Archive | July 21, 2010

Spread it out…

It was raining heavily last Friday, so I was not able to go out for breakfast. I waited for the rain to stop but it did not look like it was going to abate anytime soon. I was not in the mood for instant noodles and I did not feel like frying the leftover rice from the past few days but since there was some bread in the house, I decided to make myself some tuna and cheese toast.

I just mixed some canned tuna with finely chopped garlic and shallots (We’d run out of Bombay onions and my missus had not  bought some to replenish the supply!) and bits of cheddar cheese (That was all we had in the fridge!)…and I spread it out over some slices of bread…

STP's tuna & cheese toast 1

…before I sprinkled some more cheddar cheese on top…

STP's tuna & cheese toast 2

…and put it into the oven to bake until the cheese had melted…

STP's tuna & cheese toast 3

It turned out pretty good…and I had four slices altogether!

STP's tuna & cheese toast 4

In fact, I was so full that I even skipped lunch that day and did not eat anything after that until I went out for tea at around 3.30 p.m. but that would be in the next post.

I was thinking that if I cut a slice into quarters, that would be quite ideal for finger foods at cocktail parties or buffet dinners. Perhaps I could add some tomatoes for added colour and flavour or use ham or bacon instead of tuna…or I can have all three so as to have a selection for people to choose from! I think I’ll just KIV that for the next time I’ll be having a party at my house….. Anybody wants to come? LOL!!!