Nothing like the first time…

Last Sunday, my missus and I went back to this place for lunch after the church service.

I did not realise it then until somebody asked me that I did not mention where it is situated. Well, it’s along Wong King Huo Road here in Sibu among the shops to the left of Medan Mall, in one of the blocks behind Courts Mammoth.

We liked what we had the first time and felt that everything was reasonably priced. This time around, I was hoping to try something else on the menu in the hope that it would be just as nice or even better.

I picked the grilled fish with sambal (RM5.90)..

Anson grilled fish sambal

…that was served with fried rice by the side.

The fried rice, of course, was disappointing (even though my missus said that it was nice) – nothing like my own cincaluk (fermented prawns) or whatever fried rice or the kampung fried rice with ikan bilis (anchovies) that my missus would cook sometimes. For the fish, they used the frozen Dory fillet sold at the supermarkets here and I have never been a fan of that as I do not like its soft texture that will make me feel geli (queasy) when I eat it. Just give me grilled kembong or sardine anytime. The sambal wasn’t exactly tasty but the saving grace was that it was extremely spicy.

My missus ordered the terrayaki chicken chop (RM7.90)…

Anson terrayaki chicken chop

…and she did not want the french fries so she also got the fried rice. I did not sample any of the chicken but she said it was very nice. According to her, the chicken went very well the slice of (canned) pineapple.

I glimpsed through the menu and was amused by some of the names of the ice cream…

Anson ice cream menu

Topless, eh? And wham, bang…thank you, m’am… LOL!!!

By the way, I noticed that they’ve taken down the “wifi available” sign and also their pasta menu. Perhaps their pasta dishes were not popular so they have decided to discontinue those. Dunno about the wifi though – I didn’t ask.

Well, I still haven’t dropped by for the breakfast and there are still a number of other things on the menu so I guess I may go there again sometime…in the hope that they may redeem themselves the next time around.

24 thoughts on “Nothing like the first time…

  1. hmmmm, i only find the fish nice but not the teriyaki chicken.. and your missus claimed that the fried rice you think is not nice at all very yummy?? hehehehe, i started to doubt on your missus taste~~ :D

    Hahahahaha!!! I guess as long as she doesn’t have to slave over the stove in the kitchen, it is nice! ;)

    • halo halo halo.. stressed at work.. babai :P

      Chill, man, chill! Come to Sibu for a weekend. You need to rest and relax a bit – best place to do that is here! ;)

  2. It looks tasty, that dish of teriyaki chicken chop. I like the canned round rings of pineapple – it somehow tastes better than the canned chunks of pineapple.

    It goes very well with burgers too – it’s the perfect shape to put in a bun. :D

    Speaking of which, I’m going to make some burgers for dinner tomorrow or something.

    P/S – I wonder if I can order drink #5 by telling the waitress “I’ll have the Wham! Bam! Thank you maam.” ;)

    LOL!!! Fits in perfectly… ;) You’re making burgers or someone’s making for you??? Have fun! ;)

  3. I think I take topless two .. five is too much.. hahahaa…

    How to have five? I thought they would have to come in pairs – twos, fours… LOL!!! :D

  4. i wonder what can rescue a not so happening fried rice? i normally opt for cili padi…or seriously good sambal.

    i love canned pineapples. they taste better…not so sour and seem to be more flavourful. not sure if its the variant that they use or is it the chemicals (sigh).

    Soaked in the sugary syrup mah…softer and very very sweet. I would prefer using fresh pineapples when cooking. Hmmm…if something is not nice, I would just eat or leave behind and would never go back to eat again. Not into sauces and I would not bother using them to salvage anything tasteless or not so nice.

    • We can make fresh pineapples to taste sweeter and more flavourful like canned ones. Just cut pineapples into cubes or rings, boil some water and add a few teaspoons of sugar (qty depends on your preference). Add pineapples into the sweetened water and simmer for a few minutes.
      I always eat this way to prevent my tongue from being ‘cut’ by fresh pineapples.

      I guess you use what we call “nenas paun” – in the past, we only used those for cooking…or for making the jam for pineapple jam tarts…or when we eat those, we would dip in salt or soy sauce. For eating, freshly-cut, we would rather go for the smaller, orangy and not so green, Sarikei pineapples – sweeter and not so sharp. These days, we have the nenas kelapa sawit (grown in oil palm estates) and the nenas madu – very sweet and very nice.

