Crazy in love…

I think I’ve shared this story before about this Ah Lian who showed up at a coffee shop where her friends were having breakfast and seeing that they were all having beef noodles, she exclaimed, “Aiyor!!! You all not scared of crazy cow disease kah?” LOL!!!

And talking about the crazy…I mean, mad cow disease, some of you may recall that we used to get Bovril, made from beef extract, from the UK and when the disease surfaced, it was taken off the shelves. Eventually, it reappeared but this time around, it was made from yeast extract – just like Marmite. These days, we can get the original (made from beef) at some places here but they’re not easily available and are very expensive.

Now, actually, I’ve blogged about tossing noodles or mee sua with Bovril more than once but the other day, when I shared a photograph of the Bovril mee sua I had for breakfast on Facebook, it caused quite a stir…and sent one of my readers/commenters, goldflower, out right away to grab a bottle and cook her own Bovril kampua noodles and she literally fell crazy in love with it.

Well, in case you missed it, this was the Bovril mee sua that I cooked…

STP's Bovril mee sua

…and to cook that, you can fry some sliced shallots in a tablespoon or two of cooking oil till golden brown and pouring that onto a plate, add a teaspoon of Bovril, some chopped spring onions and chili sauce. I used the chili dip that my missus made for our steamboat dinner sometime ago – blended chilies plus garlic and lime. Just boil the mee sua and drain…and toss it in the ingredients and your breakfast is ready. You may want to add a pinch of msg, if you so desire…but I did not and it tasted just as good without it. I had some leftover boiled pork slices so I added those and I also fried an egg to go with it.

If you’re very diligent and you would not want your noodles to stick together, you can do what the kolo mee man does – cook the noodles in boiling water, drain and rinse in cold water (to remove the excess starch) and put in the boiling water again to heat it up once more before draining and tossing it in the ingredients prepared…and if you have lard, you can use that instead of the usual cooking oil and it will bring the taste to a whole new level, believe you me.

Go ahead! Give it a try! It is so easy…and the best part, of course, is that it is nicer than most noodles that you can get at  the shops.

20 thoughts on “Crazy in love…

  1. oh, that’s a nice idea!! instead of the conventional dark soy sauce, use bovril or marmite to substitute.. hmmm, i want to try that one day also.. and the pork also nice lah, just a little imperfection is that, you should have added in some vege too~~ :p

    Yup…up to you what you would want to add. I’ve tried Marmite before though…but I thought it was not that great. I would just keep that for porridge….or for Marmite crabs.

  2. Mad cow disease ……
    Still Ada Kahn? I tot it was history Liao…..
    Just a simple noodles n u could turn it to be so delicious…..

    Dunno…but the Ah Lian incident was quite sometime ago. Ya, noodles are plain. It all depends on how you cook it, what ingredients you dump in. Yummmmm!!!! ;)

  3. oooh i’m a big fan or marmite and bovril! but it’s been a long time since i last had one. yeast extract is good, at least i can have it hahahah!

    the noodles look so slurrpilicious! thanks for the tip, may make one like that one day. :)

  4. my very own recipe is to toss noodles in pasta sauce haha! i always do that when i run out of pasta. lol!

    All in the same family. Pasta sauce is quite expensive…unless you make your own – the simplest, I guess, would be tomato sauce and minced meat plus lots of garlic. Adding cheese and herbs would make it equally expensive – might as well just buy the bottled sauces then.

  5. My goodness! It looks much nicer than you described the other day.

    I’m drooling over that plate right now. The chilli sauce looks nice, the noodles perfect and the egg just adds to the entire package.

    Can I invite myself over to try this someday? LOL!

    Sure! Sure! Anytime… But I guess it would be your supper…before you call it a day and go to sleep or you can have it for lunch when you wake up. LOL!!! But hey, jokes aside. I must get you to come over to my place for dinner and sample my cooking the next time you’re home. Yipeee….got myself a guinea pig now. Muahahahaha!!!!!

  6. Morning STP, that is a really nice dish that you’ve whipped up. Bovril always tastes nice, I did not know they changed it already, still tastes quite alike though, with beef extract or yeast.

    Have a good friday ya!

