Movin’ around…

In my previous post, I mentioned that my friend and her family from New Zealand arrived late on Saturday night. Their flight landed a little ahead of schedule at 8.25 p.m. instead of 8.35 p.m. and by around 9.15 or so, we were already back at the house.

She was not too thrilled by the Sibu Foochow fried noodles as she said they had that in Malacca and it was known as Hokkien fried noodles, something different from the KL version. They liked the Sibu Foochow-style sio bee (meat dumplings) but they went wild over the nasi kerabu

Nasi kerabu Sri Tanjung
*recycled pic*

She said that she had that in KL before but what I had tapaoed for her from this place was soooooooo much better. We sat and chatted and ate and it was way past midnight our time, 5.00 a.m. their time in New Zealand when we went to bed.

The next morning, I let them try our Sibu Foochow Mooncake Festival biscuit – the pek guek/tong chiew peah…and She said that it tasted like the Kampar chicken biscuit. They also sampled the Foochow engagement sweet – the lay peang…and though they liked it, I don’t think they were all that thrilled by it.

After that, we all went out for breakfast. They loved the pian sip so much…

Thomson Corner pian sip
*recycled pic*

My friend said she never liked wantan, soup or dry and would rather go without…but she loved these a lot.

She tried the Sarawak laksa and was not quite accustomed to it at first as she had expected something like curry mee or curry laksa but as she went on eating, she started to appreciate it more. Thus, it came as no surprise that subsequently, she bought so many packets of the sambal laksa home and try to cook it herself in New Zealand. She loved the kampua noodles too and it did not surprise me one bit that she was not singing its praises all that much – the noodles at that place were good but not the best in town. Then she had the toasted kompia with meat filling and she declared it the winner, hands down, over bagels. Yeah!!!! We are the champion! LOL!!! The chicken dumplings or sui jiao got the thumbs down though – at best, they were just so-so.

Then I took them to the market…and we spent around two hours there. She was so captivated by everything – so many things that she had never seen before, and the familiar ones were so unbelievably cheap…and she bought so many kilos of the hay bee (dried prawns), the ikan bilis (dried anchovies), all kinds of salted fish including the ikan sepat masin…and of course, she MUST have the ikan terubok masin. Unfortunately, the roe/eggs were not available or she would have bought those too.

After that, I took them to my regular Bandong kuih stall but it was already 11 something by then – most of the things were sold out and they were already closing up shop for the day. Some of the items were already up for sale – buy one, get one free…and we bought more nasi kerabu @ RM3.50 for two (which she said was not as nice as what I had bought from the shop the day before) and nasi lemak sambal sotong @ RM1.50 for two…

Bandong's nasi lemak sambal sotong
*recycled pic*

She also bought some of the remaining Malay kuihs and of course, she enjoyed eating those as well. We dropped by my parents’ place as she insisted on making a courtesy call to visit my mum…and we ate all those that they bought at the stall there.

After that, we went back to my house to rest for a while…and they tried some dabai (black olives) which they liked – they were not ecstatic over them though…but my friend said that the cut pineapples my missus served them – the nenas madu – were the best she had ever eaten in her entire life.

They could not sit still for long and so, my missus took them shopping at the relatively Giant Hypermart, Parkson and Wisma Sanyan and they also dropped by Delta Mall…and by the time they came back, it was almost time to go out for dinner.

We went to Ruby that night but that would be in the next post…

34 thoughts on “Movin’ around…

  1. Looking at the nasi kerabu,everything is fine with me,except the green rice,i don’t know i love currry to bit but to add the green rice with it, mmmmmmm it just does not feel right for me, anyway one man’s meat another man’s poison

    Looks like you’ve been busy taking Shereen out, more for makan than sightseeing kan?

    take care now

    What? You’ve joined Bananaz punya club already kah? It’s blue…not green. Kelantan traditional-style mah…use that flower for colouring. I also felt strange the first time I ate it…but now, I’m like Shereen… I love it a lot, can ask me to eat that anytime! ;)

    • Aduh Bananaz lupp the green rice ooops blue rice each time on my visit to Kelantan must makan one. Eugene don’t tell me you also got CVD?

