Slippery when wet…

I had something slippery for dinner that night - ikan keli (catfish)…

Payung ikan keli

…when Huai Bin and I went to the Payung Cafe here in Sibu (See previous post).

They call it the Payung Fish Rice in their menu…

Payung fish rice

…and it is actually ikan keli cooked with lots of ginger and black beans and everything else, served with rice, and I must say that I really loved it a lot. It was very nicely done…but I think the ones that we cook at home ourselves have an edge over theirs – we would adulterate ours with lots of brandy, XO no less. LOL!!! Next time when I go for that, I’ll bring my own liquor…

I also love their belimbing prawns with rice but that night,  Huai Bin opted for that with spaghetti…

Payung belimbing prawn spaghetti

He let me try a bit and I thought it was very nice too – very compatible, I must say. I certainly would not mind having that sometime – when I’m not in the mood for rice.

We had the Payung rojak as well…

Payung rojak

…and the serving was so large that I would think that would be good for at least four people.

I had their jelly pisang while Huai Bin wanted to try their durian milk shake…

Huai Bin @ Payung Cafe Sibu

This is what bloggers do all the time when they dine out – take snapshots of the food and drinks. LOL!!!

That was indeed an enjoyable dinner – something very different from what one can get elsewhere, that’s for sure and this is one place that I would not mind going to again and again…

27 thoughts on “Slippery when wet…

  1. I really liked the belimbing prawns with spaghetti. Pasta with starfruit! It’s fusion done right.

    Thanks for dinner Arthur! :D

    Welcome. Looking forward to doing it again… ;)

  2. ahhhh…so when will we be going there for makan2? hehehehhehe the catfish looks delicious….yum yum…

    Let’s pick a convenient time… Hope my mum’s helper’s back today. These extremely early and long mornings are killing me – by nite time, already, hanyut…

  3. Hey, I like the idea of the spag with belimbing prawns..unusual! How come you didn’t order the durian shake and jelly pisang while I was there I would love to try but I think Simon won’t touch any one of them at all..hahahaha. Both his most unfavourite fruits in the world. As for the ikan keli, looks interesting but to tell you the truth, I have never eaten ikan keli before. My family don’t eat that fish but I am game to try. Love the rojak..we had it before, didn’t we?

    Yup, I think we had the rojak. So many things you’ve yet to try there and elsewhere. So? When will I see you again?

  4. whoots! catfish! i like! payung rojak? payung = umbrella? LOL

    i think i saw some vege in the rojak! =S

    haha yeah, take photos before eating! but sometimes guilty as u let them to wait! =S

    I will always try to make it snappy – snap…snap..snap…and then choose the best ones. Never mind, as mine is not a photography blog and I’m not promoting for anybody unlike some bloggers. Psssst!!! Huai Bin takes quite a long time… LOL!!! :D

  5. hahaha, very true!! especially when you are dining with food bloggers.. you might have to wait for 10 minutes for each dish before you can even move your spoon near the food~~ :p

    Ya…see my reply to henrytan. I wouldn’t be able to wait so long, wanna dive in and start eating myself. LOL!!! :D

  6. Ikan keli…what I normally do with is deep fried it, then make into soup! Catfish soup.

    Oh? Never heard of it cooked this way. Normally, we would cook it like this…or in a soupy assam kunyit style. At the Malay stalls, they just deep fry and serve for their pecel lele dish. My daughter loved it.

  7. i love catfish for its slippery and silky smooth texture and oiliness too. Wah Huai Bin’s hair is indeed hair-raising! lol

    LOL!!! Ya, it reminds me of that ball at the National Science Centre – you touch it and all your hair would stand on end! Yes, I love catfish for the same reasons. Nice, very nice. ;)

  8. Never buy ikan keli. One thing I see the fish I feel geli oredy. Payung rojak looks heavenly. Would love that. I saw the four-angle bean, rite.

