Call on me…

The other day, I had an sms from my good friend, Lim, saying that he and his family would drop by my house to catch up on stuff as they had been busy with work and all and we hardly get to see one another all year. It turned out that they had gone back to Kuching for a few days to visit their families there and they had just come back to Sibu.

He brought me these siew paos (baked buns) and curry puffs…

Sio pao & curry puffs

…that he said his mum got from a friend, home-baked.

The curry puffs tasted great…

Curry puff filling

…but I had a bone to pick though – the filling was all potatoes or if there was any meat, I could hardly feel it at all…

On the other hand, the siew paos were superb…

Siew pao filling

…so generous with the chunks of char siew (barbecued meat) inside. Thanks so much, Lim, much obliged…and so sweet of you to save some for me.

In the meantime, as everybody would know by now, we have been out and about…here, there and everywhere in the town and the other morning, we headed to this place for brunch. Melissa loves the beef noodles there and that day, she decided to try the beef soup…

Ah Sian beef soup

…with the kampua kosong (noodles without meat)…

Ah Sian kampua kosong

…and she loved it (RM5.00 for the combo)! She was never a fan of kampua noodles and yet, while she was in the peninsula, she would go and eat the wanton noodles. She enjoyed what she wanted that morning and subsequently declared that the kampua was very nice, anytime better than wanton noodles. Ahhhhh!!!! Finally, a new convert! Hehehehehehe!!!!!

I, on the other hand, had the soup version – their beef noodles special (RM7.00)…

Ah Sian beef noodles special

…with all the tendons and the tripe, other than a generous amount of the meat. It was nice, of course…and rest assured, we would be back there again time and time again…

39 thoughts on “Call on me…

  1. Woah! That kampua must be something. I’m not a fan of kampua. Most kampua tastes quite bland to me. I do like the kampua we have here but I would say it is different from sibu’s…hmm.. I should come to this place and maybe I’ll convert too! ;)

    Have you tried Rasa Sayang? Most are bland…and many love them that way – more original and authentic, they say…and they do not like Rasa Sayang as it is a bit like Kuching kolo mee. I love it. New Capital’s kampua is very special and many love it. I wonder where you go for your kampua in Sibu – not the Jalan Selemo one, I hope… Everyday packed, so popular…but it’s definitely somewhere around the bottom of my list.

  2. The pastry skin for both the curry puff and Siew pao look perfect! There’s a lot of effort to make that kind of pastry! I’m a kampua convert too and the pale ones nicer than the black- black ones.. hehehe. Tendon and tripe?… errr, no thank you… geli lar… Hahaha.

    Hmmmmm…you’re just like Melissa! Sedaaaapppp!!!!! LOL!!! :D The pastry was good, with the fragrance of butter…and when heated up in the oven and the oil oozed out a bit, extra fragrant…so very nice and a whole lot nicer than any elsewhere. :)

  3. Hahaha food mayor of Sibu is so happy to have a kampua noodle convert! ;)

    She, like most young people today, would be more into those Japanese, Italian stuff… Glad she likes it now – must not forget one’s roots, no matter what.

  4. Whoa! I want the curry puffs and siew paos! I am a fan of beef soup/noodles too and love having the spare parts :) This kampua is really “teasing” me. If I ever get a chance to go to Sibu, that’s the first thing I want to eat :)

    Come on over! Most welcome anytime. Just let me know when you’re coming and I’ll take it from here, no worries at all!

  5. Arthur…those curry puffs looks delish and that bowl of beef noodles looks yummy ! Got delivery services ah ? LOL! mmmmm hungry looking at them !

    Nah!!! I’m sure you can make your own – a whole lot nicer than these. Wink! Wink! LOL!!!

  6. siew pao and curry puffs, wow, i like!! sure they look more attractive than that plain kampua noodles to me, wakakakaka!! :D

    All nice in their own ways… Surely you must have heard of the age old maxim that variety is the spice of life? Always nice to have some different things sometimes for a change. Too bad we can’t find really nice siew paos and curry puffs here – have to wait for some kind souls to buy from elsewhere and give/send to me… Hint! Hint! ;)

    • oh really?? you can’t find nice siew pao and curry puff in Sibu?? haiyoh, i thought either you or your missus can actually make the best siew pao and curry puff in Sibu??

