End of the road…

It has to end somewhere…sooner or later. I have decided to stop teaching for good and on Thursday, I had my final lesson with the students in my last English tuition class.

Despite all my moans and groans and my endless ranting day in and day out, a few of them got together and bought me this…

Angry Bird

…an Angry Bird collectible.

Besides that, they also gave me this…

Domo-kun

When I took it out, initially I thought it was some kind of hat like Davy Crockett‘s and I said to myself that there would be no way I would be wearing that on my head. I did not even know what that was! All this while, I thought it was another Angry Bird thingy so I had to ask around. Eventually, I found out that it was Domo-kun…and it was a tissue paper box cover. LOL!!!

It certainly was so sweet and thoughtful of them – gestures like this certainly make it worthwhile being a teacher.

To all of you, DOMO arigato…

Thank you very much and all the best in your studies and your future undertakings. May God bless you all.

29 thoughts on “End of the road…

  1. A pity to lose you teacher :( All the best in your cooking, ramblings and rumblings in the future :D :D :D

    Thanks, Perry. So sweet of you to drop a comment here. All the best in your studies & future undertakings. :)

  2. Oh dear, since u always mingle ard with students u shld knw abt ths Jap anime iconic being mar, lol… proud of your students, so thoughtful of thm!

    Happy Sunday… it seems I’m the 1st…!! Yay!

    Nope. You’re 2nd. Perry’s was awaiting moderation. LOL!!! Never bothered to find out…and my daughter’s not at home so I’m not updated on these things.

  3. Happy retirement! Why stop, you’re still young what, no grandchildren to take care of yet also.

    Your students are so cute, buying you these kiddie stuff!

    Getting bored…and lazy…and tired of everything. :(

  4. I’m sure your students will be sad to lose a teacher like you :) Have a great day, sir.

    If only the students today were like you and the others, I wouldn’t mind going on and on and on… :(

    • It’s sweet of you to say that. Haha! I am afraid I was not the best student in my high school years. I think most of my teachers didn’t like me especially in Form 4 and 5. If you don’t mind me asking… What is your plan after this? I think your friend, Bananaz suggested a great idea to have online English lessons hehehehe.. That would be really interesting and YES.. lie, lay etc confuses me too :P

      Actually I am toying with the idea of starting a blog to help students with the subject in the SPM Examination, giving tips and guidelines and all…but I’ll take my time. Will get down to it if and when I get down to it. What? How can they not like such a nice girl like you? Hehehehehehe…they’re not like me hor? ;)

      • Hehe.. Okay. Do tell me when you start so that I can help you promote in Facebook. But a popular guy like you.. For sure the news will spread like wildfire hehe..LOL yes not like you.. Was never the teacher’s pet except in kindergarten wahaha

        Sure will! ;)

  5. I shall continue your legacy, my sifu…

    Ummmm….too-tee must bring two chickens, one roasted piglet, some gold…to offer and kneel and kowtow non-stop till sifu accepts too-tee… Didn’t see you doing that leh? Muahahahahaha!!!!! :D

  6. Haha, Angry Birds and Domo-kun :D Luckily they didn’t buy you the green oink oink :P

    I wonder what that looks like. Probably very cute? :)

    • Well, the green pig is quite annoying in the game. If you lose, they will snort at you haughtily. Hahaha.

      Hmmmm….sounds interesting. Perhaps now I will have the time to start playing the game online. Hehehehehehe!!!! ;)

  7. Angry Bird? They are telling you they are angry with you for calling it a day or they are subtly telling you that you are always angry during lessons? muahahaha..just pulling your leg. They are just being trendy with the latest crazy stuff. Little children love Domo-kun and that’s the funny part as adults we see nothing special in this ‘boxy expressionless’ cartoon but the kids beh tahan and simply love Domo.

