Turn me on…

I can’t remember when it was but it was many many years ago when I was in KL on one of my working trips. My nephew and his housemate who happened to be my ex-student, both singles at the time, came and took me out and for supper, they brought me to a mamak stall somewhere in PJ, insisting that I tried the mee Maggi goreng…

STP's Maggi mee goreng 1

…and I did. I thought it was all right but it certainly did not turn me on – not something that would get me craving and dying to have again.

For the uninitiated, over here, when people say Maggi mee, they actually mean instant noodles and not necessarily of that particular brand. Since it was one of the earliest brands on the market, the name has somehow got stuck and is liberally used to refer to noodles of the same kind, never mind what brand…like how people say pampers when talking about disposable diapers for babies or Colgate for any toothpaste and so on.

Anyway, I saw a post in Isaac‘s friend’s blog on how to cook “Maggi goreng” and I was wondering if there was something that I missed. Is it really that good? Perhaps I should give it another try…and I did! So, the other morning, I prepared the ingredients…

STP's Maggi mee goreng - ingredients

…and never one to stick to the basics, I added some prawns and sliced fresh chili as well.

After frying the sliced garlic and onions in a bit of oil till they turned brown, I added the prawns and mixed them with the other ingredients until they were cooked before I threw in the sliced chili and the noodles (2 packets) that I had boiled till soft and rinsed in cold tap water so that they would not stick together. Then I emptied the sachet of curry (use 1 only) seasoning into the wok and mixed everything together thoroughly. Lastly, I broke an egg and fried it together with everything else and after stirring for a while, the noodles were ready to be served…

STP's Maggi mee goreng 2

Unfortunately, it still did not get me jumping up and down with delight. Somehow, I feel that there are many other things that I would prefer.

Incidentally, if I remember correctly, somebody did ask me once how much oil I used to fry my noodles or was it rice? Well, not much – maybe two to three spoons, just enough to brown the garlic and the onions. Keep stirring regularly and sometimes, the noodles or rice may stick to the wok a little bit but that is not a  problem. After adding the egg and mixing it with everything in the wok and scraping off whatever may be stuck, it will all come off very easily and in the end, you will have a nice clean wok like mine…

STP's clean wok

Somehow, I never had any problem with things sticking to it when I cook. Perhaps, you did not heat it up till it was hot enough before you started throwing in the ingredients?…

28 thoughts on “Turn me on…

  1. because your wok is seasoned well! hahaha… dun throw it away, it’s difficult to achieve that kind of level…

    Of course I wouldn’t. Got two brand new ones…non-stick but I prefer to go on using this old one as long as I can. Just like people too, the old ones are the best…. Wink! Wink! Hehehehehehe!!!!! ;)

      • sure nice lah… see my size… hahaha…

        Yalor…we should have married women who couldn’t cook…and then we would have no choice but to starve! None of the nice food to eat! LOL!!! :D

  2. i think if the wok not hot enough, the ingredient will stick la.. i make sure the wok really hot before throw ingredient in:D
    your maggi goreng mamak make me hungry! ooohhh yummmm

    That’s what my missus always says…but sometimes, not hot and I throw in, also ok leh? Just that if you want to brown the onions or garlic, it may take longer… ;) Go, go and fry some today… But I think I would prefer using such instant noodles for Bovril mee – nicer!

  3. I never really enjoyed the texture of instant noodles in mee goreng. I prefer the authentic yellow mee and use the same technic as you did except that I also add wet spices (sold in wet markets to make curry), ketchup and a handful of cabbage. I think it is pretty good coz whenever I cook for the temple members…… sure Habis! Lolz
    +Ant+

    Ya…it would be a lot nicer to use fresh yellow noodles this way. Wet spices? The ones for curry? Hmmmm….I think I still have some in the freezer – perhaps I can try one of these days. ;)

  4. Selak udang baru nampak mee…turned u on, eh? No wonder some say prawn is an aphrodisiac!… Muahahaha

    So you feed your hubby that all the time? Oysters work great too, they say… LOL!!! :D

  5. so you cooked that mee goreng mamak yourself, i thot why they have so many big prawns and nice plates used in that mamak you went, hahaha.. errr, never bother with all the sticking and how much oil to use, there’s non-stick wok available!!! hahahaha~~

    Ya? Usually they use the orange or red plastic plates and don’t hope for any prawn, right? Yet they’re so popular! I wonder why… Actually, non-stick pans and woks – the food not so nice. This one was once a non-stick wok but no more – that’s why my cooking tastes great! Hehehehehehe!!!!!

  6. I am not crazy about fry instant meet, maybe I did not do it right. Seeing yours, I want to try making again with yorur method and see if that will change my mind.