      Looks like it. Muahahahaha!!!! :D

  2. Wow.. All that in one day? Sounds like they had a really good time. The nasi kerabu looks interesting. I never tried it before :) I think a lot of people will not like the blue coloured rice. Psychologically, humans find blue coloured food the least appetizing. Hehe

    I guess so. But the nyonyas would dye their pulut and even bak chang blue too…using the same flower. Well, more Sibu fun to come….

    • Very interesting :) always nice to learn about other people’s culture

      Yes, Shereen found Sibu completely different from the townjs in the peninsula and loved the place so much. No regrets at all coming all the way here.

  3. The only one thing in common in Ipoh and Sibu is the FOOD! If you ask me to take guests out for sight seeing, I do not know where to take them.. if u ask me about food, then i might be able to help.. hahaha..

    So… where it comes to food, you take and where it comes to shopping, your missus take! Good arrangement!

    Yalor… My missus can enjoy herself too at the same time… ;)

  4. Ooohhh…. looking at the photo, Shereen is a Chinese lady, apparently. All the while I thought she is a Caucasian! ^_^

    No, from Malacca…and was in KL for a while, peranakan…nyonya…and you know how fussy nyonyas are about the food – so what she says is nice is VERY VERY nice, take her word for it,

  5. hahahaha, so meaning Sibu food has its winning edge.. i was wondering what’s the difference between sarawak laksa and the normal curry laksa, without coconut milk perhaps.. and kompia winning the bagels!! hahahaha, yeah, maybe that’s true i would agree.. :)

    Just come over and try for yourself…or ask Shereen – now she knows the difference between Sarawak laksa…and curry laksa in the peninsula.

  6. I like the look of the nasi kerabu and that nasi lemak sambal sotong. Even the cheap packets of nasi lemak sold at the kopitiams in KL / Singapore are nice – piece of egg and sambal ikan bilis, yum! I once had some purple coloured rice (Malay stall in KLCC foodcourt) – that was nice. Have you started on any of your goodies yet? :) Enjoy!!!

    No, not yet. Another visitor here atm, so taking him around to eat all the nice things in town. Instant replay. Muahahahahaha!!!! :D

  7. Father and son oso wearing the ALL BLACKS jersey.. were u wearing it too Arthur? :)

    No, so special the t-shirt…must reserve for some special occasion. Want to show off sikit. ;)

  8. So many food in a day, but i see Shereen they all not eat much, all for sharing ? heheheh

    Ah, Shereen also agree, pian sip taste better than wantan. I am also not a wantan person.

    Bought a lot dried seafood back? tsk tks tsk, I can imagine her big luggage full of “food” .

    She sampled quite a lot Sibu special food. I am sure when you all at Ruby, the must order dish – sea cucumber soup, mani cai, midin?? Alamak, typing this make me so hungry. Better go and hunt for some food.

    Of course! Of course! See tomorrow’s post… LOL!!! :D They wanted to order everything and share so they would be able to taste a lot more of Sibu food than everyone eating the same thing or their own.

  9. So much of good food! I’m missing the nasi kerabu. Hard to get them at my place.

    See! Sibu better! Shereen was so amazed…that there are so many things to eat and see here. Expected it to be a small miserable town.

  10. First time seeing Mrs half STP, camera shy? Can’t wait to see your video clip with your ‘Ka Mate’ and seeing how the earth move under your feet & sky tumbling down when you do the stomping and poking your tongue..shouting..”Ka mate, ka mate! ka ora! ka ora!..”

    First time? I’m sure I’ve posted some photos before. Namind, another one day after tomorrow… ;)

  11. the nasi kerabu sure looks tempting.

    the pian pi looks like it has whole prawn in it.. who won’t like that? haha (except people allergic to prawns).

