter looks like she’s enjoying your singing.

    Oh, but you must try the nien kao from a stall at Jalan Imbi. It’s sandwiched between a slice of yam and a slice of sweet potato making the whole ensemble yummy.

    Will have to try when I get the chance.

  17. Haha! Looks like a really wonderful evening, thanks for sharing, it really made me miss gatherings like this. I’m sure no one threw up, you sing well! :)

    I do? Nahhh!!! You’ve never heard me sing before… ;) Ya, it was a great party,

  18. Pingback: Walk with me… | …Still crazy after all these years!

  19. Pingback: Fifteen… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  20. Pingback: Shortcut… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

  21. Pingback: Night after night… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