    Ummmm….I think it is not as nice if it’s yeast extract – a bit more like Marmite than the original Bovril but it is still nice. Very expensive though…but so is Marmite. Nothing is cheap these days. :( You too, have a great weekend. ;)

  7. now my whole family lovin it.my mum and dad sometimes request me to cook bovril noodles for them.hehe!

    Hear ye! Hear ye! The true testimony from someone who has tried and tasted…and is loving it!!! Don’t just take my word for it… ;)

  8. Never try doing this way, sound interesting, easy and simple for preparing a nice and delicious plate of mee sua, or should I call it kolo bovril mee sua/noodles. Normally would use it with plain porridge. Thanks for the tips & will try it soon.

    Neither did I or anyone in my family – we used soy sauce… Then I got married and my missus cooked noodles using Bovril…and I’ve never looked back since then or once in a while perhaps, sometimes when there’s no Bovril in the house – forced to use soy sauce. Also nice but not as nice… Try it and let me know the verdict.

  9. While reading your post, I feel hungry and feel like eating Kampua Mee.

    Go ahead! Give it a try… You’ll love it…and when you go back to Medan, you can cook for your folks there to enjoy. :)

  10. A new recipe to me. Actually, I’ve never eaten Bovril before. haha…Only had Marmite at home.

    Why? You don’t eat beef by virtue of your religion? Well, Bovril’s now made from yeast extract. It’s darker, not as thick and the taste is not as sharp or strong as Marmite. Give it a try – you may like it. ;)

  11. aww that’s really a good idea ;)! marmite and noodle work well together.

    Latest: Lovely Taste at 6

    Marmite? I tried once, didn’t really think it was great. Even the colour was not dark enough for the liking. Bovril’s nicer. But with porridge, I’m ok with both – my missus does not like Marmite though…

  12. AH! My grandma used to cook this for me when i was still young. That’s why till now sometime i still cook mee suah with bovril. But quite sometime i didn’t cook already, at home i still got mee suah, maybe one day i should cook it again. Yum!! Then i post my version.

    Sometime i find the mee suah quite hard to bland well with the bovril, you know, they like to stick together, and Sibu mee suah is very soft and tiny. Yum!!

    I better stop write and descripe more, make me hungry!!!

    Yours look very good, love the colour, but i won’t add chili sauce to the mee. taste a bit weird?

    No? But kampua you want to “puak lak” leh? Same also… Ya, your grandma knew best! LOL!!! To prevent sticking together, do not overboil and remove from the boiling water when soft, put in cold tap water to rinse away the excess starch…take out and put back into the hot water to warm the mee sua up again before draining and tossing with the ingredients. Use more water when boiling – it is the starch that makes it stick together after cooking. Try and see if this works… ;)

  13. Geeshhh..my bovril bottle tak boleh bukak pulak just now!! In the end, I have to cook some soup and eat with the meesua..anti-climax betul!! I have never heard of bovril gaul with any kind of noodle. Pretty unique, aye! Going to try again tomorrow…have to open the bottle first only cook the meesua..hahahaha

    You keep it in the fridge and take out just before use?

    Put the whole bottle under running water under the tap for a few seconds, say 10-15 seconds. Right away, can open already…but the Bovril inside would be a bit hard.

    Now the cap is plastic. I remember when I was young, it was metal…and we used to heat it up over a fire…and then used the door to hold the cap and twist the bottle open. Such a hassle. Didn’t know about using running water then – dunno if it would work or not.

  14. Gosh.. if I stay longer in Sibu, I guess I have to change my whole wardrobe!! This home cooked mee sua? Out of the world..wonder whether we have the honour of tasting that or not? *hint* :)

    Gosh! If you want to eat all my home-cooked stuff, you would miss all the nice things available outside lor…. LOL!!! :D

  15. I grew up with Marmite. I crave for it sometimes so there i always a bottle of marmite in my pantry. There are times when I just don’t feel like eating anything must make a bowl of marmite soup and throw in a cup of cooked white rice. Like I told in earlier, I am eager to try this noodles cooked with bovril, spring onions and chili sauce! Sound so good, man!

    Ah yes! I do make Marmite or Bovril soup to go with our meals sometimes. Nice! ;)

  16. Interesting! Never had Bovril or Marmite noodles/mee sua before. Usually wehave Marmite chicken or prawn. Or with plain porridge..Must try one day :)

    Give it a try. You’ll love it! ;)

  17. Pingback: Over and over again… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

