Back for good…

My girl’s back for good – she has completed her studies and is now awaiting her convocation. Fingers crossed, she would be posted somewhere in this good ol’ little town so she would not have to leave home again.

Well, since she got home, she has cooked this very nice stewed beef dish…

Melissa's stewed beef

…which she said she had tried cooking when she was in Wellington, New Zealand. Everybody loved it, of course!

In the meantime, I managed to get hold of some of the much-coveted and craved-for “exotic” meat and I cooked it our way…

Cooking pumbaa soup

…as a soup. This is easy! Just cut up the meat into bite-size pieces, throw into a pot and cook over low heat till all the juices have come out and then pour in boiling water and add salt and msg according to taste and simmer till nice and tender.

I had been trying to cook the soy sauce version but I had never managed to get it quite right. This time around, I did it a bit differently. I put the meat in the slow cooker and turned it on, on low….and after a few hours, all the fat and juices would have come out and then I added the soy sauce and the sugar, one bulb of garlic, a pinch of msg and a handful of peppercorn. It turned out absolutely perfect…

Stewed pumbaa

- exactly the way my mum or my grandma and aunties would cook it in the past! Melissa loved it very much, both the soup and the soy sauce versions…and needless to say, the father was very pleased. Wink! Wink!

And one morning, there was some leftover rice and this time around, instead of my usual kampung-style, I decided to go Chinese instead and fried it it lap cheong (臘腸) or Chinese sausages…

Chinese-style fried rice

That was easy – just fry some sliced shallots and garlic till golden brown, add the lap cheong slices and fry for a while before adding the rice and the sliced chili, plus the fish gravy and msg according to taste and lastly, break a couple of eggs into the wok and mix and fry everything together thoroughly till cooked. Of course, Melissa enjoyed this too. Nothing like home-cooked food, really…especially when done with that extra ingredient – love! Hehehehehe!!!!

Well, now that she’s back, you can expect more food posts as we will surely be going around to eat the best in town and stuff that she loves and misses so much…

41 thoughts on “Back for good…

  1. Awww… that’s so nice, finally the little bird who left for studies is back with the papa bird :P .. I’m sure you’re really happy and all.

    the food pictured on top are all homecooked? wow, you have trained her well :)

    Of course I’m happy!!! The empty nest isn’t empty anymore…but for how long, I wouldn’t know. :(

    • let’s all hope she gets a high paying job in the hometown :). Oh, btw, sorry for the recent increase of party posts on my blog, some of them were sponsored, and nope, am not a party animal. haha, always attend these for the experience.

      Another one! High paying job? Money, money, money…I guess that’s what city people are always after. I was a non-graduate teacher, my pay was not that much…but I had enough to get by in this little town – enough for all my needs and my family’s too and a few of our wants…but most importantly, I loved what I was doing, enjoyed every moment of it and I was happy. No regrets, wouldn’t change a thing if I were to live my life all over again. Many people are “successful” but unfortunately, they are not necessarily happy…

  2. Best nyer… When u all come, I can sit back and let u all do the cooking…. hehehe. Love the look of your ‘ Exotic Meat’ ( in the pic and not …*wink!wink!*.. Muahahaha).

    Ummmm…have they got any cheap B&B in Auckland? Muahahahahaha!!!!!

  3. All in the family! Arthur, you and missus must be thrilled to have your “little girl” home for good. All the food up there looks so delicious. There’s nothing like home cooked family meals :)

    Indeed, east or west…home is best! ;)

  4. Wah! Daddy’s girl is back and is treated with the most delicious food in Sibu! Stewed beef makes my tummy growling and salivating, good to go with a plate of piping hot rice.

    Yes, so happy…and relieved. No need to worry…for the time being. ;)

    • I’m not a fan of oink oink, but definitely a fan of fried rice!! Don’t mind what type of fried rice, hehehe!

      My daughter’s staple in Sg Petani…would have that so often, almost every day…but of course, her dad’s fried rice is a whole lot nicer… ;)

  5. Better hope for her to work in a big city mah….more $$$…hehe..
    what’s the name of the first 2 dishes? look fatty lah….

