Archive | February 13, 2012

Apologise…

I really must apologise if you find that I have not been dropping by your blogs that regularly to comment or worse, if I’ve inadvertently missed out yours altogether. You see, last Tuesday night, my mum was admitted into a medical centre here so I was caught up with shuttling here and there – staying with her to keep her company and do whatever I could during the day and at night, I had to camp out on the couch at my parents’ house as my sis would be keeping vigil at the centre and we did not want to leave my dad to sleep on his own at home. Thankfully, she is all right now and has been discharged so our lives have more or less gone back to the normal routine.

You can categorise it as an occupational hazard, something that English teachers would have the natural tendency to do for while I was at the centre, one thing that I did was taking note of all the errors in the signs like this one, for instance…

silent VS silence

I guess everybody knows that they should have used the noun, silence, instead of the adjective, silent and this next one is a common error really – the confusion between lost and loss (as well as lose and loose)…

loss vs lost

My students used to confuse the two as well and also in the case of this one that I saw in the notice in the washroom, reminding people not to dispose off their sanitary napkins into the toilet bowls. I guess somehow off seems to convey the idea of throwing it away but if you think of getting rid of something, perhaps you will never ever get it wrong again.

In this one, they should have used the past participle-adjective, closed, instead of close

close vs closed

…but there can be no denying that English is indeed a mind-boggling language as for some reason or other, we would say – leave the door open…and not opened. Thus, the centre was officially declared open and not opened

open vs opened

Sigh!!!

This one tickled me a bit as I was wondering when I saw it, whether the buds would eventually blossom into cigarettes…

butts vs buds

…and I was not surprised that dustbin had been spelt without the consonant t. Many are not too bothered about pronouncing these sounds clearly when they speak the language and I would think that actually, ashtray alone would suffice.

There wasn’t any error in this one though…

Thor

…but it made me imagine going into the consultation room and there he was – that muscular sledge hammer-wielding comic hero. That would be interesting, don’t you think? LOL!!!

Anyway, I’m back now…so you WILL give me a little time to catch up with things, won’t you?