Keep it coming…

This came sometime last week via poslaju from my dear friend, Mandy, in KL…

From Mandy

No, she did not send me some infant milk formula …

Infant formula

- I certainly do not need that, I’m sure. Look at how I’ve grown! Hehehehehehe!

Inside, there were some souvenirs that she got hold of on her recent trip to Krabi…

Krabi souvenirs

…and these very nice heong peah from Ipoh

Heong peah

…plus some hotel key cards to add to my collection, a Christmas card for me and my family…and a very lovely card for my birthday…

Hotel key cards, birthday & Christmas cards

I’m hot, eh? Hmmmmm….just look at what it says inside!

Why I'm hot

LOL!!!

In the meantime, my friend, Lim and his family, dropped by my house the day before the actual date and gave me this blackforest cake…

Blackforest from Lim & family

So sweet of him and his missus to remember. I don’t think they read my blog nor do they frequent Facebook so it was not likely that they noticed all the hints all over the place here, there and everywhere. Hehehehehe!!!!!

Well, I did not have any grand celebration bash this year – no special dinner, nothing. I guess when one is growing old, one gets lazy and not too enthusiastic about such things. Anyway, the Chinese have this belief that after the 50th, one should not celebrate one’s birthday on a grand scale anymore till the 80th and even then, it must be celebrated on the 79th birthday for some reason or other. However, I did have my obligatory mee sua

60th birthday mee sua

- our traditional Foochow longevity noodles in red wine and ginger chicken soup plus the symbolic eggs that are usually present at all birthdays.

Other than that, Melissa and the mum got me another cake – a chocolate-almond…

60th birthday cake

…and these…

60th birthday present

…and in the evening, we went for the Sunday service at the cathedral after which we did go out for a simple dinner, just the three of us and that was it!

Looking forward now to my 61st birthday next then, God willing!!!

34 thoughts on “Keep it coming…

  1. i could do with a big bowl of that menace looking meesua right now.. so hungry, and nothing to eat… only drinking mineral water… cant wait to balik KL and ‘sut’ all the food there…

    What happened? You’re in Indonesia, aren’t you? Lots of great food there? Or you’re in the middle of nowhere and you already ‘sut’ all your rations and supplies? Never mind! Look on the bright side! You can slim down a bit before you go back to KL…and put it all back on, and more. LOL!!!! :D

  2. Happy birthday!

    You’re really blessed to have all these great friends! I love the Foochow mee sua tradition too.

    Is there a certain amount of eggs you must eat? I mean, I know some superstitions say you aren’t supposed to bite on the noodles but what about eggs? Anything except 4 I suppose?

    Many happy returns of the day my friend! :)

    Thanks, Huai Bin. Yes, I am indeed so very blessed for all the wonderful friends that I have. Don’t think there’s any number but they say we should not eat more than 2 a week…but that’s for health reasons. Long long ago, they only had eggs for sons – none for baby girls…and they would dye the shell red in colour. I guess among the Chinese, red signifies good luck. These days, they have eggs for both, no sex discrimination anymore.

    • Interesting! I didn’t know that bit about the sons…I thought everyone gets to eat the egg during their birthday. Cheers for the information buddy!

      Now we do, everybody never mind baby boy or girl.

  3. How coincidence. I was about to post on my souvenirs I got from Krabi Island too. hehe.
    By the way, it is great to be surrounded by the generous people. Happy Birthday again… :-)

    …and thanks again. Ah!!! So you’ve been to Krabi too. I would very much prefer cooler and quieter places, hills rather than beaches.

  4. Arthur, you are receiving so many nice presents! Oohhh…and I love the cakes, especially the black forest cake :)

    It was from one of the bakeries in town and was pretty good – not the best I have had, but good and we enjoyed it. ;)

  5. So many people to pamper you, Arthur all the year round!! Yes, I wish you will have many more blessed years with your lovely family and wonderful bloggers like us here!

    Yes, and I certainly wish the same for you! ;)

  6. wow wow wow!! and wow wow wow!! so many presents and cakes for you!! you are such a blessed person.. 60 years young and of course you are even hotter than the 60 candles, muahahaha!! so hot that even the promoter gives you a free 8ml trial perfume?? hehe~~ :p

    Dolce & Gabbana no less eh? ;)

  7. Your friend Mandy is probably using the milk box to provide a hard base for your delicate presents. I don’t think she would have sent you infant formula.

    By the way, I like the card; it’s so … cheeky. =D

    Yes, the boxes were pretty useful – one box fits one pack of the heong peah perfectly. ;)

  8. Wah… I don’t think I’ve ever had mee sua on my bday. I only have the two eggs.. itu pun sometimes forgotten :(

    Happy 60th Birthday to you Arthur! Still can’t believe it that you are 60 already!

    How old do you think I am? Not 16, I’m sure… Hehehehehehe!!!!! Poor thing! No noodles, no eggs on your birthday… Next birthday, celebrate here and I will cook for you. :)

  9. Just finished 60th now wishing for 61st wa lau eh. ban ban lai bro cannot rush one slow slow cum. ;)

    Hahahahaha!!!! Like driving on a long highway – after passing by one milestone, you would be looking out for the next one. ;)

  10. Yeah, you are looking hot in your own way, hehehe!!!…Wow, birthday present, Christmas present, you are spoiled. The key chains, so cute. 2 cakes for this birthday, untung, untung. That bowl of Foochow longevity noodles looks awesome. Long Live King Arthur!!!….