    Fatty? No need for you to eat… Tsk! Tsk! Money? Money is not everything in life, my friend. Not a slave to it, are you? If you are, then it’s sad…real sad!

  6. Arthur, it’s time to make another baby if you are afraid of her leaving the nest again! Muahahaha :P

    Those home-cooked dishes really look appetizing. Yum yum, I’m hungry already!

    At 60!!!??? Don’t be ridiculous! What about you? Once Ethan finds a girlfriend, it’s bye-bye, mummy lor!!! Sob! Sob! Girls are more loyal, will stick around the family no matter what. Hehehehehehe!!!! :D

  7. Daughter at home and cooking for the family. How nice. :)

    That wild exotic meat – lots of them used to come and visit my parents’ old home when I was younger and ravaged our tapioca plants. Dad used to shoot them and will call his Chinese friends to come pick the animal up… for free. ;)

    Ya, I hear there are lots over at your side…but the meat is not nice – good for curry only. They say it’s because the diet is different. Here, they eat engkabang (illepenut) and fruits…and yes, they’re very destructive, will destroy all their crops. That’s why the local natives cannot understand why it is protected – very productive also….so many of them in a flock!

  8. You are killing me with those yummy food. Fried rice…that’s the way I like it done. 2Thumbs Up for all dishes. Droolingg!!!…. Melissa is not going back to SP anymore?

    No, not anymore…so want to meet, have to come to Sibu liao lor… ;) LOL!!! :D

  9. Fingers crossed*…Hope Melissa will be posted near near. BTW…what is her profession? Teacher?

    Yup, English teacher…following the father’s footsteps. Just hope and pray…but she does not really mind where, quite independent now.

  10. Your lap cheong fried rice is very good looking ;) and Melissa’s stewed beef looks a winner too. Oooo, the ‘exotic’ meat, I don’t remember having tried it (or have I…hmmm) but if I like the tame, I guess I’ll be fine with the wild… (Shereen…if you’re reading this, please explain your *wink wink*….I no understand English mah, hee hee!)

    The wild ones have that special fragrance and taste – nicer than beef or lamb. Good that you’ve never tried – that way, you will not end up craving for it. Not easy to get hold of any these days.

    • Yoong,
      Believe me that you will much prefer the ‘wild’ one better than the ‘tame’.. * wink! Wink!’.. muahahaha.Obviously, Arthur prefer the ‘ wild’.. Grrrrrrrr..lol!

      It would be a lot more exciting, wouldn’t it? Hehehehehehe!!!!

      • ….noooo, it’s purrrrrrr ;) Better not eat the ‘wild’ version too often, Arthur, too ‘heaty’, tau? * wink wink! *

        Some like it HOT!!! ;)

  11. aw… it is always good to have your little ones come home…. looking forward to more food post!

    all the dishes looked yummy… can I have her stew recipe pls? :D

    I think she cooks like the father – dumps in everything….agak-agak… LOL!!! ;) I would love to have some potatoes in that though – not only the carrots.

  12. Wow! with a father like you …who needs to get married? The spoiling never stops does it? :)

    Yes. And she says she wants to stay single, to take care of the old man. Hehehehehehe!!!! ;)

  13. wow, great your girl is back for good!! so now you have her to make you company and to cook you nice dishes.. she she has learned to cook nice food while having to be independent in NZ..

    She would have learnt much earlier if the doting mum had given her the chance… But she’s ok now, ready to do it on her own…and guess who would still be hovering over her…yak…yak…yak…yakking non-stop! Old habits die hard! Not surprised that my girl just couldn’t be bothered to cook when at home.

  14. congratulations to your family on your daughter’s graduation. exciting times ahead in the future, keeping fingers crossed that she’ll start her career in a way that will make her happy and fulfilled :D p.s. i can’t stare at your delicious-looking food photos right now. haven’t had lunch yet! hehehe

    Thanks, Sean. Gosh!!! 2.44 p.m. and you haven’t had your lunch? Oh dear…I would faint, I’m sure…must have regular meals. LOL!!! :D

  15. so happy to hear your daughter’s graduating! remembered we read about the post she leaving, and now she is BACK!! time flies… and yes, let’s pray she got her ‘posting’ near home..

    That’s right, Cyn! Time flies… Now, we must pray real hard and hope she’ll get a place at home or somewhere close by.