  5. Aiya, saw the title, thought STP going to post…..’gory, gory’ night adventure…..ha ha ha

    Hah!!! Coming from you, I’m not surprised at all. There have been comments about my post titles over the last few posts already. Guess what the title will be for tomorrow’s post! LOL!!! :D

  6. My family went to this place after reading your first post. Thanks for all the food reviews. We only go if you give it the thumbs up. Haha…

    The food in this place is quite cheap and it is not too bad. They have closed for the mornings, and only open at night, maybe due to lack of biz? Help promote more lah.

    What? No more breakfast in the mornings? Oh dear… I did not know that. We went around lunchtime on Sunday. Hmmmm…if only I get paid commission for diners that I bring to these eateries. The money would certainly come in handy for a poor, old, retired pensioner like me… Sobssssssss!!!!!!

  7. Definitely your cincaluk fried rice (and Shereen’s ;) ) way better than theirs! Hey, ikan kembong is yum – I like it, too. As for the ‘Topless 5′, from a woman’s point of view or man’s….hmmm… ;)

    Dunno… You come and order lah and see whether you get boobs or moobs!!! Muahahahahaha!!!! :D

  8. Food look so so, next time better order western food. kekekekke

    Eeeeee..that slice of pineapple, i think i will not touch . I don’t know i don’t eat pineapple, fresh or canned, but those in pizza or sweet and sour meat one i eat. LOL! You can call me weird.

    Oh? You ARE weird! I thought ladies LOVE pineapples (or anything sour)? Yup…what we had the first time was nice.

  9. Ceh, mana boleh menang our version of nasi goreng kan?…hahahaha. Wei, mana ada wham..bang..and thank you,maam?..tsk!tsk!tsk! I only nampak, wham, bang,yam…nasib baik not yum!!..or else equally kotor..lol!

    Muahahahaha!!! You know, I know…. Slurpssss!!! LOL!!! :D

  10. Someone told me the Dory fish is the same as our catfish Patin. Mostly rear in Vietnam.

    I thought catfish is keli?

    • Keli. Patin. Tapah. They are belong to the catfish family.

      They do? Patin looks like buris to me…but I don’t like it, never buy nor eat that. Give me buris anytime.

      • The Patin caught at the river mouth are very nice probably because of the salty sea water or maybe they simply do more exercise. But the reared type? No, thanks because most stink of mud.

        Some of those Bangkok temples that are situated along the river bank has have those fish feeding stations for tourist to feed the fish with bread. They are probably considered ‘holy fish’ because nobody catches them for food. I am certain they are also Patin

        http://www.asiatraveltips.com/FeedingFishBangkok.shtml

        The reared ones are definitely a no-no…but I don’t like those caught from the river either. I know some people love it with chao-chai (preserved vegetables). I’m not really crazy about the soup either.

  11. Pineapple on top of d chicken….
    I love Sarawak Josephine pineapple …
    Sweet n juicy…

    Josephine? How did it get such a nice name? LOL!!! :D Dunno which variety, that is. Some says it’s Josarpine = Johore+Sarawak pineapple or maybe Johore+Sarikei…what we call the Sarikei variety is small (half the size of those green pineapples), turns orange when very ripe.

    • You should go try the Bario pineapple that seems to be available only in Bario. Crunchy and sweet. Nothing quite like it.

      My missus would probably love it – she’s the one who loves pineapples and will buy and eat them herself. I don’t mind having them with rojak paste sometimes…or as an ingredient in some local dishes but actually, I’m more into bananas and papayas.

  12. ya have different types of rice in malaysia? I wanna try all of those! Here, what I love is the aligue rice (crab fat), really yummy but dangerous if ya know what I mean

    Cooked in different ways, you mean? Lots!!! And we also have different species of rice – the ones from the hills are the best but they say it’s very starchy, not good for health. Sigh!!! Everything that is nice is not good for health…

  13. Terrayaki chicken chop looks nice and for yours, I only want the sambal. Ahem!!!…topless five…sounds interesting and at the same time weird, hehehe.

    Dunno… I think for that kind of money, we can go for other nicer stuff elsewhere. :(

  14. When I saw your title, I thought you are going to tell us something saucy today but you are telling us about chicken teriyaki?? How disappointed! muahahaha

    Hahahahaha!!!! This blog is sesuai bagi semua lapisan masyarakat…but sometimes, parental guidance is needed. LOL!!! :D

  15. Pingback: Bigger… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