    It is. Every exotic, very traditional. Hey…that’s pian sip…no prawn in it – only minced pork. There’s a place where they put prawn (West Malaysian guy) and they call it sui kow…or sui jiao, can’t remember which now – expensive, 50 sen each…or was it RM1.00…so not surprised that it is not drawing in the crowd at all.

  12. I’ll go wild for Nasi Kerabu too, it’s my most favourite Malay dish!

    Come, come to Sibu…you can have that…but it’s only available here once a week on Saturdays, mostly around lunch till stock lasts – that was why I had to tapao for Shereen. She flew in on the evening flight…

  13. The nasi kerabu looks good leh…I dont think I tried it before!

    It is as nice as Shereen thought it was. I hear Johore has its own version but either pink or yellow in colour, not blue.

  14. you’re in the photo meh? I look and stare and find and stare some more, yet I dont see you in it.

    “- Shereen, her hubby and son, my missus and me.” is a rather misleading sentence :P

    “me” behind the camera taking the photo mah… and besides, “me” is camera shy one…not camwhore like you. Last time, we called “garam” – every dish must have one so in every photo, sure to see one! Muahahahahaha!!!! :D

  15. saya hadir hari ni cikgu…..okay time to sleep…me already mabuk liao…goodnight

    Mabuk? Jahat!!!! Hukuman, mesti buat 10 komen tiap tiap hari selama satu minggu. LOL!!! :D

  16. Everything look so good! How nice of you to take Shereen and her family to eat all the wonderful food in Sibu. I agree with Isaac, I was looking high and low for you but forget to look behind the camera! hehehe enjoy your time with Shereen and family, I am sure they will return home with sweet memories.

    Anybody who cares to come, we’ll treat them all the same… Ya, I certainly hope she will cherish the memories…and will come back for more soon.

  17. You made a great host, Arthur……husband and wife team, hehehe. Husband bring them makan all the nice nice food and wife bring them for a shopping spree….Great job done!!!……
    The nasi kerabu looks nice…and am sure Shereen and her family will come to Sibu again for more.

    We love company – just the two of us at home, both retired. At least it keeps us busy and we have fun at the same time. Hopefully she will come again. What about you? Any plans?

  18. wah all the food looked so good! I like how the rice is blue. that’s so special.

    Kelantan specialty. Shouldn’t be a problem getting that in KL but my friends who had that same thing in KL said it wasn’t nice – this one is so much better.

  19. Arthur,
    You forget to include the dabai..with the sugar and tau-yu..shiok leh! It was a first but I would surely hunt for it the next time I visit you.
    The nasi kerabu is the best I have ever eaten..only complaint is no air budu..but it does not alter the taste at all.The nasi kerabu cukup lemak with the toasted coconut…yummm!!!

    I thought I mentioned the dabai somewhere? I left out the salted/pickled one that you tried – the one I had to go and ask for sikit from the people at Payung and you did not like it… LOL!!! :D

    • ..and Lucy got to force herself eating it all ( lucky tak banyak) sebab paiseh dah mintak orang..hahahahaha…ewwww!!!

      Muahahahahaha!!! All part of the fun! Really, you all must come again. Just dawned on me – the very delicious Rasa Sayang kampua is only NZ$1.00 a bowl – unbelievable…and the dinner at Ruby was less than NZ$25…and the crab dinner, NZ$50. Where can you get food this cheap in Auckland. I saw somebody’s post – nasi lemak already around NZ$15.00 a plate. *pengsan! Ours…RM1.50 by one, get one free… Muahahahahaha!!!!!

  20. Pingback: Whole lot more… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  21. Pingback: See you again… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  22. Pingback: It’s my life… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  23. Pingback: Christmas is coming… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  24. Pingback: My world… « …Still crazy after all these years!

  25. Pingback: Safe and sound… « …Still crazy after all these years!

Leave a Reply

