Gotcha…

I used to buy this a lot some years ago but for some unknown reason, they simply vanished from the shelves. Imagine my delight when I saw some at a supermarket round the corner from my house the other day and without any second thought, I quickly snapped up a few packets just in case they decide to do the disappearing act once again.

This is the Maggi crab and tanghoon (glass noodles) soup…

Maggi crab & tanghoon soup

I cannot remember how much they cost before but these current ones are priced at  RM3.50 each.

At one time, I used to buy it for my late aunt in the kampung (village) when she was still alive and whenever she cooked it, she would add minced pork, crab meat and what not to make it taste a whole lot nicer but actually, there is absolutely no necessity whatsoever to do so. It tastes nice as it is – no need for anything extra.

For one thing, I like it because it is so very easy to cook. You just empty the contents into 720 ml. of water in a pot…

Step 1

…and whisk it to make sure it dissolves completely.

Step 2

Then you add a tablespoon of soy sauce to it – this wlll give it a nicer darker colour and will also enhance the taste…before putting it over the fire and bringing it to boil…

Step 3

I would advise you to keep the pot uncovered and keep whisking as being a little bit thick, there is the possibility that some of it would stick to the bottom of the pot especially if you are using stainless steel ones and there is always the danger of it boiling over if left unattended.

When it has started boiling, pour an egg, beaten, slowly into it while whisking away…

Step 4

…so that the egg will disintegrate into tiny little bits. My apologies for the somewhat blurry photograph – I guess that is what may happen when one tries to multitask – whisk, pour the egg and take a photograph all at the same time.

Let it simmer for a while and that’s it!!! The soup is ready…

Maggi crab and tanghoon soup - served

You may add black vinegar before eating if you prefer it that way but do not add it while boiling. I seem to notice that if you add black vinegar to some thick starchy soup, it will dilute the soup and render it completely watery and no longer the way it should be.

And if you think that it looks like sharks’ fins soup, I really can’t blame you for it most certainly does! So if you cook this and throw in some sharks’ fins, it will taste exactly like what they serve at dinners in the Chinese restaurants or if you’re one of those animal rights activists, perhaps you would like to add sea cucumber, fish maw or fish lips instead…if you prefer something more impressive than a soup with bits of imitation crab sticks and glass noodles that are hardly visible to the naked eye.

Has anybody tried this before? It is nice, isn’t it?

22 thoughts on “Gotcha…

  1. I used to buy the hot and sour soup and add an egg too. I’ve seen this at the Asian grocerer here and I’m going to buy and try it since you say it’s nice:) When are you going to KL? Safe flight and pleasant trip.

    Thanks, looking forward to it. Of all the packet soups, I like this one best as it is like sharks’ fins soup that we get at the restaurants. Go ahead, give it a try.

  2. have not tried this before, instant soup I have been consuming are those canned soup, westerner’s recipe and I think either Heinz or Campbell’s only..

    Can’t remember if I had Heinz – just their baked beans, I think. Most of the time I would go for Campbell’s. Their oriental soups – some are nice too. ;)

  3. something similar would be the instant porridge from Maggi also, I think they taste quite good actually.. love the chicken abalone flavor.. no money for real abalone so just go for the artificial, hahaha!!!

    My daughter loves that. Porridge – I would just cook fresh porridge with fresh ingredients…but of course, can’t afford abalone so ikan bilis will have to do. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  4. I have tried this before many years ago and yes, its quite good. There was another one that had golden needles (kim chiam) in it and the smell was quite overpowering. Haven’t bought this packet soups for quite a while. I have a tendency to buy these packaged conveniece foods and then forget about them until they expire.

    You’re like my missus. Not me, I would buy things that I want to cook and cook right away. Most of the time, I would just see what’s in the house and use those in my cooking…before they expire. ;)

  5. No I have not tried this wonderful idea of yours. Look like real Tai Thong’s sharks fin soup. I think it tastes like hot sour Szechuan soup. No?

    Ya, I’ve been to dinners in KL and their sharks’ fins soup is something like hot and sour Szechuan soup, not ours. Ours would be something like this, more or less. Some places may be a bit nicer, some may not be as nice even – depending on the restaurant.

  6. Never tried it before. Coz I usually dont buy Maggi products. Just didnt like the taste of it. But then this is a good idea of yours. Can make it if i feel lazy to cook complicated dish

    Yup, for lazy people like me…and it tastes good, that’s the best part so no point going through the trouble of cooking from scratch – unless maybe if it’s for a special occasion.

  7. I never try this soup before…all the time, I always buy Maggi mushroom soup.

    Mushroom is western, this is Chinese-style soup. I never buy packet mushroom soups – tried some, not nice. Prefer the canned ones – Campbell’s.

  8. hey, now that you wrote about this, it is not surprising if the restaurants also use this way to make the shark fin soup … I havent seen this before in the supermarkets, either not sold here or perhaps I never bother to look at those seasoning corner.. :)

    Been a few years I haven’t seen it being sold. Been looking for it as I wouldn’t mind cooking it once in a while. I guess you don’t cook so much so you never noticed it before.

  9. Ermm, looks exactly like shark fin’s soup. Never try this before but love the instant porridge chicken abalone flavor. Good idea to try one of these days.

  10. nope I have not tried it before…
    I think it is easy to make a soup like this..
    I prefer to make using fresh ingredients

    This is the easy way out…and it is nice, that’s what matters most.

  11. I love this soup!! Add egg and black vineger terus became like shark fin soup =p
    “Know” brand also not bad.
    You are not alone…I couldn’t find this at supermarket. It has been quite sometime! So sad… T_T

    I’ve tried Knorr but I think I prefer this one – most of all! Well, it’s back on the shelves! :)

  12. Oh, this look good, and very look like shark fin soup!! If can add sea cucumber lagi best!!! Yum!!

    The crab stick come in the packet too? Why tang hoon soup?

    Shall go and see i can find it here or not.

    Have a safe and smooth flight!! Have fun.

    Yup, the bits of crab stick come in the packet and there’s supposed to be tung hoon too = maybe to make it look like sharks’ fins..but I cannot seem to see it at all. Thanks. Already gone to Food Foundry for the crepes… LOL!!! ;)

  13. This looks great!! But somehow I refrain from buying packet ones cos afraid got too much MSG :D

    It says there on the packet: no added msg…and anyway, can’t be much more than what you eat in the town – Chinese food especially.

  14. i have to go to Tesco and look for it.. i love that.

    Been off the shelves for a long time and I actually missed it. So glad it is back in the shops again.

  15. Pingback: Help!… | …Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