    Yes, they’ve all kinds of veg in the dish – all raw…and there’s tau kua (fried tofu cake) also. Hmmm…you don’t know what you’re missing. My missus would not touch it either but my daughter and I love it…a lot! ;)

  9. haha..snap before eat.lol…my bf always said he dun understand why take food photo one…i guess i love to post pic in fb.the food look good! lucky ady eat if not drool until banjir liao

    I often see people doing it at restaurants these days… I guess this practice is catching on especially now that many people have pretty good cameras in their smartphones. Maybe they’re not bloggers but I know a lot will share the photos on Facebook – like you, I guess. ;)

  10. Ooohh….I’m an ikan keli lover too, I used to take ikan keli lauk when I was buying my lunch in the university’s canteen/food stalls during my uni days. But I have never eaten it in that style you showed in your blog.

    I think this is Chinese (Foochow) – usually the Malays will masak lemak (with santan). Here, in our kampung, we cook with assam and kunyit. Love it! Maybe I can cook one of these days and share…

  11. Catfish….. i don’t like .. very fishy smell…
    but the payung rojak kinda looks good..

    Where got fishy smell? Maybe you bought those reared ones from the fish farms. The ones caught from the rivers and streams are sooooo nice! And with all the ginger and the serai and the soy sauce and the brandy, where got fish smell anymore? Nice, very very nice. You don’t eat the unagi at Japanese restaurants – more or less the same thing.

  12. OK, better diet these few days… time to get ready for food and more food in March!!

    Bring pants and skirts with elastic waistbands…and leave the tight figure-hugging clothes at home. LOL!!!

    • Claire, no need to go on diet. Arthur has a fantastic suggestion for you.That sounds great. hahahahaha!!!!….

      Ya, I’m sooo clever hor? LOL!!! :D

      • Yes, smart & clever and full of ideas.

        Thank you, thank you. You come Sibu, I belanja u makan… LOL!!! :D

  13. I love snapping photos of my food and sometimes family shared food and my siblings like to destroy the beauty by purposely eating some part.. LOL.

    All the food are so yummy!

    Yes, one place that you MUST visit when in Sibu! You will not be disappointed. Ya…sometimes, my fellow-diners are very fast…so I will take a photo of half the plate – the part that has not been disturbed yet. ;)

  14. initially i tot it would be good to replace my lunch with just Herbalife but your post is making me so hungry now…..next time i’ll remind myself to come here, only after I had my meals, hehe….

    Hahahahaha!!!! You learn new things every day, eh? ;)

  15. Chin Nee, we all learn the lesson long long time ago. Never come here with empty stomach, it will be a big torture!!!

    Wah! That Catfish look very delicious, give me two bowls of rice please.

    You like this? Your mum also cooks it like this, right? I think this is Foochow-style…with brandy added. Yummmm!!!!

  16. starfruits with prawns? that sounds really interesting! if they open one around KL, it must be a lucrative business :)

    Latest: Customizable Irish Sandwich

    This is a different variety – small, oval-shaped and sour. Very nice. Hmmmm…I think there are lots like this one in KL. My friend, Annie-Q, went to a Balinese one – looks similar and the food looks as exotic too. Must be just as good, if not better.

  17. The place does have a nice ambience. Different from anywhere else in Sibu. I’ve also had the rojak here, very exotic. I remember having kacang ular in mine and I loved it, though not everyone may agree with the raw taste.

    If you have nasi kerabu (Kelantan dish), all the veg would be raw like this too…and at hotel buffets in West Malaysia, all the veg would be raw at the Ulam Corner. I did not dare to try most of them – like fodder for the horse. LOL!!! Ya…this place is nice – most everybody who has been there loves it. :)

  18. you’re right about bloggers taking photos:-)…

    All the same everywhere, eh? LOL!!! :D Btw, welcome, thanks for dropping by and do come again. C ya! :)

  19. Pingback: Father’s Day @ Payung Cafe (and the best Father’s Day present) » sixthseal.com

  20. Pingback: Payung mahkota… | …Still crazy after all these years!

  21. Pingback: It’s your turn… | …Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