    Yes, sweating plus-plus, wiping my sweat with my small towel and fanning myself – I am pretty sure I look real hot!!! LOL!!! :D Yes, yes…I am so fortunate…always so blessed and I’m most thankful for that! ;)

  11. OOh so Melissa and her mom gave u perfume wor.. were they trying to hint something? *hint*hint* LOL! Just kidding!! It’s great to know that you have so many friends near and far who remember you on your birthday, isn’t it? :)

    I think that’s about the only thing one can buy for me and I will use. I use that all the time – big, fat and ugly…and old…but at least, I smell nice! ;) Ya, certainly makes life more meaningful, having friends near & far… :)

  12. Happy Birthday!

    sometimes its not about how big you celebrate your special day but who you are with and how you want it to be that matters… :D

    My family also does the Mee Sua or the Nyonya Lam Mee for birthdays!

    Thanks. How very true! No point hosting a big bash and inviting people that you do not really care to spend it with… :(

  13. Hepi Birthday STP…managed to strike lottery or not? ^^
    That elephant key chain is quite cute. Nice cakes you got there and also a bowl of red wine mee suah filled with love!

    Thanks. Sighhhhhhhhhh!!!!! Unfortunately, no! :(

  14. The mee sua is really nice. I would like to have it in my birthday too :)
    Of all the presents, the most valuable one would be the simple dinner for just the three of you, am i correct? :)

    Ok, it was good…but it would be good too to celebrate with friends and loved ones to share the joy and cheer!

  15. So lucky you, mee sua + 2 cakes somemore! I so kesian one, no mee sua for my birthday for such a long time. Got recipe in my blog pun don’t know for what! ‘Their’ birthdays, I’ll cook mee sua + red eggs + bake celebration cake somemore.. sigh! Lucy’s mee sua the best and so sweet of Mandy to send you those gifts. Can’t wait to smell you.. Lol!

    Your next birthday, come over to Sibu and you can have all these and more, lots lots more… How about that? ;)

  16. So spoilt, so pampered leh you! Mandy sent you such cute souvenirs, nice biscuits, remembered you collect hotel key cards…and she even made sure there is a punkawalla on your birthday day! I say, really much sayang-ed ;) And 2 lots of cakes, special mee sua and Dolce & Gabbana! Way to go, Arthur, woohoo!!!! Today, I feel like asking…this kind of special occasion mee sua, no need to put in vegs? This mee sua – put it on my list, OK? :)

    Eeeee…what veg? Absurd! Ridiculous! All our Foochow ancestors would turn in their graves!!! Tsk! Tsk! You want mee sua? Your birthday…or you give birth? Either one of the two when in Sibu and I will cook for you! Hehehehehehe!!!!

  17. I wish i get to send you as well haha
    but it just wasn’t possible by now
    sigh

    Well, there’ll be another one…end of next year! Ample time to get ready for it. Hehehehehe!!!! ;)

  18. I got a feeling that there’s more to come to you suituapui and ill wish for that

    you deserve it all
    happy birthday again my friend

    Thanks again. Nah! I don;t think there will be anymore…not until this same time next year…hopefully! ;)

  19. 0.o so nice to have friends sending gifts xD and OHH! i have that blue color bowl in my house too!!! HAHAHAHA

    I think that came free with some toothpaste or something… ;)

  20. Hahahhahah…I really thought Mandy sent you infant milk formula!!!!

    Nice birthday card and nice souvenir from Krabi, so sweet of Mandy.

    Mee suah for birthday!! yummy!!! and I want with lots of red wine. oh ya, talk about mee suah…the one that cook nice mee suah at one cents? Her new stall open already, same row as the kampua stall, soon hock coffee shop that opposite delta mall? The one you like a lot? Her stall is the other end, coffee shop name ” duo duo” or some name like that. You should go and check that out.

    There’s e-Cafe…ah yes!!! That must be TOTO Cafe. Dunno if it’s the same person but I had the mee sua there before:
    http://suituapui.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/like-i-said/
    Very popular but strong ginger taste – not too fond of that.
    :( Hahhhh!!!! If infant milk, must send to Elaine, not to me… Hehehehehe!!!!!

  21. Yes, this is the coffee shop, TOTO cafe! Now the mee suah take over by the lady boss from one cents, no more the old one that you said with strong ginger taste. Go and try, my mum said daily packed with people!

    Ok, will hop over one day. Very very near my house…more convenient than going to One Cent! ;)

  22. you are so lucky to be receiving so many gifts! share them!

    I do! The edibles especially…may give to my parents or my mother-in-law…what I can spare. ;)

  23. Your gifts from well wishes keep coming non stop. This has made me jealous!

    I didn’t know you collected hotel key cards! I have been throwing them away! Argh!

    Ok, so now you know eh? ;)

  24. Pingback: Twilight time… | …Still crazy after all these years!

  25. Ow…I collected lots of hotel keycards too but threw them away when I moved office few months back. Didn’t know what to do with them. If I knew of another collectors, I would have mailed them over.

    I wonder how many do…unless one travels a lot and stays at different hotels. Those on working trips would usually stay at the same company hotels all the time. I got to travel a lot on official duty when I was still teaching- different places, different hotels…but within Malaysia…plus my own trips so I was able to get a lot. Now that friends are sending me, my collection ie getting bigger and bigger. :) Btw, you’re new here, I see. Welcome & do stick around. ;)

Leave a Reply