    Don’t bother! Take my word for it – it’s nothing great! Better cook it kampua style or with Bovril…

  7. I believe fried instant noodles is often served in Malay stores in Sibu too, though I’ve never been inclined to order them! They seem to be way more popular over West and in Singapore too, where there is a variation called Singapore Mee Goreng – blood red in colour (literally).

    Never tried. Wouldn’t want to order something that I can cook myself (and much nicer too) at home. What’s all the red colour? Tomato ketchup or chili sauce?

    • I think some combination of spices with paprika being one of them. Some Singaporeans call them “patriotic noodles” because of the red colour.

      Eyewwww….they eat their flag? Muahahahahaha!!!!

  8. i guess it’s good because it’s a simple dish, where guys like us, who don’t have much culinary skills are able to whip up in a short time. hehe :)

    Have a good Thursday !

    Just cook it the normal way…would be a whole lot nicer. Btw, there used to be a place in Sibu – she would boil half a claypot of water…put in the noodles to cook…break an egg into it, add two big prawns and a few leaves of lettuce…and lastly, in went the seasoning. It was so nice that I went back several times to eat. Eventually, she left town, moved to Kuching – dunno where she is now. This one was sooooooo much nicer than the mamak Maggi goreng and anyone can cook it that way!

  9. Actually, even mamak also not all nice wan…
    I normally don’t eat spicy but likes maggi goreng so I can test their skill in cooking ‘maggi goreng tak mau pedas’ hahaha

    The one that I had once wasn’t anything I would want to have again… Nothing great.

  10. it defientely the dirt that stick on the wok that make the taste better..
    ur wok too clean .. LOL

    Oh? No wonder my cooking is so delicious then? I will just take from where we hang it on the wall and start cooking. My missus will frown when she sees me do that – she will wash it clean with soap and water and wipe dry…and put it on the fire to evaporate all the excess water before using it to cook. She’s so clinically clean, not me… Hehehehehehe!!!!

  11. Your wok has a great psychedelic design!! You’ve been wokking it too much, friend ;)

    Used and abused…but still going strong! I wouldn’t mind giving away my brand new ones…but this one, I’ll keep for own use! Must always be faithful and true to the ones we love and they will serve us well… ;)

  12. Seasoned wok better……harder for food to stick on it……frying fish best!

    Try frying chicken maggi mee with crispy bawang…..nice…

    Oh??? So that is why what I cook will not stick to the wok? Gee! I didn’t know that… :) Mine got bawang merah, got bawang putih…and I still don;t think it is really nice. Just ok lah, good enough to eat…but I would not be dying to cook it again.

  13. I AM BACK!! I am back for comment!! I know i got so much to catch up and comment!! Wait, one by one and slowly ok. hahahhahah

    Fried maggi mee! My favourite, i try a few times at home and always didn’t get it right, not as good as those at mamak stall. Hmmmmm…I remember one of the year, my boys birthday party at school, i fried maggi mee for all the kids. hahahhahaha

    I still think it would be nicer to fry fresh yellow noodles instead.

  14. Hey Arthur.. my mum cook the kampua noodles already.. my sis who just did her heart bypass was singing praises for this noodles..she loves it! so now my mum cook it quite often for her..soup and sometimes dry.. I also have my share..hehee.. my mum asked me to check whether Sitiawan has this type or not.. As far as I know, they have misua like Sibu ones but didnt check out the kampua noodles yet…
    I will put up the pictures next week.. :)

    Hmmm….too expensive to poslaju, you will just have to come again and buy A LOT home next time. OF COURSE, it is nice – it’s from Sibu! Muahahahahahaha!!!! :D

  15. they look absolutely delicious. and now its making me crave maggi goreng at 113am :(

    None in the pantry? Any 7-11 near your house? Or a mamak stall? LOL!!! :D

  16. Old wok works better…and your mee maggi goreng looks nice too.

    Yup, I know…but the taste was just ok, nothing great.

  17. I did my own Indomie Goreng too and I don’t need to spend a few ringgit having it at mamak stalls. Plus it’s healthier if I cook myself.

    Yup…and it tastes a whole lot nicer too!!! ;)

  18. it looks easy enough to cook, now i just have to find some of the ingredients :)

    It is easy…except that I don’t think it is so very nice that I would want to cook it again.

  19. during my uni days, i would order maggi goreng whenever we dine at mamak stall. Love it so much !!!

    No mamak in Sibu or not that I knew, in the past. A handful these days…but mostly, we have Malay mee goreng and we get mee mamak at the cafes and restaurants and of course, they’re not fried by mamaks. Very complicated here hor? LOL!!!

  20. I first had my maggie mee goreng in KL too, during college time. It was so delicious. Even until now, i love it and will order whenever we are at the mamak stall. But would prefer them not to add in the maggie powder to fry. Instead, use their own sauces.

    Somehow I never developed a liking for it. Would just eat it as it should be eaten – soup or dry, the so-called mee goreng.

Leave a Reply

