Earlier than expected…

It certainly was a pleasant surprise when I received a text message from Huai Bin telling me that he was back in town (considering that he was home not too long ago for Chinese New Year) and he suggested that we met for lunch. Everything was agreed upon and there we were on the stipulated day and time at this place – most of you would know it by now as one of my most favourite dining places in town, I guess.

He said that he liked pork belly so I ordered the specialty of the house for him to try – the braised pork…

MingMeiShi braised pork

…with the mantao (steamed buns)…

MingMeiShi mantao

…and he loved it very much.

He liked the creamy butter prawn balls that I ordered too…

MingMeiShi creamy butter prawn balls

…and their own-made tofu…

MingMeiShi tofu

…and he enjoyed the mixed bean combo as well…

MingMeiShi mixed bean combo

It certainly was nice meeting him again and I’ve always enjoyed his company – we never seem to  run short of things to talk about…and lunch took about one and a half hours that day. I enjoyed the food, of course…as always, and thanks so much, Huai Bin, for the lunch treat.

After that, we headed to this place

HuaiBin @ NoodleHouse

…as they were having the launching of the double chocolate mille crepe that day. Unfortunately, by the time we got there, they were all sold out. One of the bosses came to apologise, saying that actually, they had reserved a slice for me but one of the waiters took it and served it to another customer. I don’t know how true that was…but he promised me that the next time they make it, he would let me have a slice…on the house! Now, that is more like it!

Well, since we were there already, I ordered their vanilla mille crepe and their kompia with three-layer pork for Huai Bin to try. He liked all of them but felt that the mille crepes that he had at one place in Malacca were better in that the layers of crepe were thinner…and he loved the Horlicks Godzilla that he had.

Gosh!!! I was really so full from the heavy lunch plus the “dessert” that we had after that – thank goodness it isn’t every day that I get to indulge like this… LOL!!!

29 thoughts on “Earlier than expected…

  1. yes yes… more porcine post! hungga hungga… caveman is running naked and wild…

    In your birthday suit eh? Happy Birthday, papakucing… Go, have a feast! Eat! Eat! Eat! :D

  2. Wow….lucky guy! The food looks great But you should cut down on the pork braise! Anyway, the place looks clean and comfy.

    Yes sir, yes sir. Must not touch that for a while…maybe till mid-March when Claire comes to town. ;)

  3. yummy dimsum, but definitely gotta minus off that braised pork for me~~ wakaakakaka!!!

    What? You’d take those plain steamed buns on their own. Kesian… LOL!!! :D

  4. mille crepes are the best no matter where.. lol! and the boss is so tactful. Knows how to ambil hati you! :)

    Nice to see you meeting up with the famous huai bin, wow 2 famous bloggers meeting, were there fireworks involved?

    On another note, if fats could kill, the braised pork would have murdered me in cold blood .. hehe, nom nom nom!

    Latest: New Toyota Prius C Media Launch

    Fireworks? You mean like Katy Perry’s? LOL!!! Hey, it can kill – must cut down on it and don’t eat too often. Once in a while, ok lah… ;) I’m still waiting for you to drop by in town. We can have a feast while you’re here… ;)

    P.S.
    Coincidentally, Huai Bin has blogged on this outing today too. You can read about it here:

    http://sixthseal.com/2012/02/lunch-with-suituapui-at-ming-mei-shi/

  5. Laa… i tot wud…from my phone I tot the pork belly is some sort of cake with chocolate sauce!

    Either you need spectacles…or e new phone.LOL!!! :D

  6. It’s always a pleasure meeting up with you Arthur! :)

    I had a wonderful time at dinner tonight talking about all sorts of things from music to literature with you.

    Thanks again for dinner and the awesome t-shirt.

    Catch you when you come to KL. Dinner on me next time! :D

    Always my pleasure too. Come, come…no need to take turns. It’s only money…and nothing’s like being in the company of great friends. ;)

  7. next time i go Sibu, you will bring me go eat nice food also right? ^^
    anyway, that day Airasia promotion, i did go check out sibu flight price.
    but wondering how many days should I go? any recommendation?