      If we make, can lah…and of course, the best of the best ones but lazy lah. Easier to just go and buy one or two and eat. If make, will make a lot…eat a lot…and that is bad. Right or not? ;)

  7. I am not a kampua fan but this one looks nice with the beef soup and your beef noodles was superb. Curry puffs & siew pao, both are great too!!…I am greedy, eh?

    You can have beef noodles like that too in Kuching…at Ah Mui…or the sister-stall, coffee shop the other end of the block from Harbour View. Curry puffs, Kai Joo Lane’s nicer…siew pao, different – both nice.

  8. You really had me going super curious how Kampua noodles taste like… I hope to try Kampua noodles soon… going nuts abt it cos I keep drooling over your Kampua pics! XD

    Soon? You’re coming over to Sibu? Come, come… You will surely love it here! Ask those who came. ;)

  9. Oh that’s the difference between a home baked and a shop baked, so nice. Would go for curry puffs without the meat, love the potatoes.

    I’m a meat person… Would prefer to have all meat, and a bit of potatoes should be ok, not all potatoes. :(

  10. LOL…..the Karipap is full of potatoes kira okay lah…

    the other day i bought some full of carrot. I dont now because carrot is cheaper or maybe more “healthy”.

    Carrot? That’s expensive leh?

  11. I love the karipaps…my favorite! Your girl is not a fan of kampua noodle earlier? I met a few Sibu-ians previously and all of them are hardcore fans. I like that springy noodles too!

    Yes, true-blue Sibu-ians…die-die will also want to eat kampua one… ;)

  12. Love the karipaps too! Oh your daughter are not a fans of kampua noodles earlier? I’ve met a few Sibu-ians who are hardcore fans of this noodles. I love it too!

    Oops…duplicate. Dunno why your comments, both of them went to spam.

    • No wonder. I was wondering why my comments do not pop up as usual, hence i try again. I sometimes find comments in spam too, not sure how they did the filtering system.

      No worries. I always check and if there are any comments from friends that somehow end up there, I will unspam.

  13. Always love baked puff on a rainy day to go with my coffee. 2 of that wud be enough for dinner. That picture looks evil… haha

    But with the dough made and the filling, surely will have to make more than two, right? I think I can make at least 6 giant ones…or 1 dozen normal ones. Hehehehehe!!!! ;)

    • ehem… 2 is me being modest. hahaha… i can eat a dozen of the puffs too, or half a dozen for the big ones, if la your pic is any indication of the size.

      Yes, they were huge! Probably double the regular size of those we can get from the shops or the stalls.

  14. Oh, finally Melissa loves kampua now. hahhahahha
    I will be like her too, if i go those shop sell beef noodles. I will order the beef soup and go with my kampua, nice nice!

    I don’t mind my curry puff all potatoes, sometime i just want mine w/o meat. :)

    Yup! I like the kampua with beef soup like that too but I wanted to have something different to photograph. Sigh!!! So hard to blog about food, can’t have things the way I want. LOL!!! :D Me, I prefer meat…in my puffs and paos. ;)

  15. Curry puff is one of my favourite..
    In KL they put eggs inside. Nice..

    Yes, I had those in Sg Petani. Very nice but they are fried and tend to be a bit too oily for my liking. I prefer shortcrust pastry, baked…and with butter used in the making, not margarine. Yummmm!!!!!

  16. You always get to eat all the good food!
    I love curry puff too btw! =)

    Yes, everybody’s so nice. They’re all so worried that I have nothing to eat…. Hehehehehe!!!! ;)

  17. I pay A$4.00 for a box of 2 siew paos and these siew paos, according to the Asian shopowner, are baked by Sarawakians. Very nice. A few months down the track and they are still using labels that list out the ingredients “flour, veg oil, pork mince..*sources* and onions! Haha….’sources’?? Duh!