    I would think Angry Bird is quite nice…but Domo-kun… Never mind! As they say, never look at a gift horse in its mouth. ;)

  8. Gosh.. wearing a tissue box cover over your head?? hahahaa… good that you asked around first….
    Anyway, so nice of your students to give u some pressies before you end their classes for this year… i dont remember my girl buying anything for her tuition teachers! so i guess… hmmmm… u know i know…

    Your girl kiam siap or the teachers no good one… LOL!!! Well, only a few of them got together to buy me the presents – the rest…nothing. :(

  9. Why stop teaching never heard you mention a word before? The long and winding road stops at your door but opens up in internet. How about conducting English online then you can blog and teach at the same time if you are generous enough with complements from STP foc donating back to society or we start donating to you hahaha. Love your earlier post about lay laid lying and would wanna improve my Engrishe, please don’t expect much from Bananaz you gotta slow slow come and prepare to get angry or vomit blood for a person who used to say “Who is you?” and “I doesn’t like..” See paiseh to say I’m angmoh sai and worst not qualified to be mango probably rename to Rojak.

    I’ve heard English teachers saying things like “I did not went yesterday…!” Pengsan! Never mind! Have to let go sooner or later, so close one eye and close both ears… Can’t possibly go on and on forever…

  10. At last you call it a day. So sweet of your students to buy you those latest crazy kiddie stuff. I am sure they will miss the happy moments you share with them during your lessons. Got “kam cheng”.

    Arthur, Happy Retirement & God Bless.

    Thanks. Well, I’m thankful that over the years, I do have some very nice appreciative students… :)

  11. Don’t tell me you are getting yourself ready to welcome back your princess, hahahha….”hong sim”. Next month rite?

    Oh ya, 2day cooking your easy peasy receipe for the 2nd time. Bon appetit to me!!!….LOL!!!….

    No lah…usually every year, I would stop my lessons around this time and then I would start again in January but not this time. Enough is enough…

  12. haha.. your students are so cute.. you must be a great teacher.. :)

    Hmmmm….I hope they are not implying that I’m always angry and grumpy like Angry Bird or Domo-kun! LOL!!! :D

  13. what’s your plan now? there is this program from your govt called teach for malaysia. not sure about the details but sweatlee.com joins this program :)

    I’ve heard of that but I think they would want young energetic people only… :(

  14. U must be a great teacher! And the kids are gonna miss u a lot …

    I guess I will miss all of that too. Hopefully, we’ll get to get together sometime… ;)

  15. Maybe the slow connection is due to ur browser problem? Try clearing the cookies.

    No lah! I clear my cookies all the time. Not the problem with my browser. It’s the problem with the service provider – small town, small market here and hardly any competition, they’re not bothered about upgrading and providing better service even though we pay the same amount as users in KL or Penang – connection was so fast at those places the last time I was there – same external modem, same provider. :(

  16. Fully retirement? Now you got plenty of time to go around and jalan jalan cari cari makan or can start your cooking experiment and share with us.

    Angry bird and Domo? hahahhaha…so cute. Your student want to tell you in-directly that you look as cute as the angry bird to them or you always “angry” like Angry Bird? hahahhaha

    Laugh at me!!! So kind of you eh? Ya…certainly hope to relax and enjoy life. ;)

  17. That was very thoughtful of your students :) Happy retirement. Now you can devote your time and energy to other hobbies and pleasures….err, like cooking, eating, blogging….. :P. Enjoy!

    Thanks… Hopefully. I’m certainly looking forward to enjoying my golden years… :)

  18. why your students buy you such kiddy pressies?!! check whether it’s original? don’t support piracy except DVDs. hahah cos actors make a lot of
    money!

    I guess they buy what they like – it’s the current craze. The labels look genuine enough – I wouldn’t know these things…never buy them.

  19. Ha ha…seems like you are not that updated with the latest trends when it comes to cartoonish items. Well, I do hope that the one who gave you the angry bird is not angry with you. :-P

    LOL!!! I’m an old man mah – not keeping up with the times especially all the anime stuff. Dunno any of those!

Thank you for dropping by and commenting. Cheers!