    Of course!!! Come for 3-4 days at least…or a week. Longer than that, maybe can venture into the nearby towns. Come! Come!

  8. All the food looks great…thumbs up!!!…and I will eat the mantao with the sauce only minus the braised pork belly. Pass it to you, hehehe.

    So disciplined. I can never resist the temptation – it’s o.k. as long as I don;t see it…or I don;t go to places selling it. Otherwise, I would surely fall into sin… The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. :(

  9. Whao, the braised pork looks really good! My FIL sure like it!

    What about you? Watching your figure…or you’re one of those into healthy eating… Once in a while should be o.k., no? ;)

  10. How come all dishes we dine out look so tempting all the time ah? Is it because of the decor ? Or i wonder if we can make good butter prawn like that at home, hehe…

    You can try. I guess presentation does play a part. We usually do not bother at home – waste of lettuce, tomato and cucumber and so on.

  11. I also just had a mille crepe cake yesterday. Nice to see you guys hanging out with good food! I’m jealous.

    Why? Come on over, come and join us. Btw, you were saying that you would be here – was it in December last year or when, can’t remember now. Did you ever make the trip? Never got in touch with me when you were here… :(

  12. alamak….yesterday i just posted pork belly…today u tempted me with this braised version..Geeee!! **bib please**

    Get ready to feast on this when you’re here… Yummmmm!!!!!

    • OMG….really!! **rub rub hands* Can’t wait. it’s just about 2 weeks away….Yea…yea!!

      Two weeks exactly from the day after tomorrow. Hey, wait a minute! You’re coming a day later than some of the others….

  13. I think this place already become a “must go ” or “must try” place if you got any guests coming to town. Food look very good, but portion look a bit small?

    Wah! After a heavy lunch still can go and have dessert??? tsk tsk tsk.

    For two persons only… Actually, servings quite big usually – the tofu, we asked for two as we were not sure whether they were any good. That day’s special…and since we were having rice, I think two mantao would be enough. Otherwise, we would have ordered more. LOL!!! Wanted to try the new mille crepe mah… I think I’m featuring that in tomorrow’s post or the day after. ;)

  14. wow…only 2 of u have so many dishes and can have dessert somemore ! As age catches up, i felt that my appetite also grew smaller. haha… cannot eat like before anymore.

    I’m like that too – my friend actually remarked that he noticed I did not eat so much. Sigh!!! Unfortunately, whatever little I ate, it stayed all around my middle. Sobssss!!!!! So guess who ate mosy of everything. LOL!!! :D

  15. yum! thinking of ice cream because of that or maybe it’s jusr so hot here…is it hot in malaysia, too?

    It’s ok here. There are rainy days and not too hot days. No complaints. ;)

  16. Ish, tak boleh tahan looking at that rolls of lard..hehehe..sedap hingga menjilat pinggan. As for me, I would definately love the mixed vege..yum! Don’t know why, but I just can’t get excited about the mille crepe. Anyway, how come no pic of the vanilla mille crepe?

    I’ve posted so many photos of it already mah!!! Come by tomorrow and you can see the new double chocolate mille crepe. Yummmmm!!!!! Hah!!! Huai Bin did that and it reminded me of you… LOL!!! :D

  17. My instant thought was, ” I wish i could sink my teeth into that porky goodness now!” lolz
    So much for dieting right? :P lolz

    Yikes, different hairstyle here. I prefer the spikes! lolz
    +Ant+

    Me too. I think he did not bother to do anything that day – so this is actually his natural look. Loved the pork and the prawns – the rest were good too…

  18. Pingback: A little piece… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  19. I got to stop eating breakfast, lunch and dinner to prepare myself for the Sibu trip! Tomorrow is my cousin’s wedding. I have been putting on weight lately, I wonder if I can still slip into my Cheong sam!

    You have? Looks exactly the same to me… Some people have all the luck in the world. I would grow fat just thinking about food… Sobssss!!!! :(

  20. Pingback: That night… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  21. Pingback: Home at last… | …Still crazy after all these years!

  22. Pingback: All we have again… | ...Still crazy after all these years!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