    LOL!!! You’ll see a lot worse if you’re in these parts! AUD2 for one? That’s cheap!!!…And you’re all so rich there! Should sharpen the knives real sharp and slaughter!!! LOL!!! :D

  18. Arthur, How do you eat the kampua kosong (without meat)? ..Do you just pour the sauce into it? What sauce is that? It looks delicious! Very nice for snacking on cold winter days….I love carbohydrates, it keeps me warm. The siew pao and curry puff is worth drooling for too:) Please introduce us to your kind friend :)

    It is tasty enough by itself – tosses in lard that has been used to fry sliced shallots so it is extra fragrant…and light soy sauce and msg are added to enhance the taste. The sauce is chili dip for the beef and the ones for beef have a lot og pounded ginger added. You can pour the sauce over the noodles and toss to eat – added flavour. My missus would do that – she drowns everything with chili. Ya…all my friends are very kind and generous, I’m so blessed. :)

  19. I love curry puff with lots of potatoes….I just had a few pcs from IKEA last weekend

    Haven’t had ANYTHING from IKEA. Nobody ever bought for me…and nobody ever took me there! Sobsssssss!!!!! :(

  20. The puff pastry looks flaky and delicious. I don’t mind only having potatoes in my curry puffs though, as long as it’s nicely seasoned. The pastry does the magic for me. Hehehe. Kampua kosong with beef soup sounds like an interesting combo. I like my kampua black, with bian nuk, no char siew. Yummo!

    Potatoes too? Hmmm…so few meat lovers, it seems. I’m outnumbered.

    Oh no…not black! I love the special fragrance of the kampua noodles – that will draw the line between the men and the boys – the good and not-so-good kampua. With black soy sauce, it’s all soy sauce taste – no difference anymore. Same thing when my missus drowns her kampua with lots and lots of chili… I always tell her, might as well eat the chili sauce, nothing else as that is all she will be able to taste in her kampua.

  21. Ooooh…the siew pao looks really good. Our siew pao (siapao) in the Philippines is white in color and have pork meat inside. I want to try the Malay version of siopao. :-)

    Yours is our char siew pao – the steamed buns. These are baked with puff or shortcrust pastry skin. Malay? You mean Malaysian…or the ones with chicken filling?

    • The version that I am referring to is the one you showed here in this blog post. So, those are not Malay siew pao?

      Nope, they’re called siew pao (Cantonese) or sio pao (Hokkien) here, meaning baked buns. They do have chicken ones that the Malays may be allowed to eat but not these as they contain pork.

  22. Hallo hallo I am back!!

    The curry puff looks yummy to me! And speaking of curry puff, macam long time I din’t have one already leh….

    We don’t usually buy and eat these here…and we do not have any good ones in town either. :(

  23. HI, sorry I miss the train. Went to KL & Malacca just came back.
    The baked puff and siew pao look delicious, very well baked. The layering look good. yum yum
    The soup look delicious, think I can drink until the last drop. LOL
    Have a nice week ahead, regards.

    Oh? You’re from Johore, right? Went to KL, stopped by Malacca along the way? Looking forward to your post(s) on your trip…

  24. ooo, i don’t mind having no meat in my curry puffs. my perfect puff filling would be creamy potatoes and some hard-boiled egg! :D

    Hmmmm…seems that I’m the odd one out – the only one who prefers more meat while most do not mind potatoes.

  25. I am a fan of beef noodles, especially the soup version with all the spare parts!. The beef noodle special looks good but I’m not so keen on kampua…anyway, you have a new convert, hehehe

    Don’t say it when you have not even tried…especially the really nice ones here in Sibu. Shereen came from New Zealand thinking how anything so colourless, so plain could ever taste nice… First mouthful and it swept her off her feet – she even asked if she could order a second bowl! LOL!!! :D

    • I tried once in KL but didn’t like it. Maybe it wasn’t authentic or as nice as the ones in Sibu :)
      Yeah, in my mind, it’s like … so plain looking, so colourless, doesn’t look appetising….but then, looks can be deceiving at times! :P

      Of course lah! KL ones, where got nice. I’ve tried at a few places – at best, they were just edible…

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