  16. Awww…that’s so sweet of your girl. I m still waiting for my turn for my girls to cook for me some days..**finger crossed too***

    Can get them started young…like those Little Sprouts! Don’t spoil them and dot over them – let them help, never mind even if they are not up to your standard. They’ll learn…and they’ll be thankful to you for that.

  17. Yes..time flies, i remember when i just start reading your blog, it is when Melissa went to NZ for her study, and now she is back! Daddy must be very happy, now you got makan kaki to go around with and also can sit back and rest, while Melissa do her cooking.

    Stew beef look good and the wild boar meat…hmmmmm…never try it cook in this way and like i said, i love the fried rice with lap cheong..yum yum!!

    Very hard to get the wild boar meat…or I can cook it our way for you to try when you come back. Hopefully, next time you come back, you’ll be lucky.

  18. So when are you opening your own restaurant? Every time I see a post of what you’ve made yourself it looks 100 times better than any restaurant. :-)

    Too old for that…but anyone coming to town would surely be invited to at least one home-cooked meal. Coming anytime soon? ;)

  19. Very nice! It looks a bit like beef stroganoff – your daughter’s dish I mean. :)

    Yeah, I wonder where the restaurants get it from – there’s one opposite the old bus terminal that has wild boar most of the time.

    Cheers buddy!

    I hear they can get it from Selangau but I’ve heard lots of stories about the meat that comes from there – something about chemicals being used and flies would not even go near. They do have it at quite a few places in town but they use a lot of ginger and lemon grass and all those things in the cooking so much so that it would drown out the original taste of the meat and you would feel you are eating beef or anything else for that matter – they all taste the same. I would not bother to order that at all when eating outside.

  20. Congrats to your girl for completing her study abroad. You must be a proud dad. I like your fried rice so much, Arthur. Very sorry for not dropping by earlier. I was very tied up with my office work.

    Thanks. No worries…just drop by when you can – we do need to get our priorities right. First things first…

  21. Congrats to your not-so-little-girl … a young lady now. You must be so happy to have her home and cooking all this yummy stuff. Sit back and relax … be pampered. Enjoy it before she starts her career or gets swept off her feet by some handsome young man :) …. Oooo, you’re gonna be so jealous!

    Definitely not. Waiting for the day… Any potential candidate? Come, come…send him over or email resume and photo! Muahahahaha!!!! :D

  22. I was so busy working for the past one week, and I’m missing all your food posts. Congrats to your little daughter. Gonna put some extra weight with your daughter now as your food partner now!

    I guess so. Have to feed her and at the same time, no choice – I would be feeding myself. :(

  23. Wah Meat galore here! Hopefully your girl gets posted locally then, is it easier to dictate that? Doctors get posted to random places and can’t really choose in this country :P

    Nope, not easy. Keeping fingers crossed that she will get some place near or some place nice. Otherwise, we’ll just pay the bond and get out…go some place else.

  24. Congratulation to your daughter graduation. Good to have her back at home, enjoy each other company as much as possible. When she start her career, she soon will be busy…. My daughter after graduate, started working, and now part time study again even though in S’pore but she can only come home twice a month. :(

    Your fried rice look superb, yum yum

    That’s nice! Twice a month. When my daughter was in Sg Petani, she came home around twice a year only… Week-long holidays, too short…and airfare too expensive…plus long travelling time, one day gone one way. :(

  25. Wow, time flies! Melissa has graduated :)
    I remember not too long ago I read your post of Melissa going away to Sg Petani…Welcome home, papa’s girl! And the girl can cook, too (just like the papa!) :-)

    She loves to cook. If only the mum would leave her in peace to do everything and enjoy it. Some mothers just don’t know when to let go… :(

    • I don’t think it’s the case of mothers don’t know when to let go..the children will forever be their ‘little’ girls and boys in their hearts, no matter how old their children are! Relax, papa Arthur :)

      Bad…especially when suddenly they find themselves on their own and they don’t know how to do the simplest chore. Must teach them and let them learn…and let them help sometimes.

  26. Pingback: Let me show you how… | …Still crazy after all these years!

  27. Pingback: How many ways… | …Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

